Dubs battle past gutsy Louth for 14th consecutive Leinster SFC crown

May 12, 2024

Dublin's Paul Mannion and Donal McKenny of Louth ©INPHO/Tom Maher

Dublin are Leinster senior football champions for the 14th time in-a-row after coming through Louth’s stern challenge by 1-19 to 2-12 at Croke Park.

Having been trounced in the very same fixture last year, the Wee County faced a massive task to try and tear up the script here and stayed right with the All-Ireland champions throughout the first-half ahead of Sam Mulroy’s injury-time point sending them in with a surprise 0-7 to 0-6 lead.

The points of Cormac Costello (free), Ciaran Kilkenny and Sean Bugler steered the Dubs into a two-point lead after eight minutes of the restart, but they’d be wiped out once Ciaran Keenan broke through to blast past Stephen Cluxton for the decider’s first goal on 45 minutes.

O’Callaghan and Costello moved the capital men back in front before Conor Grimes levelled (0-12 to 1-9) in the 48th minute, but some seven minutes later disaster would hit for Ger Brennan’s men.

It saw a wayward Louth kick-out finding Jack McCaffrey who sped forward before releasing O’Callaghan whom supplied the sublime finish.

From there, Dessie Farrell’s side were able to create a seven-point margin in their favour and, despite a Craig Lennon injury-time goal keeping the heat on, the Dubs were able to retain the Delaney Cup once more.

The result now sees Dublin joining Mayo, Roscommon and Cavan in Group 2 of the All-Ireland SFC race, while Louth are in Group 4 with Munster champions Kerry and neighbouring Monaghan and Meath.

Most Read Stories