Cluxton and Fitzsimons return as Dubs thump Meath for 40th consecutive Leinster SFC win

April 14, 2024

Dublin's Con O'Callaghan scores his side's third goal against Meath ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Stephen Cluxton and Michael Fitzsimons returned for their first starts of the year as Dublin brushed Meath aside with a 3-19 to 0-12 victory at Croke Park.

The win marks the capital men’s 40th consecutive one in the Leinster senior football championship and sees them face Offaly in two weeks’ time for another provincial final berth while Meath are now bound for the qualifiers.

The Royals had held their own in the first-half of this contest, with the scoreboard reading 0-4 to 0-3 in their favour before Sean Bugler rattled their net with a powerful run and finish on 19 minutes.

Colm O’Rourke’s side responded with points from Jordan Morris and Eoghan Frayne (free) before going in at the break trailing by 1-8 to 0-6.

The second-half would see the All-Ireland champions move up through the gears though, landing points via Niall Scully, John Small, Ciaran Kilkenny and Paul Mannion prior to the latter hitting the net soccer style on 51 minutes.

That score moved the Dubs’ lead into the double figures and Meath would only post a Billy Hogan ‘45’ in response as Con O’Callaghan’s goal at the death left the margin at 16 come the final whistle.

Most Read Stories