Wins for Cork and Kerry in Munster U20FC as Limerick land 'B' silverware

April 11, 2024

Kerry U20 football boss Tomás Ó Se ©INPHO/James Crombie

Cork and Kerry got their respective Munster U20 football championship round-robin campaigns off to winning starts yesterday evening.

Hugh O’Connor and Rory O’Shaughnessy combined for eight points over the hour as the Rebels defeated Tipperary by 0-14 to 0-7 in Fethard.

Having led by 0-8 to 0-3 at the half, the Leesiders kept in control after the change of ends and were able to shoot over six more scores into the stiff breeze with substitute Aaron O’Sullivan rounding off their tally.

In Quilty, Charlie Keating’s early goal helped send Kerry toward a 1-13 to 0-5 win over Clare.

Despite the perfect start, the Kingdom would be outscored by 0-5 to 1-1 as Clare got things level by half-time.

However, it was the visitors that did struck every score after the turnaround with 0-11, as Cormac Dillon finished their top-scorer with seven points to his name.

Meanwhile, Limerick captured the Munster U20FC B championship title by seeing off Waterford on a 2-10 to 1-5 scoreline in Mallow.

Sam Prender’s goal had saw the Deise leading by 1-4 to 0-3 at half-time, but a pair of late goals from skipper Aaron Neville ensured the Treaty County the silverware.

Most Read Stories