University Ulster and UCD reach Sigerson Cup final

February 09, 2024

UCD's Ryan O'Toole with Frank Irwin of UL. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

University Ulster and UCD will contest this year's Sigerson Cup final after accounting for Maynooth University and UL respectively.

Both semi-finals were played in dreadful weather conditions last year, but went according to script. At Inniskeen, University Ulster qualified for their first final since 2012 with a 1-13 to 0-11 victory over Maynooth.

The winners led by 1-5 to 0-7 at half-time thanks to a Niall Loughlin goal, but with Shane O’Sullivan, Eoghan Frayne and Ruairí Kinsella all in fine scoring form, Maynooth took it down to the wire before injury-time points from Danny Fullerton and Eamon Brown got UU over the line.

In the other penultimate round tie at SETU Carlow, UCD edged out UL by 2-12 to 1-14. 

Paul Kearney grabbed an early goal for the Limerick students, but UCD recovered to lead 0-8 to 1-4 at the break.

The winners resumed with a goal from Jonathan Lynam and were able to hold off their opponents thanks to a run of scores from Diarmuid Moriarty and Davy Garland, who finished with 1-3.

The decider will take place next Wednesday evening, February 14th at the MTU Kerry Campus with throw-in time to be confirmed.

Most Read Stories