Derby spoils go to Mayo as they hand Galway eight-point defeat in Salthill

January 28, 2024

Galway's Cathal Sweeney with Sam Callinan of Mayo ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Goals from Eoghan McLaughlin and Cillian O’Connor helped Mayo see off Galway in Salthill this afternoon and move towards an opening round win in Division 1 of the Allianz Football League.

The full-time score read 2-12 to 0-10 at Pearse Stadium, where the holders were hands down the better team over the 70 minutes.

The sides had been level on 0-2 apiece before McLaughlin’s well-taken goal on 11 minutes surged Kevin McStay’s men in front and they wouldn’t look back from there, as scores late in the half via Jordan Flynn, Bob Tuohy and Fergal Boland had them up by 1-6 to 0-5 come the break.

Boland, who had provided the assist for McLaughlin’s goal, stretched Mayo’s lead after the change of ends and while a couple of Shane Walsh frees kept the Tribesmen in touch, they ultimately failed to close the gap.

A brace of Paul Towey points would see McStay’s men lead by five in the closing minutes of regulation ahead of O’Connor’s penalty sealing a comprehensive derby win for Mayo.

Most Read Stories