Watch: Sargent's strike seals sixth All-Ireland minor football title for Derry

July 09, 2023

Derry celebrate with the Tom Markham Cup ©INPHO/Tom Maher

Derry are All-Ireland minor football champions for the second time in four years after seeing off Monaghan by 1-13 to 0-9 at the BOX-IT Athletic Grounds this evening.

Despite being reduced to 14 players with the dismissal of wing-back Cahir Spiers on 43 minutes, Damian McErlain’s lads were able to increase their lead and James Sargent’s goal some seven minutes later sealed the deal for them.

The victors made a strong start in Armagh but Monaghan kicked some sweet scores via Sean Og McElwain and Matthew Finn (free) in the second quarter to leave just two points in it at half-time (0-8 to 0-6).

After the turnaround, it was the Oak Leafers that got motoring again thanks to points from Ger Dillon and Conall Higgins prior to Spiers picking up a straight red card.

The Farney lads couldn’t capitalise on their numerical advantage and an Oisin Doherty point stretched Derry’s lead to four before the same player would pull great work to set-up Sargent for the clinching goal (see it below).

The win marks a sixth Tom Markham Cup success for the Oak Leaf County, having last captured it when they defeated Kerry in Tullamore in the 2020 decider (played in 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic).

Most Read Stories