Cork battle past Offaly towards third All-Ireland U20 hurling title in four years

June 04, 2023

Cork captain Michael Mullins lifts the trophy ©INPHO/Ken Sutton

Cork are All-Ireland U20 hurling champions for the third time in four years after producing a superb performance in Thurles this afternoon to overcome Offaly by 2-22 to 3-13.

Diarmuid Healy’s goal after nine minutes looked to set the tone for the Rebels in this decider and, although Clare would net themselves into the lead with a penalty two minutes later, it was Ben O’Connor’s lads that kicked on for a 1-11 to 1-9 lead come half-time.

Ben Cunningham and Jack Leahy stretched the Cork lead out to four within three minutes of the restart and they’d be backed up by a Michael Mullins goal in the 35th minute for the Leesiders to take a stranglehold.

Points from Cunningham and William Buckley put the Cork lead into double figures prior to Offaly grabbing a lifeline through Conor Doyle’s goal.

The Munster side kept the points flowing though, as Cunningham finished with 0-9, and their opponents’ third goal via Shane Rigney in the third minute of injury-time would only prove consolation for the Faithful County.

Most Read Stories