TJ breaks scoring record in Kilkenny's Leinster SHC victory over Dublin

May 20, 2023

Kilkenny's TJ Reid signs autographs for fans after the win over Dublin at Nowlan Park ©INPHO/Bryan Keane

Kilkenny booked a place in the All-Ireland senior hurling championship series by handing Dublin a 0-27 to 0-21 defeat in the fourth round of the Leinster championship at Nowlan Park this evening.

The win also sees Derek Lyng’s men with one foot back in provincial final, with Galway and Antrim (2pm) and Wexford and Westmeath (4pm) set to clash tomorrow.

Three Donal Burke frees had Dublin leading 0-4 to 0-1 after the opening 10 minutes in this one, but the Cats soon found their rhythm and eventually went in front on 28 minutes through three TJ Reid frees.

On this occassion Reid, who finished the game 0-10, would surpass Cork's Patrick Horgan to become the All-Ireland senior hurling championship's all-time leading scorer, totalling over 600 points.

Eoin Cody doubled the Kilkenny lead on 29 minutes and the points of Billy Ryan and Mikey Butler would send the holders towards a 0-13 to 0-9 advantage at the half.

Two Burke frees helped the capital men stay right in touch after the resumption but they’d only get within two for the rest of the evening.

The closing quarter saw Reid, Cody, Adrian Mullen and Paddy Deegan all raising white flags to see out the six-point win for the home side.

Most Read Stories