Clare and Galway to battle it out for All-Ireland minor hurling crown

May 20, 2023

Galway's Aaron Niland celebrates a goal against Cork ©INPHO/Eamonn McGee

Clare and Galway will contest the All-Ireland minor hurling championship final on June 4th in Thurles after both came through their respective semi-finals this afternoon.

An impressive display earned Clare a 0-23 to 0-15 win over Kilkenny at Semple Stadium earlier today, advancing them towards a first All-Ireland MHC decider since 2010.

With Kilkenny losing full-forward Ed McDermott to a straight red card early on, the Banner lads had a man advantage for some 52 minutes and, led by James Hegarty and Mark O’Brien, they outscored the Cats by 0-12 to 0-5 in the second-half to secure their passage to the final on Sunday fortnight.

The later game in Thurles saw Aaron Niland once again starring for Galway as they defeated Cork by 3-18 to 1-10.

Having finished with 1-11 to his name, Niland’s goal came in a timely fashion as it helped bump the Connacht men’s lead up to 2-8 to 0-5 come half-time.

Barry O’Flynn’s goal would help Cork on their way to reducing their deficit down to three, but Galway would finish out emphatically and Harry Holmes’ goal would be the icing on the cake for them.

Clare and Galway will return to Semple Stadium on Sunday, June 4 to decide the destination of the Irish Press Cup for this year. Throw-in is scheduled for 1pm.

Most Read Stories