Late goals secure Derry All-Ireland U20B hurling crown

May 06, 2023

Derry's Ruairi O'Mianan lifts the All-Ireland U20B hurling championship trophy ©INPHO/Evan Treacy

Derry are All-Ireland U20 ‘B’ hurling champions after battling past Roscommon for a 3-17 to 2-14 victory at Croke Park this afternoon.

Ruairi O’Mianain’s goal on the hour mark sealed the title for the Oak Leafers at HQ after they’d trailed their Connacht counterparts by a point at half-time.

Liam Og Coyle netted for the Rossies to level matters on 11 minutes after having trailed 1-3 to 0-0 and points from Paddy Fallon and Coyle would see them go in at the break with a 1-9 to 1-8 lead.

Derry bossed the third quarter to build up a four-point lead before Keelan Doherty fired in their second goal with four minutes to go and it’d soon be backed up by O’Mianain’s strike to secure the silverware.

Most Read Stories