Tipp hit Clare for five goals to earn first Munster SHC win since 2021

April 23, 2023

Gearoid O'Connor of Tipperary and Clare's Tony Kelly ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Tipperary ensured a winning start to the Munster senior hurling championship after seeing off Clare by 5-22 to 3-23 in Ennis this afternoon.

Jason Forde and Jake Morris struck two goals each while Sean Ryan fired in the Premier men’s fifth with seven minutes to go to ensure their side joined holders Limerick in gaining two early points in the Mick Mackey Cup race, along with a first provincial championship win since 2021.

After running up an early 0-3 to 0-0 lead, Tipp’s first goal came via Forde in the third minute and Jake Morris would have the sliotar in the Banner men’s net just past the quarter hour mark.

Morris goaled again six minute later and the points of Noel McGrath and Gearoid O’Connor would help to leave Brian Lohan’s men 10 adrift with seven minutes to go in the first-half.

The hosts did eventually get motoring in the latter stages of the half and it saw a brace of goals from Mark Rodgers bring them right back into the contention, as the scoreboard read 3-12 to 2-11 at the break.

A pair of Aidan McCarthy points after the turnaround left just a score in the game but Clare would suffer a double blow soon after that saw a penalty conceded (and converted by Tipp’s Forde) along with a black card for David McInerney.

McCarthy and Tony Kelly looked to keep the heat on with converted frees but Ryan’s goal killed off any hope as Tipp took the points after round one in the southern province.

Most Read Stories