Late drama as Sligo and Wicklow earn promotion to Division 3

March 26, 2023

Wicklow's Dean Healy ©INPHO/Evan Treacy

Sligo and Wicklow will be playing their league football in Division 3 next year after each booked away wins this afternoon to seal their promotion.

Sligo were made come through a battle with Leitrim in Carrick-on-Shannon where Sean Carrabine’s late point made the difference for them in a 1-15 to 2-11 victory over their neighbours.

The Yeats men had been cruising towards victory when Pat Spillane hit the net for them six minutes into the second-half, which put them 1-10 to 0-6 up, but Andy Moran’s charges never threw in the towel and had the margin down to four when Aidan Flynn hit the net for them with seven minutes left.

Donal Wrynn tied it up before Ballinamore’s Tom Prior shot the hosts in front, but Finnian Cawley got a crucial equaliser for Sligo ahead of Carrabine winning it for them in the fourth minute of injury-time.

Oisin McConville’s Wicklow side assured themselves promotion by defeating Waterford on a 2-8 to0-8 scoreline in Dungarvan.

Having led by 0-7 to 0-5 at the halfway stage, Dean Healy and Cillian McDonald supplied the goals for the visitors after the turnaround and they’d prove the difference in the end.

The Garden men’s better head-to-head sees them going up instead of Laois despite the O’Moore men's 6-6 to 2-8 trashing of London in Ruislip this afternoon.

It means Sligo and Wicklow will contest next weekend's Allianz Football League Division 4 final at Croke Park.

Most Read Stories