Reynolds' hat-trick leads Longford to O'Byrne Cup title

January 21, 2023

Longford's Dessie Reynolds and Bevan Duffy of Louth ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Longford are 2023 O’Byrne Cup champions after seeing off Louth by 3-13 to 0-12 at Glennon Bros Pearse Park this afternoon.

Dessie Reynolds struck a decisive 3-3 over the 70 minutes for the Midlanders as they clinched their first success in the pre-season competition since 2020.

It was the visitors that had made the better start with Ryan Burns and Sam Mulroy (free) kicking over the first two points in the opening five minutes, but Reynolds grabbed his first goal seven minutes later to surge Longford in front.

The corner-forward’s strike proved the difference between the teams at half-time (1-7 to 0-7) and he’d fire in his second eight minutes into the restart as the hosts moved seven clear.

The Sean Connollys clubman’s hat-trick was complete on 59 minutes and points from Mickey Quinn and Darren Gallagher (free) rounded off the winners’ tally prior to Mulroy missing a penalty for Mickey Harte’s men late on.

Most Read Stories