Limerick scoop nine hurling All-Star awards as five counties represented

February 20, 2021

Limerick players celebrate after winning the All-Ireland SHC title. ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

The 2020 PwC GAA/GPA All-Star hurling team has been announced at the 50th annual All-Stars awards ceremony, which was held as a virtual event this evening.

Limerick's all-conquering heroes were honoured following a magnificent second All-Ireland SHC success in three years as nine of their team are selected.

They are goalkeeper Nickie Quaid, defenders Sean Finn, Dan Morrissey, Diarmaid Byrnes and Kyle Hayes and forwards Gearóid Hegarty, Cian Lynch, Tom Morrissey and Aaron Gillane.

First-time recipient Hegarty took Player of the Year honours after his prolific performances throughout a memorable season for the Treaty County.

In all, there are a total of five counties represented, with beaten All-Ireland finalists Waterford receiving three awards and one each for Galway, Clare and Kilkenny.

Waterford's winners are defender Tadhg de Búrca, midfielder Jamie Barron and attacker Stephen Bennett. Daithí Burke equalled a Galway record by claiming his fifth accolade in six seasons.

Clare marksman Tony Kelly has been rewarded for his exceptional individual displays with a spot at midfield while Kilkenny's TJ Reid is included for the fifth time in his glittering career.

PwC GAA/GPA All-Stars Hurling Team 2020


1 Nickie Quaid (Limerick)


2 Sean Finn (Limerick)

3 Dan Morrissey (Limerick)

4 Daithí Burke (Galway)

5 Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)

6 Tadhg De Búrca (Waterford)

7 Kyle Hayes (Limerick)


8 Jamie Barron (Waterford)

9 Tony Kelly (Clare)


10 Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick)

11 Cian Lynch (Limerick)

12 Tom Morrissey (Limerick)

13 Aaron Gillane (Limerick)

14 TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

15 Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

Most Read Stories