All-Ireland U20FC: Dubs leave it late to down Tyrone

October 17, 2020

Tyrone's Cormac Munroe and Luke Swan of Dublin. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Dublin 1-14
Tyrone 1-12

Dublin will face Galway in this year’s All-Ireland U20 football championship final after seeing off Tyrone late on at Kingspan Breffni this afternoon.

Ace attacker Ciaran Archer landed a couple of late points as the Leinster champions edged their northern counterparts by two points to move into their second consecutive final in this competition.

Tom Gray’s charges had started brightly in Cavan Town but fell behind in the 19th minute and trailed for long stages after that until Archer came to their rescue.

Points from Darragh Canavan, son of Tyrone great Peter, and Tiarnan Quinn’s goal were what saw the Red Hands take a 1-4 to 1-3 lead 11 minutes before the break.

Ethan Jordan nudged the Ulster champions four in front come the 25th minute but a brace from Archer would leave just two in it come the interval (1-7 to 1-5).

Dublin's Brian O'Leary celebrates after scoring a goal. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Brian O’Leary had netted Dublin’s goal in the opening minutes of the game and earned a free early in the restart for Archer to convert to bring the difference down to the minimum.

Jordan and Quinn struck the points to keep Tyrone in control until O’Leary and Archer reduced the margin again and Lorcan O’Dell founder the leveller with six minutes to go.

With the game in the melting pot, the lad from the capital rode their momentum to the finish and saw a brace of points fly over from Archer before Lee Gannon sealed the win.

Dublin - Josh O'Neill; Conor Tyrrell, Adam Rafter, Josh Bannon; Mark O'Leary, Adam Waddick, Lee Gannon (0-1); Adam Fearon, Sean Foran; Mark Lavin (0-3), Lorcan O'Dell (0-2), Sean Lowry (0-1); Ciaran Archer (0-6, 3f), Luke Swan, Brian O'Leary (1-1). Subs: Evan Caulfield for Fearon (10-14mins blood), Rory Dwyer for Foran (HT), Kieran McKeon for Fearon (42), Padraig Purcell for Lowry (60).

Tyrone: Lorcan Quinn; Conal Devlin, Cormac Munroe, Cormac Quinn; Antoin Fox, Michael Gallagher, James McCann; Kevin Barker, Rory Donnelly; Tom Donaghy, Tiarnan Quinn (1-3, 2f), Ethan Jordan (0-05, 3f, 1 ‘45); Darragh Canavan (0-3, 1m), Simon Garrity (0-1), Matthew Murnaghan. Subs: Ryan Jones for Donaghy (28mins), Mark Hayes for Garrity (43), Joe Oguz for Barker (48), Liam Gray for Donnelly (58). 

Ref: Barry Judge (Sligo)

Most Read Stories