Dublin SFC final: Ballymun dethrone holders in impressive 14-point win

September 27, 2020

Ballymun Kickhams' Paddy Small, James McCarthy and John Small lift the Dublin SFC trophy. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Ballymun Kickhams 1-19

Ballyboden St Enda's 0-8

Ballymun Kickhams dethroned Ballyboden St Enda's to claim their first Dublin senior football championship title since 2012 with an impressive 14-point dismantling of the holders.

Six-time Dublin All-Ireland winner Dean Rock was to the fore, scoring 1-8, as the northsiders ran out surprisingly comfortable winners over Anthony Rainbow's side at Parnell Park.  A totally dominant 20-minute spell from the challengers, during which they hit ten unanswered points, left them 0-14 to 0-4 clear at the interval and cruising towards victory.

With six county senior football panellists in their ranks, Ballymun's quality and strength ultimately shone through over the hour. 38-year-old 'Boden dual-star Conal Keaney showed no ill effects from their SHC final defeat to Cuala last weekend to kick three points but they simply couldn't make any inroads in the second-half.

Ballymun Kickhams' Dean Rock gets past Ballyboden St Enda's Shane Clayton. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

There were joyous scenes from the Ballymun players afterwards when Paddy Small, James McCarthy and John Small lifted the trophy in the stands.

Ballymun Kickhams - E Comerford; L Young, E Dolan, P McMahon; C Keeley, J Small, D Conlon; A Elliott, J McCarthy; C McCormack, F Andrews (0-4), C O’Tighe (0-1); P Small (0-2, 1m), D Keating (0-3), D Rock (1-8, 1-0pen, 0-3f, 0-1m). Subs: J Whelan (0-1) for C O’Tighe, A McCaul for D Keating, C McManus for C McCormack, B Ashton for A Elliott.

Ballyboden St Enda's - M McNamee; S Clayton, K Kennedy, C Flaherty; B Bobbett, D Nelson, R McDaid; MD Macauley, A Waters; R McGarry, W Egan, D O’Reilly; C Keaney (0-3), R Basquel (0-3, 1f), C Basquel (0-2f). Subs: A Flood for D O’Reilly, D O’Mahony for B Bobbett, J Holland for D Nelson, S Lambert for C Basquel, T Hayes for R McGarry.

Referee - S Farrelly.

Most Read Stories