Ulster Club IFC final: McMahon on target as Magheracloone capture provincial title

November 30, 2019

Magheracloone's Paudie McMahon.

Magheracloone are celebrating Ulster Club IFC success this evening.

The Monaghan champions captured the provincial silverware courtesy of a fully deserved 1-15 to 0-13 final win over Galbally in the Athletic Grounds.

The team in black and white led by 0-8 to 0-6 at the change of ends and Paudie McMahon (1-4) scored the only goal of the game with 11 minutes left on the clock.

McMahon’s green flag parachuted the eventual winners into a six-point lead (1-13 to 0-10) and allowed them to keep their Tyrone opponents at arm’s length for the remainder of the contest.

Galbally replied with three unanswered points but late scores from McMahon and Alan Kieran put the issue beyond any doubt.

Magheracloone - D Kirk; M Jones, P Ward, P McArdle; C McKeown, J Ward (0-1), K Rudden; J Kieran, G Doogan (0-1); B Kieran (0-1), A Kieran (0-3), P McMahon (1-4); A McCahey, M Metzger, T Freeman (0-4). Subs: J Doogan for C McKeown, R Farrelly (0-1) for A McCahey, L Og Murray for M Metzger, J Lambe for B Kieran, N Marron for T Freeman.

Galbally - L Og McAuley; S Hurson, K McCrory, A Carberry; M Donnelly, C Quinn, S Og Mulgrew (0-2); R Nugent (0-1), E McGarrity (0-1); L Rafferty (0-2), D Kerr (0-4, 3f), C Donnelly; S Murphy (0-1), C Donaghy, D Murphy (0-1). Subs: M Lennon for S Hurson, M Murphy (0-1) for C Donaghy, C Donnelly for A Carberry, F McGarrity for M Donnelly, P Rafferty for S Murphy.

Referee - K Faloon.

Most Read Stories