Leinster Club JHC final: Conahy Shamrocks withstand brave Ballygarrett comeback

November 30, 2019

Conahy Shamrocks players celebrate. ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Conahy Shamrocks edged out Ballygarrett Realt na Mara in today’s Leinster Club JHC decider at Enniscorthy.

The Kilkenny champions prevailed over their Wexford hosts by 4-13 to 3-12.

James Bergin (2), John Mullan and Tom Phelan bagged the goals for the winners while Jack Hobbs, Shane Quinn and Eoin Corcoran raised green flags for Ballygarrett.

Backed by a strong wind, the eventual winners led by 16 points (4-9 to 0-5) at the change of ends but were forced to withstand a strong second-half showing by the Model County representatives before getting their hands on the silverware.

Conahy Shamrocks - P Delaney; S Callinan, D Healy, L Cass; D Cuddihy, B Healy, D Brennan; E Carroll, E Delaney (0-3); T Phelan (1-1), J Mullan (1-2), E Cahill; J Bergin (2-3, 0-1f), K Mooney (0-3), B Murphy (0-1). Sub: T Rice for B Murphy.

Ballygarrett Realt na Mara - A Hall; E Redmond, D Morris, A Murphy; B Corcoran, S Redmond, C Kennelly; C Moore Kavanagh (0-1), T Sinnott; E Corcoran (1-1), P Naughter (0-1), K Doyle; J Doyle, S Quinn (1-0), J Hobbs (1-9f). Subs: J Murphy for K Doyle, S Doyle for C Kennelly.

Referee - R Fitzsimons.

Most Read Stories