Connacht Club JHC: Carrick create history

November 03, 2018

Carrick captain James Glancy lifts the Connacht club JHC trophy with goalkeeper Declan Molloy after the final victory over Ballygar at the Connacht GAA Centre, Bekan.

History was made at the Connacht GAA Centre today as Carrick became the first Leitrim club to gain outright honours in the Connacht Club JHC.

The James Glancy captained outfit overcame Ballygar by 2-11 to 2-9 in a close-fought encounter.

The eventual winners trailed by 0-5 to 0-6 at the halfway stage but outscored their Galway opponents by 2-6 to 2-3 after the break.

Clement Cunniffe top scored for Carrick with 1-6 (four frees) while goalkeeper Declan Molloy, who was honoured at the All-Stars event in Dublin’s Convention Centre last night, chipped in with a crucial point.

Carrick - D Molloy (0-1f); T Glancy, C Beirne, E Moreton; D Byrne (0-1), V McDermott, H Glancy; J Glancy, C McCrann (1-0); K McGrath, C Moreton (0-2), C Cunniffe (1-6, 0-4f); S Goldrick (0-1), L Moreton, C McGuire. Subs: D Tiernan for D Byrne, C Ffrench for S Goldrick.

Ballygar - D Kelly; G Brennan, E Naughton, D Quinn; P McDonagh (0-5f), S Thomas, C Daly; D O’Brien (1-1, 0-1f), S Zwierczyk; D Nolan (0-1), O McConn, E Walsh (1-1); C Greally, DJ Nolan, A Gavin (0-1). Sub: C O’Brien for DJ Nolan.

Referee - J Doyle.

Most Read Stories