Mayo V Donegal

I agree that some people are getting a bit carried away. There's a long way to go to get anywhere near a final let alone Sam. Donegal had a tough route to the QF and didn't have the legs to keep up. Donegal were the better team in 2012 and they did to us what we did yesterday, get a lead and play the game on our terms. One thing you can be sure of is Dublin will have the legs and plenty fresh ones on the bench if someone drops the ball.
Dare to dream but Donegal have been consistently a top 4 team for 5 years and beaten everyone in that time.

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 09/08/2015 12:56:25    1766492

Gleebo is right, the Mayo team are very tactically astute this year. They had great shape in the 2nd half yesterday, and were clinical in their formation.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/08/2015 13:01:58    1766498

On behalf of mayo people I apologise for riverboys gloating post. Maroondiesel is actually a Galway man so pay no heed to him. On the game itself, I was very impressed with our boys. As gleebo said, the way we dealt with the high balls to Murphy pleased me also- at last we seemed to have a plan in place for that scenario, ie big bird Barry dropping back. Lots of room for improvement in the shooting and shot selection. Thought parsons, leeroy, doc and mcloughlin were excellent- very composed, comfortable and in control.
Commiserations to donegal. I was disappointed with some of yer lads, especially mcniallais who I thought would exert a bigger influence- but he was well marshalled by Keegan. Can't understand why mcelhinney didn't start though. Thought toye was doing well and should have stayed on instead of big Neil. To be fair though, ye looked a tired team yesterday with Lacey and a few more showing the signs of a long hard couple of years and our boys just looking fresher and dare I say it hungrier. Heads up though, I'm sure ye will be back albeit with some new faces. It's onwards and upwards for us, with aido leading the charge I'm really looking forward to the Dublin game- again the match-ups will decide that game but if we play to our potential we definitely can win it.

don_juan (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 09/08/2015 13:17:14    1766507

My faith is restored by some of the Mayo posters post riverboys. As I said yesterday sincerely hope ye go all the way.

I agree with some of the above posts and alluded to this on other threads. Christy Toye got taken off at HT when one of the best performers on the day to that point baffling esp when compared to some of the other players on the day....he had the legs. Lee Keegan had the freedom of Croke Park for the evening nothing done to counteract his influence compared to Mayo identifying Ryan McHugh from the start. Mark McHugh did not have a clue what the sweeper role entailed. Declan Walshe left on the bench when the likes of Mark McHugh and Karl Lacey were not at the races. No excuses as best team on the day won. Though the game was in the melting pot till the AOS moment of magic.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 09/08/2015 13:52:15    1766530

Don Juan - very good post and don't worry , I know most Mayo posters are genuine and best of luck in the next match .

As for posters like Soma and Riverboy : they just take pride in other counties losing . I didn't fancy us yesterday which makes the defeat easier . Mayo are a more rounded side than Donegal . It's hard to pick a winner the next day out ,

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 09/08/2015 14:09:52    1766539

The Donegal manager Rory Gallagher,should come under scrutiny to some extent as far as Donegals loss is concerned.Its fine to keep pointing out the mileage and the tired legs,but some of the younger players were not at the races against Mayo.The two McHughs,Hugh McFadden and Patrick Mc Brearty just making up nombers McBrearty,will never lace Colm Anthonys boots when it comes to open play.He does not want to know about a dirty ball!The Mark McHugh story has worn thin,simply not good enough.Donegal were badly beaten in the middle third yesterday where they simply could not get clean possession or a break.With big Neil having a rare off day,mcElhinney not starting Donegal had nothing to offer.What is the deal with McElhinney,surely management should be making him the focal point of the Donegal midfield going forward.Without Murphy Donegal no better than div 2or 3 team.Good luck to Mayo in the semi final.

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 09/08/2015 14:56:03    1766573

I thought it was a very tight first half, with very little between the two sides until the goal in added time. Clearly the 4 Donegal wides in the opening 7 minutes were very costly in the end, as they were on top during this period and these early wides definitely kill confidence at taking shots. Often when those first few points go over, players are a little bit more confident and other shots tend to sail over. That didn't happen for Donegal yesterday, and many of the normal point takers never got going.

At the other end, Mayo's point taking was superb and top drawer. No denying they were deserved winners in the end,

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 09/08/2015 15:22:26    1766591

Congrats to Mayo yesterday. I was actually very happy with half time coming and us only one point down but you could see the goal was coming for Mayo and Aidan O'Shea took it well. We needed a good start to the second half but it never came and Mayo were coasting with 20 left. With Monaghan out too I really hope Mayo go on and win it outright but you will need to up it again from now on.

It's the end of an era for this Donegal team and we could see as many as 8 retirements. As a Donegal man I've really enjoyed following this team over the past 5 years and will look forward now to seeing a new beginning of Donegal football. We have contested 4 Ulster U21 finals in recent times, won a minor ulster and contested the All Ireland final so its now time to utilise the players that are there.

The jury is still out on Rory Gallagher IMO and I still need convincing but we'll give him time and see where we're at this time next year. We really don't have anyone else in Donegal from a managers perspective that would be presently any better.

Again Congrats to Monaghan and I must say your supporters leaving Croke Park yesterday that I met were definately classy winners. No gloating just proud of their team.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 09/08/2015 15:25:11    1766593

@thelowball in defense of Ryan McHugh the Mayo management had clearly targeted him and had their homework done. He was targeted off the ball which you may not have seen on TV. All cynical but to be fair nothing unusual in the game. The Donegal management failed to highlight of Lee Keegan in similar fashion and he had the freedom of Croke Park. Tir Chonnail who are the 8 retirements you reckon? I don't think Donegal are finished by a long shot. Kicked away the Ulster final and up until the AOS goal were well in the game yesterday. Changed complexion of the game entirely. There is some really good talent in the county including last years and this years minor teams. I do however have some apprehension about Rory G but its his first year and he can learn hopefully given time. Declan Bonner needs to now step up and develop the U-21's though I do have major doubts about him tactically too.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 09/08/2015 17:19:03    1766651

Panamasam
Durcan, E Mc Gee, Lacey, Mc Glynn, N Gallagher, Toye, Mc Fadden and the eighth could possibly be Thompson with him living in England.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 09/08/2015 18:05:03    1766683

Tir Chonnail I would say the rumours are just that rumours....far too early for such decisions to be made. Papa is still one of the top keepers in the country and would be sorely missed. It is realistic he could call it quits based on fact he is based in Dublin though I hope he does not. Keepers have a longer shelf life than outfield players so he far from finished. Anthony Thompson is back based in Donegal I believe so don't think he will be retiring. He done well yesterday when introduced and still has alot to give. Christy is also a very possible retirement. I believe he still has what it takes to compete at the top level but after wrongly getting taken off yesterday I imagine this could force his decision. Eamon McGee is still a top class defender with a few years left yet. Hopefully if he makes the right decision and stays on he is utilized with a focus of keeping him fresh with an eye on the latter stages of the championship. Colm Anthony has been a Donegal legend. When he is on he still has it but unfortunately he is not consistent these days. Still could play a role in impact capacity but his starting days are behind him. Karl Lacey has struggled with form and injuries since 2012. Like Eamon Mcgee I think he still however can play an important role. I still remember the fantastic man marking role he done on Mark Lynch in Celtic Park last year and believe if kept fresh he is more than capable of competing at the top level. Also I think Karl would prove very effective dropped in front of the full back line when needed. Less emphasis on running forward but help out when faced with the likes of AOS. I don't think Mark McHugh has the defensive nous for this role. Frank McGlynn should not retire. Not his greatest game yesterday but still obviously one of the best half backs in the country. Like I said these are just rumours no doubt conduced by some of the media.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 09/08/2015 18:29:47    1766704

I don't believe Donegal are finished. A few older lads may hang up the boots, but a good few key players are just hitting their prime. Plus having a div 1 campaign to bed in a few new faces will bring new players up to speed very quickly.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 09/08/2015 19:51:12    1766746

Toye, Lacey & McFadden would be the biggest probabilities for retirement due to age/injuries.

None of the rest have shown any inclination to retire, reaching 30 isn't a death sentence!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/08/2015 20:18:30    1766767

Panamasam.
Some of the names I mentioned might be speculation but I know for a fact that 4 I have mentioned are stepping down. Frank Mc Glynn is not one of those 4 but he had to be coaxed back last and this year so id day is a distinct possibility.
I don't believe in media speculation. Media speculation had us told there was splits in the camp after the Ulster Final and these were also unfounded.

Let the club championship get completed now and hope we unearth a few jewels. Until next year Tir Conaill Abu!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 09/08/2015 20:21:43    1766769

First of all I want to congratulate Mayo and they went about their business the way any team should who harbour a desire to lift Sam
Done a round trip from London yesterday , was tired today and still a bit disappointed
Never the less who would have thought five years ago we would be writing about this great team as we are today
We must thank them for the great days we had on the road with them Between them and Jim a mighty foundation is laid in Donegal Very shortly the building will have to be done. This will be an enormous task , we can't make mistakes, we will have to develope all the young talent in the county, it will take time, maybe up to five years but if done right it will be worth the wait. Donegal and the supporters have enjoyed so much success over the last five years that we will want more and U.S. , the supporters will want a team to compete at the top level winning trophies.
We definitely need new blood and we should rethink our style I think we will have to think about at least four up front a lot of the time , play with three in the full back line with maybe two stationed between the FB line and half back line. Out and out defending won't won us games
Whatever players retire I wish them the best , we will always have the great memories of 2012 and the rest But congratulations to Mayo once again, all you Mayo people shoul be very proud of this team of yours, don't forget the disappointments they had to endure over the last five years, takes a good team to overcome all that and still be in contention for AI honours this year
The same applies to Mayo supporters as they have taken setback after setback but still keep going Hopefully September 20 will put the record straight both for the team and supporters.
All the best Mayo

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 09/08/2015 20:58:07    1766795

Good post there Sam and it would be great to see Donegal build on their success and produce teams who play good football with less emphasis on 14 man defences and more focus on using the talented forwards they have available. Some on here have said that Donegal have to play a defensive, hand passing game because they have to deal with high winds from the Atlantic, ignoring completely how Kerry, Galway and Mayo play the game. Lets hope in the years ahead they are back contesting All-Irelands but in a way which is more enjoyable for the neutral to watch.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 09/08/2015 21:18:21    1766810

I am not questioning you at all Tir Chonnaill. I just find it hard to believe that any of the players will make any decisions so soon after a defeat. Some of those players are still at the top of their game some not so. Even so never hear of similar in Kerry. Retire yes when on the wain or because of injuries but not when your still at the top of your game. There were a couple of incidents post Ulster final regarding certain players. That I do believe to be true.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 09/08/2015 21:57:31    1766854

Enjoyable weekend. We beat Donegal as I suspected we would but it was easier than I thought. Very tactical setup by Mayo which had the fingerprints of the new management team all over it. Barry Moran as a sweeper worked and meant of FB line was not isolated. AOS took his goal very well and Parsons had another stormer.

I was delighted for Lee Keegan as he had got flack since his sending off v Kerry in last years drawn game and had not been his usual self since but he really was back to his best yesterday. I was also happy that we protected our lead once we got it and conceded no goals.

Hard luck to Donegal, ye looked a tired team, a team that owe Donegal people nothing. For Mayo it is just another step. We are underdogs against an excellent Dublin team now in the semi finals now but a game that can go either way in my opinion.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 10/08/2015 09:01:11    1766882

Hard luck to donegal. The championship will be a poorer place without them. They have some great footballers, their fans are very genuine and I hope they come back again next year. Id hope you all realise that riverboys only speaks for himself.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/08/2015 09:53:05    1766937

Hats off to Donegal supporters who have been very gracious after the defeat on Saturday. They are just proud of their team and rightly so. You have had some great years and an All Ireland title to look back on. Of course there will be talk of retirements at this stage but when the dust settles you may find a lot of those lads will be back for more. It will be hard to walk away from a team which are still one of the top four in the country. Two years ago Kerry were being written off as an old team!!!. As for Mayo where do we go from here? Dublin supporters are confident and rightly so. Two All Irelands in four years does that for you. It will be a big ask but we will travel in hope and in numbers and see where the road takes us. We too are immensely proud of a team who have given their all over the last five years. If we finally win Sam we won't know what to do with ourselves, if we don't I hope we are beaten by a better team and like our Donegal counterparts we are gracious in defeat.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 10/08/2015 10:22:55    1766977