Mayo V Donegal

Paul Durcan is definitely retiring as he & his wife are going to Qatar for a few years

92dl (Cavan) - Posts: 52 - 10/08/2015 10:35:49    1766992

Firstly, a comhgairdeas mhór do na peiladoirí as Maigh Eo on their win. It was thoroughly deserved and was probably the most controlled and assured a performance as I've ever seen from a Mayo team. Keegan is the best half back in Ireland in my opinion, and despite maybe not looking his absolute best earlier in the year, he's fairly moved up a few gears now that we're at the business end of things. Another thing that struck me about your win is that you look to have added a bit of meanness to your play that maybe wasn't there in the past. Big Aiden is surely POTY in waiting. I thought Neil was doing a reasonable job on him but all it takes for a FF is the one chance to get in, whereas the FB has to be on top all of the time. Some goal in fairness but! I sincerely hope ye go on and win it now - God knows ye deserve one and the scenes back West will be a sight to behold when ye do!

For us I thought tactically we were a bit slow making changes that were necessary and our usual counter attack in waves never really materialised. At one point in the first half Ryan burst through the middle about 60 metres from goal but there wasn't one man inside to deliver a ball to, and noone off his shoulder so he had to come back. Some of our key men weren't at their best but at the end of the day the better team won. Sometimes you just have to hold your hands up and admit that.

Finally I'd just like to thank the Donegal players and management for a fantastic few years. It will probably mean the end of the road for some of the boys. I'd wish them all the best - you've made a county smile with pride on many an occasion on this journey. 3 Ulsters and an AI is not a bad innings by any means when you consider where we were in 2010. Lets just hope we can blood a few younger lads in early 2016 and see how we go.

Tír Chonaill abú!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 10/08/2015 10:36:48    1766994

If this is the case regarding Papa well those are massive boots to fill. His kick outs are immense and be hard find a keeper so accurate while also a top drawer shot stopper......definitely in the top 3 keepers in the country for a few years now big loss imo though not unexpected.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/08/2015 11:28:27    1767066

After watching highlights last night it was plain to see as it was in Croker that Mark McHugh is not only a pale version of the 2012 version but really does not have the defensive brain to play the sweeper role.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/08/2015 11:40:43    1767080

The Master - ah don't worry , every county has there WUMs . He certainly doesn't represent the good Mayo people I know .

The way Donegal fans writing on here you would swear we are folding as a county. We will be back and strong at that .

Since the 1970s we have routinely produced great players and we will do again . Some of our best players are under 27 so we will be fine .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 10/08/2015 12:01:49    1767115

@Lockjaw Fair play nice message. Donegal have great supporters

sxckev (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 10/08/2015 12:08:07    1767123

I am more than optimistic for the future TRS written that on a few occasions on different threads. Elements of the media would like you to believe that the obituaries are out for Donegal which is far from the truth. There is some fantastic young talent in the county as last years minors and this years minors will testify. I think this years minors were one of the top teams in Ireland this year just under performed against a Conor Glass inspired team on the day. Moving forward though I would like to see some changes. The squad need to be utilized more. We made 3 subs on Saturday which was an insult to some players on the bench especially when you consider those who under performed yet lasted the full 70 minutes. I hope the management team moving on are more tactically astute. I think they have made some changes in games that worked but also left me baffled at times including Saturday. The county need to try and unearth some inside forwards. Paddy McB is a streaky player who blows hot and cold. Getting Jigger fit again gives us options but still a little short on quality on that line. Leo McClone is best on the half forward line. All in all there is some rebuilding to be done but the county is in good shape with plenty of quality building blocks to build around.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/08/2015 12:24:43    1767147

Another area that needs to improve is Donegal's quality of defending. The county has written the blue print in this regard over the last few years. What we seen this year was plenty of bodies back but how effective were they? Countless times players have ran through easier than years gone by despite bodies back. The players sometimes looked confused as who should go to the on coming player often getting sucked in making no tackle. I just read James Horan's views (a man I would love to see on the sideline for Donegal in the future if possible) on the game Saturday. I agree with the point he made about Mayo's tackling and Donegal's lack of. Mayo tackled and made turn overs that reminded me of the Donegal of the last few years. This element has been missing from Donegal at times this year. I am sure the players have not forgotten how to tackle. Maybe it is a hunger and intensity thing. Mayo showed how important the quick turn over can be like Donegal have in the past. I hope this is an element that returns. A sweeper is needed that knows how to implement the role while operating those around him. Mark McHugh is not that man at the moment.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/08/2015 12:52:13    1767184

Did anyone consider the possibility that donegal were as good defensively as they have been, but just that other teams are now able to time runs and send the correct ball in at the right time now? We have been using the system for 5 seasons now, and it is only a mater of time before the mayos, kerrys, and indeed several other counties were going to find a way of getting in or behind the defense? I think that we defended well this year, we only conceded the single goal v tyrone before the quarter finals. Lets not forget that kerry got 2 goals against us in the final last year, and therefore this defensive system is not suddenly invincible. I would not like to think that we go into next year, without changing either tactics or players, just because we think the opposition are not wide to us, nor or we going to improve the defensive duties. I would say our real challenge is to get a 70 minute mid fielder to accompany McNeilis, who needs to bulk up a bit, and to leave murphy in on the square. Paddy Mc is not a go to man, and we need murphy in on the full forward line, no question about that.

I wish Mayo and their team the very, very best of luck on the rest of their journey. I hope that their supporters get their long overdue rewards, and that this decade is made more interesting with a new champion added to the growing list of champions. One game at a time of course, but there is no reason that Mayo will fear anyone this year.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/08/2015 14:13:26    1767283

I thought Mayo were absolutely exceptional on Sat. The pace and accuracy with which they moved the ball was unreal. AOS was a mnonster on the field. I've been a critic of his in the past, mainly due to what I perceived as a lack of mobility, but I thought he was excellent on Sat. In fact I thought very few of them had poor games. Cillian O'Connor had an off day but imagine what the damage would have been had he been on form? The subs were good too, Andy Moran looked sharp. Lee Keegan was excellent also as was Seamus O'Shea. They pushed right up on the Donegal kick-outs and dominated the middle. A simple tactic that worked to perfection.

All in all an excellent showing from Mayo. Donegal look as though they need to go away and "re-energise". They've become a bit predictable perhaps. Mayo and Cork this year, in particular, opened them up quite spectacularly so Gallagher may need to rethink the approach for next year. Going to be some semi between Mayo and the Dubs. If we don't win Sam this year I genuinely hope Mayo do as a side of this calibre deserves to bring home the top prize.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/08/2015 14:28:46    1767298

Got back late last night after a few enjoyable days down in the Big Smoke and surrounds with the Family. Back in "Good Aul rainy Donegal and feeling a bit flat today.

I will Echo' what most DL fans are saying and congratulate Mayo on a fine performance and Win.
I thought we kept it tight enough up until the Goal just before the half time whistle' and deep down I knew it was all uphill from there and the Goal early in the 2nd put the last nail firmly in the coffin lid for us.
Mayo for most of the game looked the FRESHER and hungrier side with great performances all over the park. Big Neil MaGee was just not tall enough to out jump AOS' he stayed with him well enough but under the high ball he was 2nd best. I am very proud of our lads' as i think they give it their all' but came up against a better, fresher team on the day.

I have to say All the Mayo fans I talked to before' during and after the game where all friendly decent people' of course there was some friendly banter' but thats what its all about. We spent the day in Dublin Zoo yesterday and we all had our Donegal gear on' and talked to quite a few Mayo people and indeed people from all over about the game. One big fellow whilst passing' "With what sounded like a Dublin Accent said to me' I wouldnt be Wearing that jersey today.. And my response was' I'l be buried in this Jersey' Boy..!!

This Donegal team have gave us fantastic memories that will stay with me forever' and I do feel a bit Sad that probably my favourite player of all time "Christy Toye" will not again be lining out in a County jersey for us' and of course Colm and whomever else decide to call it a day.

That'l be me on here until next years Championship' as I have many interests outside of the GAA'.

I really hope Mayo can go on and lift Sam this year' Youse certainly have the team to Do it.Best of luck and Im sure most of the country will be routing for youse.

Go' on Mayo but

Donegal Abu.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 10/08/2015 14:49:47    1767316

Fair points regarding the scores conceded Donegalman but always going to be hard for team to score with the bodies back. I am not saying Donegal are bad defensively far from it but they have lost an edge. The ferocious tackling forcing turn overs has not been as prevalent. There seems to be bodies back yet a confusion who goes to the player in possession leading to players getting sucked in and general confusion. I don't think Mark McHugh can play the sweeper role and I think this does play a part. Ciaran Whelan made similar points post Galway game and now James Horan has highlighted that Donegal are avoiding tackling rather than making them and I agree. Evidence of this I have seen against Derry, Monaghan, Galway and Mayo.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/08/2015 17:14:29    1767458

panamasam
County: Australia

Fair points regarding the scores conceded Donegalman but always going to be hard for team to score with the bodies back. I am not saying Donegal are bad defensively far from it but they have lost an edge. The ferocious tackling forcing turn overs has not been as prevalent. There seems to be bodies back yet a confusion who goes to the player in possession leading to players getting sucked in and general confusion. I don't think Mark McHugh can play the sweeper role and I think this does play a part. Ciaran Whelan made similar points post Galway game and now James Horan has highlighted that Donegal are avoiding tackling rather than making them and I agree. Evidence of this I have seen against Derry, Monaghan, Galway and Mayo.

I think that the the turnovers and tackling that has not happened this year is as much to do with the opposition playing the patience game as it is to do with our lads knowing who goes where. In years gone by, teams would have run straight into us again and again, but when you have teams such as monaghan in the ulster final, and mayo yesterday, recycling the ball, and waiting an extra while to deliver a pass to another option that they have obviously being working on in training, it does ask the question are teams wise to us, or the blanket in general. Personally I think that this is the case. I think too, that if we are to pursue with a defensive, and counter attacking system, we are going to need fresh legs, and a young batch of players to do this. It is too big an ask to expect the same batch to return again and again, to what is a mentally exhausting system to implement, especially if teams are wide to avoiding contact and turnover.

The key area of work for me for this team.

Mark McHugh finding his correct place to play (if at all)
A midfielder to accompany Odharn Mcneilis to replace Gallagher or at least to help him out. We were found out here at the weekend. His legs are now gone for the end of the summer. McNeilis needs to bulk up for the big tests too. He is a fab player but still too light for the powerful teams.
Murphy to stay in the forward line as much as possible, as McBrearty has not delivered what he promised.
3 new players to be blooded in next year, possibly Steven McBrearty at full forward and Eoin McHugh.

The lesson of this year is that we cant hold the better teams from scoring for 70 minutes. They eventually will find a way, and then we are chasing, which means we are in trouble. We are addicted to the formation, which is not a good thing when chasing a game down.

Granted, we could well be a fresher and more rested team next year, but logic tells me that some players havent the legs to cope any more, and I say this with the greatest respect in the world to them. If we go in next year with the template that we used this year, I fear that we will be found out.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/08/2015 17:45:27    1767483

Fair point Donegalman and I do agree that the patient approach of the opposition does play a part but not convinced that is it either. All the teams I mentioned in previous post were able to pierce the defense without much a glove on them when they pushed on. Agree totally regarding M McHugh. He is not a sweeper that is for sure as was plainly showed on Saturday but his old role in the team is now Ryan's so difficult to know what to do with him. I thought he gave up the fight very easily Saturday so not sure he is a guy with the hunger we need to move on. Paddy McB is still a fine player but not dependable as blows hot and cold. I have seen Stephan a few times last year with the minors and thought he was the same. I must admit however that I am not the best placed to judge having only seen him play those times. Michael Campbell can be a top player. He is rangy and has good ball skills but still a bit light. Stephan Mcmenamin is a player I really like. Played full back on this years minor team and was impressive each time I saw him play including against Derry when so many others lost their composure. If developed correctly he can be a top top defender as has all the attributes. As for Odhran I think like Paddy McB he can be a bit hot and cold. I think sometimes he lets games drift by. No doubt the ability is there. A fantastic fielder and kicker just lacking a bit of meanness sometimes. I agree balking up a little would do no harm plus would like to see him develop his kicking off the right foot as sometimes he can be very left sided.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/08/2015 19:05:00    1767554

Donegal had a difficult Ulster championship and the qualifier game v Galway took a lot out of them then a week later v Mayo, it's just fatigue, tired, they also reached the All Ireland final last year which ads to the tiredness, it's the same as what happened in 2013, maybe a few lads will retire but I expect to see Donegal in at least the All Ireland quarter finals in 2016 and after that who knows, the Sunday Game pundits were more or less saying Donegal are gone as well as Monaghan and we won't see them for a few years, rubbish. Both teams will be back next and will push hard for the Anglo-Celt cup

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 10/08/2015 20:19:49    1767611

The obituaries were out for the Donegal team after the quarter final in 2013 from those same panelists on the Sunday Game. They had to eat humble pie last year and the beginning of this year but only too quick to forecast their demise given the chance. I pay no attention to some of the dated panelists on The Sunday Game. Sky despite the criticism have been a breath of fresh air and shown how GAA punditry can be done well without bias.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/08/2015 20:28:35    1767628

panamasam
County: Australia

The obituaries were out for the Donegal team after the quarter final in 2013 from those same panelists on the Sunday Game. They had to eat humble pie last year and the beginning of this year but only too quick to forecast their demise given the chance. I pay no attention to some of the dated panelists on The Sunday Game. Sky despite the criticism have been a breath of fresh air and shown how GAA punditry can be done well without bias.

ie. by Jim McGuinness?

The GAA sold their soul to the Lucifer that is Rupert Murdoch when they did the Sky deal. How many elderly fans in Mayo and Donegal missed the match on Saturday night because they can't afford to pay the extortionate subs to watch Premier League all year round? I know it may not be popular with admins here as I believe they have had advertisement deals with Sky Sports but that's my honest opinion.

I agree that the analysis on the Sunday Game can be dirge but at least it's free to air

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 10/08/2015 20:51:10    1767649

Jim, Peter Canavan and Senan Connell......I can sympathize with those who do not have access to Sky Sports but that is not the discussion this thread is about.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 10/08/2015 21:14:08    1767664

On that topic roundball. Any versions of the game appearing on youtube yet? Or anyone know where you could watch it back, without actually having sky of course...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/08/2015 21:16:21    1767667

Great to witness the banter and rapport between Mayo and Donegal fans on Saturday, hand shakes all around and wishing each other well after a well contested but relatively niggle free game. One Mayo man told me that three of the Donegal players were sons of Mayo guards based in Donegal (Durkan, Reilly, Murphy) and another lady spoke of how many she knew ended up teaching, nursing or fishing in the other county. Neutrals present needed this good spirited tonic after the nasty atmosphere at the end of the first match... so well done to both counties.
As for the game .. No complaints from Donegal, many felt it was a match too far (6th I think) for the current squad this year. It does highlight how difficult it can be for some teams to reach an AI. There was a noticeable degree of sadness as they applauded some of their great heroes off the Croke Park stage for the last time .. great memories back to Toye`s goal in 2003 and McFaddens wonderful long range points in 2012. The only regret that I detected after talking to dozens of them was that 2014 AI was one that got away. Not starting McElhinney, Toye and McBrearty, giving a rookie his Croke Park debut (son of a Rossie), conceeding a soft early goal followed by a gift wrapped one, denied by width of a post etc... A win after their spectacular semi final exploits would have seen JMcG walk away as a winner and allow some of their senior players to retire with two AI medals instead of pushing weary limbs for one more year in search of the holy grail.
As for Mayo I always feel that they are one of the unlucky counties as whenever they come good they seem to come up against a team at their peak. Having dealt impressively with Donegal they now have to overcome two super powers to fulfill the dream. However with 31+ counties behind them they have to BELIEVE.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 11/08/2015 11:25:16    1767895