Kerry V Tyrone.

Replying To TheUsername:  "Laughing now here comes the multi, not sure if I count that 3 or 4."
At least 5 of yours gave my post dislikes i see. Going to comment on your Mayo altro ego on another topic?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 11/02/2020 08:24:12    2266973

Replying To centerfield:  "Kerry bleating about this sending off.

in the 14 semi final Keegan had 2 lads pulling out of him he kicked out making ZERO contact and the 2 Kerry lads tried and successfully got him sent now."
Sure wasn't it one of their own that encouraged this type of treatment on the oppositions best players? If you dish it, you can take it! Its amazing how this has all blown up the way it has when it has been happening forever. Mannion was welcomed to the game (Tomas O'Sés words) by a Monaghan player and got a yellow for it. Not fair but that's life.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/02/2020 09:23:25    2266980

Replying To greysoil:  "To be clear BG, if this was a Monaghan player, my disapproval would be the same. Not sure really what you are trying to insinuate? I don't have any allegiance to Kerry. No player should be beyond reproach & this thuggish carryon has no place on the pitch.
If you want to look at playing outside the rules, maybe also take a wee look back at the quarter finals of 2013 & 2015."
Something like say...... the Mannion incident on Saturday evening??

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 11/02/2020 11:46:19    2267018

Replying To Jackeen:  "Sure wasn't it one of their own that encouraged this type of treatment on the oppositions best players? If you dish it, you can take it! Its amazing how this has all blown up the way it has when it has been happening forever. Mannion was welcomed to the game (Tomas O'Sés words) by a Monaghan player and got a yellow for it. Not fair but that's life."
Tomás also said Monaghan will be delighted with the draw, what planet is he on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/02/2020 12:04:32    2267022

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Tomás also said Monaghan will be delighted with the draw, what planet is he on."
Sure Tomás is up there with yourself and the other lad in planet Uranus. It's mainly inhabited by whingers and begrudgers though Tomás wouldn't be the worst in that respect or at least he hides it well. But then I suppose he's not anonymous like yourself and the other victim of so many injustices.
'Tis a dark and gassy ail spot but sure yeer at home there I'd say.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 11/02/2020 12:32:59    2267031

Replying To dakid:  "Mammy will leave your lunch and schoolbag on the kitchen table"
What about dinner?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/02/2020 12:35:03    2267033

Replying To catch22:  "Sure Tomás is up there with yourself and the other lad in planet Uranus. It's mainly inhabited by whingers and begrudgers though Tomás wouldn't be the worst in that respect or at least he hides it well. But then I suppose he's not anonymous like yourself and the other victim of so many injustices.
'Tis a dark and gassy ail spot but sure yeer at home there I'd say."
Thanks bud I'm glad you think I'm out of this world ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/02/2020 14:00:25    2267059

Fridge I think your thoughts are genuine in ref to backing of your home county. I was in edendork on Sunday was too far away from the Peter harte incident to comment but I was right on top of the David Clifford incident and it was down right out of order the tryrone guy only had one thing on his mind

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 11/02/2020 19:42:30    2267138

Have a look at the All Ireland final replay
26:44
26:54
29:00
It will tell you a lot

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 11/02/2020 19:43:37    2267139

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Have a look at the All Ireland final replay
26:44
26:54
29:00
It will tell you a lot"
I'd imagine that most people won't bother.

What will it tell them if they did?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/02/2020 20:00:01    2267141

Great win for Tyrone after a disappointing performance last week.

Clifford's red was obviously a terrible decision but he's not the first, nor will he be the last, player to get done by the classic 'ah they were both at it'.

The problem is that no one cares until it's one of their own players!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 11/02/2020 20:35:10    2267149

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I'd imagine that most people won't bother.

What will it tell them if they did?"
Sure have a look and see.
For one thing, it will tell you that edited clips may not tell a full story.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 11/02/2020 21:12:59    2267161

Good article from Declan Bogue in the independent

https://m.independent.ie/sport/columnists/its-unfair-to-single-tyrone-out-for-cynical-play-when-its-widespread-across-football-38949824.html

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 12/02/2020 12:16:32    2267265

Brings to mind what Billy Morgan said 20 years ago!!!!

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 12/02/2020 12:36:04    2267268

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Good article from Declan Bogue in the independent

https://m.independent.ie/sport/columnists/its-unfair-to-single-tyrone-out-for-cynical-play-when-its-widespread-across-football-38949824.html"
Of course it was Tyrone's fault......Storm Ciara can be laid at their door as well.....Tyrone are the GAAs bogie men........kerrymen have nightmares about these guys

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 12/02/2020 12:38:31    2267272

The type of incident where Clifford was targetted is in 99% of cases down to the manager and Tyrone under Harte have a track record of scummy stuff. And you can bullshit all you want about religion.

Players are briefed on what to expect from referees so Referees need to be briefed on what to expect from teams. It would lead to more fairness if the next referee they meet is aware that they may be up to this and be ready to dish out appropriate punishment . As opposed to been caught off guard

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 12/02/2020 13:06:41    2267283

Replying To Ashrules:  "The type of incident where Clifford was targetted is in 99% of cases down to the manager and Tyrone under Harte have a track record of scummy stuff. And you can bullshit all you want about religion.

Players are briefed on what to expect from referees so Referees need to be briefed on what to expect from teams. It would lead to more fairness if the next referee they meet is aware that they may be up to this and be ready to dish out appropriate punishment . As opposed to been caught off guard"
Don't agree, if referees approach a game with pre-conceived ideas about who might be guilty it will only lead to more errors and more simulation/diving. In the recent Dublin/Kerry league game Philly McMahon was yellow carded with David Clifford being the perceived victim of foul play. However the replay of the off the ball incident showed that Clifford was the player who was fouling, grabbing McMahon by the head from behind with no retaliation, drawing the comment from Marty Morrissey, "oh, well I think Philly McMahon has been more than a bit unlucky there". Maybe a case of Philly being penalised because of his "reputation" leading to a refereeing error. All teams, players and supporters deserve that each game is judged and refereed on it's merits on the day

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 12/02/2020 13:41:47    2267292

I seem to remember in the semi final Niall Sludden being pinned on the ground by a Kerry player when Tyrone were attacking and the ref booked Sludden. I seem to remember Stephen O'Brien was black carded for a rugby tackle on Conor McAliskey. He of course had that overturned so he could play in the final.

It's funny how there's another national incident when it's Tyrone. And this 'incident' is only based on what people assume to have happened.

Why wasn't Joe Brolly roaring on national TV declaring an amateur sportsperson, Stephen O'Brien a coward and a disgrace?

I'm not saying Tyrone are the cleanest team in the world, but all of the major teams have black marks against them...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 12/02/2020 16:41:19    2267357

Replying To HokeyPokey:  "I seem to remember in the semi final Niall Sludden being pinned on the ground by a Kerry player when Tyrone were attacking and the ref booked Sludden. I seem to remember Stephen O'Brien was black carded for a rugby tackle on Conor McAliskey. He of course had that overturned so he could play in the final.

It's funny how there's another national incident when it's Tyrone. And this 'incident' is only based on what people assume to have happened.

Why wasn't Joe Brolly roaring on national TV declaring an amateur sportsperson, Stephen O'Brien a coward and a disgrace?

I'm not saying Tyrone are the cleanest team in the world, but all of the major teams have black marks against them..."
Stephen didn't get the black card against Tyrone over turned, it was his card against Meath that was rescinded and rightly so.

Also his tackle was out near the sideline it wasn't like McAliskey was baring down on goal, but in fairness it was a cynical tackle all the same.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2020 18:37:08    2267372

I remember Aidan O'Mahony doing the same in 2015 final. Complete cynical drag down and got black carded. He feigned injury after getting a light slap in 2008 semifinal and got a Cork player red carded. Total crookery and thems the boys who could teach you.
Tiernan McCann must have been watching.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 12/02/2020 20:11:06    2267396