Kerry V Donegal

Replying To Monkeycatcher:  "Stewart's walking behind the goal for Donegal penalty was a joke,had Murphy missed it would be a big talking point."
Yeah, I couldn't believe it! They really haven't a clue. And why then?? The stewards walked across in front of hill 16 about 5 mins earlier.

On another note - there were 2 stewards at gate B entrance to the Cusack Stand checking bags (necessary in this day and age, I know), but there were 3 more stewards telling people to have their bags ready to be checked. 5 stewards and only 2 of them actually checking bags! A couple of hundred missed the throw-in of the 1st game as a result.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 22/07/2019 08:34:02    2214470

Replying To Sindar:  "Christ No! The amount of times I hear that on the field from players and supporters is unreal. Time for press release from the GAA on this (or maybe a # will do the trick better)"
I think it's time the square ball rule was done away with, I can't see exactly what it is trying to achieve.

Mind you, he threw it into the net so it still wouldn't have stood.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/07/2019 08:44:12    2214472

What made yesterday's gamwe all the more remarkable was that both teams were missing so many players & yet the quality never dipped.

In the second half Donegal had 3 of the back 6 & both first choice mid fielders out injured while Kerry were missing David Moran & James O'Donoghue to name just two.

Playing with full decks both could have a right rattle at Dublin who have always had an advantage down the years in th having a very strong bench to call on in the last quarter. Both Kerry & Donegal now have similar strength to call on & while Dublin are still the best team in Ireland the gap is narrowing.

Conversely the lack of depth on the bench is Meath's biggest problem at the moment. They were able to go head to head with both Donegal & Mayo for 55 - 60 mins but when it came to springing fresh legs they were a bit thin on the ground.

However for either Donegal or Kerry to have any sort of chance they must get their injured players back.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/07/2019 09:00:31    2214477

Replying To Sindar:  "After watching the highlights of this game I'm just thinking if there was some rule changes that could be made to have all games man on man only. Impossible I know but once every 12 months or so we get a game like this (Roscommon v Armagh last year). We've forgotten how good Gaelic football can be!"
Opposing players tethered to each other with 6' bungees. (Can be trialed in Ulster first)

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 22/07/2019 09:26:26    2214489

Replying To arock:  "Forget black cards, the ref must be blind, the amount of players taking extra steps is a joke. 11 and even 16 come on like and he staring at them."
2011, McMenamin and the goal, was it 12 steps?

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 22/07/2019 09:33:49    2214490

Replying To Sindar:  "Fair play to both teams. Best game in years. Two top quality teams coming face to face - a rare thing these days. McHugh was superb but Murphy is the man. Without those two and McBrearty, Donegal would be nowhere. That was never a penalty to Donegal btw. (Yes, I know the ref is a fellow countyman)"
Without those 3... pick the best 3 attacking players out of any county and you could say the same. Pointless exercise.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 22/07/2019 09:35:15    2214491

Replying To cavanman47:  "Yeah, I couldn't believe it! They really haven't a clue. And why then?? The stewards walked across in front of hill 16 about 5 mins earlier.

On another note - there were 2 stewards at gate B entrance to the Cusack Stand checking bags (necessary in this day and age, I know), but there were 3 more stewards telling people to have their bags ready to be checked. 5 stewards and only 2 of them actually checking bags! A couple of hundred missed the throw-in of the 1st game as a result."
At least you weren't body searched. People on the hill were.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/07/2019 09:42:26    2214494

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "What made yesterday's gamwe all the more remarkable was that both teams were missing so many players & yet the quality never dipped.

In the second half Donegal had 3 of the back 6 & both first choice mid fielders out injured while Kerry were missing David Moran & James O'Donoghue to name just two.

Playing with full decks both could have a right rattle at Dublin who have always had an advantage down the years in th having a very strong bench to call on in the last quarter. Both Kerry & Donegal now have similar strength to call on & while Dublin are still the best team in Ireland the gap is narrowing.

Conversely the lack of depth on the bench is Meath's biggest problem at the moment. They were able to go head to head with both Donegal & Mayo for 55 - 60 mins but when it came to springing fresh legs they were a bit thin on the ground.

However for either Donegal or Kerry to have any sort of chance they must get their injured players back."
Surely Ordan is worth a phone call with all the injured Donegal players now Muck?

How good is Murphy and Mchugh Muck? Donegal's two greatest players imo

Mcbreaty still not back to his best yet , still very dangerous doh.

I thought you's were slightly the better team you's missed two huge goal chances , Brennan should of passed to Eoin Mchugh first instead of Mcglynn.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/07/2019 10:00:01    2214513

Replying To Jackeen:  "At least you weren't body searched. People on the hill were."
Really?

I had a large coat with me (thankfully!) and could conceivably had anything under it but was just waved through. Women with handbags big enough for maybe a phone and purse were all searched. It was a bit strange.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 22/07/2019 10:11:18    2214520

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Surely Ordan is worth a phone call with all the injured Donegal players now Muck?

I thought you's were slightly the better team you's missed two huge goal chances , Brennan should of passed to Eoin Mchugh first instead of Mcglynn."
Kerry missed 2 goal chances in the FH there clon. you might have missed.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/07/2019 10:13:53    2214522

see yesterday when McMenamin collided with White and the ref stopped play, why when play was resumed was it a easy free to Kerry from where the ball ended up when play was stopped?

Garngad (Donegal) - Posts: 14 - 22/07/2019 10:19:11    2214529

2 referees are now needed in the GAA like Aussie rules.
You can't expect a ref to see everything but the fouling off the ball yesterday was scandalous as highlighted on the SG.
The game was an excellent game, Murphy and Mchugh, OBrien, Geaney all excellent.
Paddy Neilan had a poor game and the penalty was dubious to say the least.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/07/2019 10:21:07    2214533

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Surely Ordan is worth a phone call with all the injured Donegal players now Muck?

I thought you's were slightly the better team you's missed two huge goal chances , Brennan should of passed to Eoin Mchugh first instead of Mcglynn."
I don't think we'll see Odhrán this year anyway clon, that's his decision and everyone respects it. I don't think it would be fair to put the call into him, but if he phoned Declan and made himself available that's a different story I suppose. The hope is a lot of the injuries around the middle of the park are only knocks and they'll be ok for Castlebar.

I think we had a stronger second half but Kerry were a bit wasteful in the first half. Overall a draw was the fair result but obviously from a Donegal POV you remember the scores that were left behind, I'm sure Kerry fans are the same. It was a sensational game I thought, fair play to both squads and management teams because both suffered injuries and adapted very well.

Stephen O'Brien is some player to watch in person, absolutely electric.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/07/2019 10:26:35    2214537

Replying To cavanman47:  "Really?

I had a large coat with me (thankfully!) and could conceivably had anything under it but was just waved through. Women with handbags big enough for maybe a phone and purse were all searched. It was a bit strange."
Ye it was most bizarre. Searches have been on the hill long before anywhere anybodys bags were searched elsewhere in Croke park but I've never heard of body searches before. Not sure if bottle tops are confiscated in the stands but they are on hill 16 too.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/07/2019 10:31:04    2214541

Not arguing with you clon as Donegal could have won yesterday but we had 2 good goal chances our selves which Donegal keeper blocked one and another Geaney shot over the bar and another chance with Geaney having a clear run on goal with only the keeper ahead of him only for the reff to stop the game for a head injury.

Also out of the 1:20 that we scored yesterday 1:16 was from play, I think Donegal scored 10 points from play and 1:10 from frees.

Also I haven't had a chance to watch the game back yet but why was the penalty given? It looked to me that Steven just stood his ground and the Donegal lad ran into him?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/07/2019 10:32:26    2214542

Replying To Sindar:  "Christ No! The amount of times I hear that on the field from players and supporters is unreal. Time for press release from the GAA on this (or maybe a # will do the trick better)"
Or maybe read the rule book:
It's a technical foul....
For an attacking player to enter opponents'
small rectangle:
(a) During Play (excluding Set Play), before the
final play of the ball into the small rectangle.
(b) In Set Play, before the ball enters the small
rectangle.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 22/07/2019 10:34:53    2214545

Great game

A credit to both teams

Both sides will be winning and challenging for All Ireland's

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/07/2019 10:43:18    2214551

Replying To westkerry:  "2 referees are now needed in the GAA like Aussie rules.
You can't expect a ref to see everything but the fouling off the ball yesterday was scandalous as highlighted on the SG.
The game was an excellent game, Murphy and Mchugh, OBrien, Geaney all excellent.
Paddy Neilan had a poor game and the penalty was dubious to say the least."
The only dubious thing about it was how he didn't get a card

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 22/07/2019 10:45:00    2214555

Replying To westkerry:  "2 referees are now needed in the GAA like Aussie rules.
Paddy Neilan had a poor game and the penalty was dubious to say the least."
Running head first into someone is dubious? If it wasn't a penalty it would have been a goal anyway.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 22/07/2019 10:46:40    2214558

Replying To Monkeycatcher:  "Stewart's walking behind the goal for Donegal penalty was a joke,had Murphy missed it would be a big talking point."
And what about the Donegal Maor Uisce (yellow top) who was running on to the pitch in an attempt to confuse the Kerry keeper ?? On the Hogan Stand side during final 10 minutes of game.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 22/07/2019 10:48:32    2214562