Kerry V Donegal

Replying To GreenAndGold74:  "You have a serious dislike of Kerry my friend. Majority of your posts are ANTI Kerry i notice."
I wouldn't go that far. It's all there in black and white.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/07/2019 21:35:15    2214318

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "If it was a knockout game I'd agree with you but there is absolutely nothing riding on the result. If Dublin treat it as a run out for the extended panel they could easily be caught in Omagh."
Mickey Harte wont want to give anything away that might be of use down the road and will have an eye on the next weeks semi final. I'd genuinely be extremely surprised if Dublin didnt run out good winners.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 21/07/2019 21:40:26    2214325

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "If it was a knockout game I'd agree with you but there is absolutely nothing riding on the result. If Dublin treat it as a run out for the extended panel they could easily be caught in Omagh."
As I said before what a game this was today, a real spectacle of sheer class....there was nothing between the two teams. Donegal are so much better than last year, they're younger players have really matured and I feel they have replaced the likes of Karl Lacey, Thompson, Mcgee and McFadden. They suffered a little with such retirements but Bonner is doing a deadly job with the new guys. As a Tyrone man I am jealous of their quality obviously. I also consider the idea that Dublin will walk it in Omagh very disrespectful. To hear RTE commentator of todays match completely discredit my county by saying that those in todays group will want to win it to avoid Dublin in the semis is seriously out of order. Sure Dublin could win surely we all know that but its nice to have manners and to respect the competing counties. I'm sure Micky Harte would love to say the famous Kevin Keagan words "Id love it if we beat them, love it". Not so much wanting to beat them to spite Dublin but to spite RTE and the rest of the country who view Tyrone Dublin game decided before a ball has been thrown in. Kerry and Donegal should go through based on todays games but mayo are unpredictable and Meath are not far away from being a good team especially with Shane Walsh up front. All to play for.

RedHand_Pastyface (Tyrone) - Posts: 16 - 21/07/2019 21:40:51    2214326

Stewart's walking behind the goal for Donegal penalty was a joke,had Murphy missed it would be a big talking point.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 21/07/2019 21:46:09    2214330

Replying To RedHand_Pastyface:  "As I said before what a game this was today, a real spectacle of sheer class....there was nothing between the two teams. Donegal are so much better than last year, they're younger players have really matured and I feel they have replaced the likes of Karl Lacey, Thompson, Mcgee and McFadden. They suffered a little with such retirements but Bonner is doing a deadly job with the new guys. As a Tyrone man I am jealous of their quality obviously. I also consider the idea that Dublin will walk it in Omagh very disrespectful. To hear RTE commentator of todays match completely discredit my county by saying that those in todays group will want to win it to avoid Dublin in the semis is seriously out of order. Sure Dublin could win surely we all know that but its nice to have manners and to respect the competing counties. I'm sure Micky Harte would love to say the famous Kevin Keagan words "Id love it if we beat them, love it". Not so much wanting to beat them to spite Dublin but to spite RTE and the rest of the country who view Tyrone Dublin game decided before a ball has been thrown in. Kerry and Donegal should go through based on todays games but mayo are unpredictable and Meath are not far away from being a good team especially with Shane Walsh up front. All to play for."
Is this a classic case of confusing the messenger with the subject of the message? If you think for one second that Dublin will not show Tyrone the ultimate respect and go all out to win this game then you know nothing about Dublin football. It's not Gavin's style to disrespect other teams or to be complacent.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/07/2019 21:47:40    2214332

No argument about the disallowed goal...looked to both a square ball and a throw. In hindsight McGlynn would have taken his point to open a two point gap instead of crossing it into the square. Thought both black cards were correct calls .. Donegal's black card a blessing in disguise as Gallen kicked two smart points ,got fouled for another and was involved in the build up for the penalty. O'Donnell kicked a good point but took too many wrong options on the ball , carrying into traffic and getting turned over. Thought Odhran McFadden Ferry showed very well for a relative newcomer.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 21/07/2019 21:53:51    2214337

Replying To Sindar:  "But he is right, no? How many Kerry fans were there?"
There were 49,000 supporters altogether how many were Kerry is hard to know, but judging by the traffic coming through Adare at the minute there was a lot.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/07/2019 21:58:08    2214342

Replying To essmac:  "Tyrone beat Dublin - are ye planning on sending the Dublin minors up : )"
No, the U20s :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 21/07/2019 22:03:14    2214345

Replying To avonali:  "Is this a classic case of confusing the messenger with the subject of the message? If you think for one second that Dublin will not show Tyrone the ultimate respect and go all out to win this game then you know nothing about Dublin football. It's not Gavin's style to disrespect other teams or to be complacent."
No man, its not Dublin fans the disrespect is from RTE and fans of other counties.

RedHand_Pastyface (Tyrone) - Posts: 16 - 21/07/2019 22:03:42    2214346

Replying To DLlegends:  "Good game. Thought O Baoill did well when he came on, as did Gallen. The replacement for Kerry Sherwood made a difference for Kerry when introduced. Thought our forced Substitutions meant our legs were gone late on in the game.

Some battle now in Castlebar in two weeks. Winner takes all. Mayo and ourselves will relish the two week break.

And why does Colm O Rourke feel the need to stick the boot into Clifford. Spouting on about how his coronation will need to be withheld for another while. He scored three important points today."
He's a begrudging auld curmudgeon talking out of dry pursed lips.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 21/07/2019 22:07:08    2214351

After watching the highlights of this game I'm just thinking if there was some rule changes that could be made to have all games man on man only. Impossible I know but once every 12 months or so we get a game like this (Roscommon v Armagh last year). We've forgotten how good Gaelic football can be!

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 21/07/2019 22:21:11    2214365

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There were 49,000 supporters altogether how many were Kerry is hard to know, but judging by the traffic coming through Adare at the minute there was a lot."
I was surprised by the amount of Kerry supporters there today definitely turned up in good numbers.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 21/07/2019 22:24:49    2214372

Congrats to both teams today on what was mighty stuff.

Really happy with our performance and effort. Injuries effected both teams today. Include Jason McGee and we really did well to stay in it, thanks to Patton and to the lads who stepped up.

The big calls and small calls today made by the ref kind of cancelled each other out. This does not mean he did a great job though. In fairness, it wasn't dirty so he didn't have much to do other than call the technical stuff.

Next is mayo. I think we can do it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/07/2019 22:28:15    2214375

Forget black cards, the ref must be blind, the amount of players taking extra steps is a joke. 11 and even 16 come on like and he staring at them.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 21/07/2019 22:41:40    2214385

Replying To Sindar:  "Fair play to both teams. Best game in years. Two top quality teams coming face to face - a rare thing these days. McHugh was superb but Murphy is the man. Without those two and McBrearty, Donegal would be nowhere. That was never a penalty to Donegal btw. (Yes, I know the ref is a fellow countyman)"
This is a stupid comment. Without Murphy, McHugh and McBrearty we'd be nowhere?

Back on Planet Reality the fact is that we DO have the aforementioned three lads. And we get on quite well with them. So what is the crux of your point meant to be? Should we drop the 3 lads next game out just to prove a point to some boyo from Roscommon on an online forum?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 21/07/2019 22:58:31    2214395

Just want to say how refreshing it was to see Donegal go man on man and no blanket defense today great to see , if they've everyone fit they've a great team there.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/07/2019 23:09:07    2214402

An absolute pleasure to be in Croke Park today in what was an enthralling encounter. Both teams deserve the utmost credit in both difficult conditions esp in the second half and having to contend with injuries to important players. Both teams have alot of young players so I think this game could be seismic in their future development. Both keepers had some fantastic restarts. Stephen McMenamin was superb on Clifford as was O'Sullivan on Brennan. Real coming of age performances from the excellent Michael Langan and Killian Spillane. Paul Geaney has really found his form again and was excellent as was Stephen O'Brien. As is the norm now Michael Murphy and Ryan McHugh were sensational.

Only sour notes were the black cards felt both were harsh esp O'Donnell's. The Gavin White Ryan McHugh battle was worth the ticket price alone for length it lasted. Generally a good atmosphere among all the supporters bar a very small section of young Kerry supporters in the hill who were over the top and needlessly aggressive during score celebrations. There was a potential for trouble such was their goading but lucky people stepped in.....muppets!!!

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 21/07/2019 23:33:44    2214419

Great game. Hats off to both sides for the style of play. A lot of negative comments here but both sides had injuries, bad calls against them etc. It works both ways. Kerry probably got the better result from the draw but there are no guarantees that Donegal will beat Mayo. Or Kerry will beat Meath or Dublin will beat Tyrone. There's no guarantees anybody will beat anyone else. It's sports and that's why we watch it. But Tyrone are on the rise again with a few old heads and some good new young lads, they will not be there for the good of their health, and Mickey Harte is nobody's fool. It would be a bit of a surprise but you write of Tyrone at your peril.

Liameen (USA) - Posts: 38 - 21/07/2019 23:45:46    2214427

Replying To Sindar:  "Fair play to both teams. Best game in years. Two top quality teams coming face to face - a rare thing these days. McHugh was superb but Murphy is the man. Without those two and McBrearty, Donegal would be nowhere. That was never a penalty to Donegal btw. (Yes, I know the ref is a fellow countyman)"
Daragh O Baoill was stopped by a high facial tackle bordering on a head butt, thought O Brien was lucky to escape sanction.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 22/07/2019 00:21:15    2214432

Brilliant game of football. This match will have brought what is predominantly very young Donegal and Kerry panels on a lot, as both sides avoided losing what is a 75+ minute battle that was in the balance until the final whistle.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 22/07/2019 08:22:15    2214467