Mickey Harte stays

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "is it true he defended his "system" post match on BBC???"
Did Pat Gilroy have a defensive "system" when Dublin won in 2011? Did he defend it? Did you cheer any less when you won the all Ireland?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 14:19:11    2043441

Replying To The_Fridge:  "2 u21 all irelands. 3 Ulster u21's.
1 minor all Ireland and 2 Ulster minors.
Won Tyrone championship and Ulster with Errigal.
Various schools trophies.
That's off the top of my head.

What if Canavan, Logan and Dooher had been offered the job and turned it down? Who then?
Listen Mickey has his 3 years. Nothing you can do about it. Let's get behind him and hope Tyrone kick on. As I've said last year wasn't a terrible year for Tyrone. Get over it"
1st paragraph should off said afterwards that he had won so much underage he had enough experience with the players to guide them to senior all irelands.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 14:21:33    2043444

Replying To The_Fridge:  "2 u21 all irelands. 3 Ulster u21's.
1 minor all Ireland and 2 Ulster minors.
Won Tyrone championship and Ulster with Errigal.
Various schools trophies.
That's off the top of my head.

What if Canavan, Logan and Dooher had been offered the job and turned it down? Who then?
Listen Mickey has his 3 years. Nothing you can do about it. Let's get behind him and hope Tyrone kick on. As I've said last year wasn't a terrible year for Tyrone. Get over it"
1st paragraph should off said afterwards that he had won so much underage he had enough experience with the players to guide them to senior all irelands.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 14:21:33    2043445

Replying To The_Fridge:  "1st paragraph should off said afterwards that he had won so much underage he had enough experience with the players to guide them to senior all irelands."
So what about the minor winning management teams who won ulster in 03,04,07,08,10 and 12 and All Ireland's in 04,08 and 10.

Or what about the U21 winning management teams who won ulster in 03 and 06.

Surely these guys built up enough experience at county underage level to be given a chance?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 06/09/2017 15:18:11    2043474

Didn't Mickey want two years last year and only got one from the Tyrone County Board?

Then he gets three years this year...

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 06/09/2017 15:54:25    2043489

Replying To Wally:  "So what about the minor winning management teams who won ulster in 03,04,07,08,10 and 12 and All Ireland's in 04,08 and 10.

Surely these guys built up enough experience at county underage level to be given a chance?"
they may well have. Maybe in 3 years they can apply for the job. But Mickey has been given a 3 year contract. You can sit in your armchair criticising Mickey while turning up for big games in Croke Park. However we both know you have supported Tyrone and tyrones sytle of play in the past.
I've a question. If Tyrone win the all Ireland with Mickey will you admit you are wrong?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 16:02:08    2043493

Replying To Wally:  "So what about the minor winning management teams who won ulster in 03,04,07,08,10 and 12 and All Ireland's in 04,08 and 10.

Surely these guys built up enough experience at county underage level to be given a chance?"
they may well have. Maybe in 3 years they can apply for the job. But Mickey has been given a 3 year contract. You can sit in your armchair criticising Mickey while turning up for big games in Croke Park. However we both know you have supported Tyrone and tyrones sytle of play in the past.
I've a question. If Tyrone win the all Ireland with Mickey will you admit you are wrong?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 16:02:09    2043494

Replying To The_Fridge:  "they may well have. Maybe in 3 years they can apply for the job. But Mickey has been given a 3 year contract. You can sit in your armchair criticising Mickey while turning up for big games in Croke Park. However we both know you have supported Tyrone and tyrones sytle of play in the past.
I've a question. If Tyrone win the all Ireland with Mickey will you admit you are wrong?"
I could laugh at people like you on here criticising others for expressing their opinion on a public forum.

Do you not realise that you are doing the exact same thing!

I have never ever supported Mickey Harte's system over the past number of years. Please give me a credible example of when I did this? I have always been consistent in my criticism that the way we play is totally counter productive.

I will ask you a question. If we don't win an All Ireland in the next 3 years (which is much more likely) will you admit that you are wrong? Or will you and the rest of the sheep still come out with the cringe worthy statement 'Total Faith'.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 06/09/2017 16:18:03    2043499

Replying To Wally:  "I could laugh at people like you on here criticising others for expressing their opinion on a public forum.

Do you not realise that you are doing the exact same thing!

I have never ever supported Mickey Harte's system over the past number of years. Please give me a credible example of when I did this? I have always been consistent in my criticism that the way we play is totally counter productive.

I will ask you a question. If we don't win an All Ireland in the next 3 years (which is much more likely) will you admit that you are wrong? Or will you and the rest of the sheep still come out with the cringe worthy statement 'Total Faith'."
Credible evidence. Ok. A direct quote from you "Tyrone have scored 4 Goals and 35 Points in their last 3 league games.

During this time they have received 6 yellow cards and no red cards.

Someone explain to me how they are still being described as a negative team???"

Is that credible enough??
Stop flip flopping from side to side when it suits your agenda.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 17:20:50    2043527

As a neutral observer I was really surprised at Mickey's re-appointment. There is no doubt Mickey has been an outstanding manager, and would appear to conduct himself gracefully and admirably on and off the pitch. I recently met a Tyrone supporter who told me Mickey Harte was building a new footballing empire. I am afraid there is no footballing empire over the next hill for Mickey. Neither "systems" nor "space" (to quote Spillane) ever won anything in Croke Park. Tyrone just don't have the required players in the full forward line and perhaps midfield based on the game against Dublin. They probably don't have an "all ireland winning" free taker either.

You can't have senior inter-county management experience in advance of getting an inter-county management job. Mickey Harte didn't either before he got the job. Surely the manner of the defeat to Dublin has revealed the futility of persisting with the "system". Would it not be better to allow an up and coming manager to cut his teeth at inter-county management with the current crop of young players playing "died with their boots" on football - ie attack focused as much as defense focused and see what the future holds?

On a side note - I think the continuing policy of Tyrone GAA not speaking to RTE is negatively impacting everybody associated with GAA but has a particularly negative impact on the people associated with the greater Tyrone GAA family. I think the message has been firmly delivered at this stage. There is more class and dignity in accepting an error an moving on than continuing a point of principle needlessly. Perhaps the motivation is the theme of "us" and everybody else!

Finally - Some goal by Con O'Callaghan but how did Tyrone only foul twice, TWICE in the entire first half against Dublin!?.

dabandit (Carlow) - Posts: 6 - 06/09/2017 17:27:25    2043529

I was of the opinion a fresh voice might work wonders in Tyrone, but part of me is still delighted to see Mickey afforded the level of respect he deserves.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/09/2017 17:55:40    2043537

Replying To The_Fridge:  "they may well have. Maybe in 3 years they can apply for the job. But Mickey has been given a 3 year contract. You can sit in your armchair criticising Mickey while turning up for big games in Croke Park. However we both know you have supported Tyrone and tyrones sytle of play in the past.
I've a question. If Tyrone win the all Ireland with Mickey will you admit you are wrong?"
if they don't, will you be saying give him another 3years. 10yrs with no all Ireland and plenty of talent wasted would suggest something isn't right or should we be saying honestly that we just aren't good enough

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 06/09/2017 18:08:38    2043546

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "Tony Donnelly and Fergal McCann left in 2014, shortly after we were comprehensively beaten by Armagh in a 2nd round qualifier in Omagh. Whatever anyone's thoughts on Mickey, you must be the only man in Tyrone who yearns for a return to those halcyon days..."
but why did they leave, was there difference of opinion and it's my way or no way?

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 06/09/2017 18:14:14    2043551

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Credible evidence. Ok. A direct quote from you "Tyrone have scored 4 Goals and 35 Points in their last 3 league games.

Stop flip flopping from side to side when it suits your agenda."
You have brought that same quote up several times to try and prove your point.

I have explained it before and you purposefully take it out of context to try to back up a very weak argument of yours.

It's getting a bit pathetic.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 06/09/2017 18:48:22    2043566

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Credible evidence. Ok. A direct quote from you "Tyrone have scored 4 Goals and 35 Points in their last 3 league games.

Stop flip flopping from side to side when it suits your agenda."
Ouch wally

You're on the ropes here

Need a big effort to come back and get a knockout blow from here

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/09/2017 18:48:38    2043567

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Micky Harte voted back in for 3 years."
what was the vote, how many clubs for, how many against, and did all those clubs have meetings called to discuss the point of a new manager or was it the same club reps voting for mh as per usual off their own bat

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 06/09/2017 19:24:48    2043584

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "absolutely brilliant news...fantastic outcome for tyrone football...all the begrudgers and haters put back in their place and of course rte..."
sounds like you have an affection for mh, people have a right to voice an opinion but in tyrone you are crucified if you don't worship the ground he walks. 10yrs of no all Ireland but every year it's this is our year but the status quo continues, happy to win a pre season McKenna cup letting a few boys think they are in with a chance but once the lads get a bit of rest it's back to the bench with you where you belong as for rte yes mh has a right to be off with them, but this silly mind games with players free to speak to them if they wish knowing if they do speak to rte it's cheerio doesn't wash. how many more skilful players will be brought in and strangled into a system that hasn't produced an ai from 08? are the fans in tyrone deluded in thinking they are genuine contenders playing the same system that hasn't produced

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 06/09/2017 19:34:45    2043592

Replying To The_Fridge:  "You're right about Brolly. Horrible, egotistical little man. I wish he would go and manage Dungiven for a year see how he gets on.
That's s good point. Is there a better manager in Tyrone than Mickey Harte. No. Try telling that to some people. So why replace him."
no other manager would have been allowed to stay on without the success

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 06/09/2017 19:46:30    2043597

Replying To bulmccabe:  "what was the vote, how many clubs for, how many against, and did all those clubs have meetings called to discuss the point of a new manager or was it the same club reps voting for mh as per usual off their own bat"
I don't have a clue Bul to be honest.
But I'm sure all rules were followed.
You could contact the county board or your club rep for info.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/09/2017 19:47:16    2043599

If he's been given another 3 years then there's nothing to do but get on with it. The question I would ask is " why did they only give him one year last time " ?
No doubt a decade ago things were a whole lot different in Tyrone and MH was flying high but then again maybe that team was simply full of far better players who don't come along that often and playing a system that hadn't been properly worked out yet.
Those days are in the past but perhaps some people are still living in the past.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/09/2017 19:47:32    2043600