Cavan v Westmeath

so if we beat Westmeath and Monaghan beat Armagh We have a 25% change of meeting Armagh again. in round 2.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/06/2014 17:02:39    1609047

We're destined to meet Armagh again on July 12th, the heart of the marching season. Hope we manage to re-route them this time.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 25/06/2014 17:27:33    1609057

This is going to be a very tricky game! With the atmosphere around the game quite low, following the lame performance against Armagh, the players must perform on Saturday. After Cavan's progression in the last years, it is vital and very important that Cavan get themselves through to the next round! The teams in Group A of the qualifiers are much stronger than Group B, and getting out of this side is going to be extremely hard. Hopefully the players can perform! Does anyone know how training has being going? I presume Mackey will not be fit, but does anyone know what kind of team will be played. The players in the squad must be used, as the team were static and lacking in ideas in Athletic Grounds. Hoping it will be a open game, away from the 13 men behind the ball. Wish the players and management the very best.

captaincavan (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 26/06/2014 12:43:24    1609334

1 Conor Gilsenan
2 Jason Mac Laughlin
3 Rory Dunne
4 Alan Clarke
5 Joshua Hayes
6 James McEnroe
7 Robert Maloney-Derham
8 Damien O Reilly
9 Gearoid McKiernan
10 Michael Argue
11 Michael Lyng
12 Niall McDermott
13 Jack Brady
14 David Givney
15 Martin Reilly

Mr.Benson (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 26/06/2014 21:54:15    1609653

Again, a few surprise additions and omissions in the team selected. For some, it seems to be harder to get off this team than on it, regardless of current form. While it's nice to see some fresh faces, would these changes have been made if Flanagan and McVeety were available?

Thought some of the Juniors might have been promoted, but it's early days for them given the final was only won this week. Hopefully we'll go on a bit of a run from here and open an opportunity for some of them.

In any case, these 15 lads will wear the blue jersey tomorrow and as always will have our best wishes and support. In many ways this is a defining game in terms of our recent progress. We need to win this to keep the forward push.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 27/06/2014 09:37:20    1609699

Keating injured or dropped?

Culchieboyo (UK) - Posts: 19 - 27/06/2014 10:56:32    1609757

Would have to agree with a lot of what ONTHEFORTY says. I wonder is this the team that starts or are we back to playing "mind games". Strange that Keating doesent start but he may be injured. Mackey will be a huge loss as he is the attacking fulcrum of our team for the last year or so. But Lyng will give us a bit of guile and Argue will be a big plus. Josh Hayes wont let the team down either.
I would have thought the form of Moynagh and Tinnelly in particular would have got them a starting berth. Also Paul O'Connor would have been a better scoring option than Jack Brady!! A fair few players need to up their game. No more excuses!!!
But it could be a defining game in our season. We have to come out fighting and abandon the ultra defensive mode. Get back to playing our natural game. Remember the 2nd half against Kerry last year. These young players have the talent it just needs to be pushed in the right direction.
Good luck to Terry and all the lads. Hoping to be there to cheer them on.

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 27/06/2014 11:29:25    1609779

Its just not the same as Ulster championship. What I would give to be playing Monaghan this weekend, but anyway, maybe another day........As for tomorrow,

Few new faces, RMD, Joshua Hayes, both obviously going well in training, but Josh had a good league so he deserves a crack at championship football. I do however wonder where the scores will come from. No Dunne, no Keating, and no Mackey. Thats a crippling loss right there with those 3 fellas missing. You'd imagine O'Connor or Enda Reilly would get a call up.

I notice Martin Reilly is in the inside forward line, glad to see this as I think he's at his best there, took Derry apart last year from that position.

This game will tell us all we need to know as fans. Was last year a flash in the pan? Can management change the style we play?

Best of luck to the lads.

BELIEVE

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 27/06/2014 11:48:52    1609807

I'm glad it's not another Ulster team Cavan are playing in the Qualifiers, most dogged teams to play against..Cavan showed in the League final that can play attacking football, Armagh obviously saw that and and had a plan in place - obviously being without Mackey didn't help things for Cavan

good luck to Cavan tomorrow

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 27/06/2014 12:03:28    1609821

What's the story with Givney at Full Forward - the only way that will work if you can isolate him and his marker and put in the high ball. Putting low balls in to him as if he was Martin Dunne didn't work against Armagh.

I hope McDermott takes all the frees. I'm expecting a big game from him and Argue. I assume Martin Reilly is in the full forward line to do some scoring. If that's the case, the defensive system must be out the window ! Hip Hip Hooray !

No Mackey either, he was ball watching for the goal against Armagh; and Keating who played his best football in the early rounds of the McKenna Cup; eg Monaghan game, is definitely off-form if he's not injured.

Let's hope the squad have the quality to get over Westmeath to give these other guys a chance to get back to where they should be.

I'll tell ya one thing, Westmeath will surely try to rattle our lads in the 1st couple of minutes. On second thoughts, I don't think they will - they're in a very bad place, don't think they'll recover for a few years !

My view is "Go out and play football, enjoy it, knock in a few goals, and you won't need a plan B"

Cabhain Abu

Jampot (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 27/06/2014 12:40:18    1609861

Cavan Slasher the game was in Breffni last saturday Cavan won 5-10 to 2-8 or near that score and the 2nd half was a bruising affair with several 'arguments' sorted in manly ways before ref cut it short with 5 m left. Is there something in the Water over there. Good luck tomorrow think Cavan will win 6+

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 27/06/2014 12:55:49    1609876

Paul O Connor had a good game agaisnt a vey poor Wexford team, largely anonymous against Louth and Longford. Not sure of all the hype there about why he is not in the team. players are obviously playing well or not so well in training to be starting like Givney and Keating, they are not selected for the craic

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 27/06/2014 16:53:10    1610054

Well who ever lined out team must have been doing it for the crack, or wasn't at the last few Cavan match's,, hopefully it changes a lot by tomorrow,, some players might be playing well at training but there performances in the last few Cavan games was under average to say the least, all this talk about the big panel we have yet the same names does be on the starting team sheet no matter how poor they played in previous games,from the juniors id take Moynagh, Tinnely, and enda reilly straight into the starting line up,, Tom Hayes should be at least on the bench, we have 2 midfielders in the forwards and a defender in midfield, i was hoping they learned there lesson about the blanket defence but judging by the line up im afraid we are in for another day of low scoring, and a poor game to watch,, hopefully im wrong and that isnt the way the actuall starting team is lined out!!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 27/06/2014 17:40:57    1610083

Can't see Martin Reilly playing in the full forward line. Lyng and himself will be the main links between defence and attack in the absence of Mackey.

JimmyJamJar (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 27/06/2014 17:41:07    1610084

Ned stormcrow- Martin Reilly in the inside forward against Derry? When did that happen. We was in the half forward line like he was all year.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 27/06/2014 17:43:36    1610086

Is Cavan the new "Sleepy Hollow"?
Not a post since after 5pm yesterday and a massive game on today.
Do I detect a sense of severe negativity around the Cavan team and supporters?
I know the Armagh defeat and the manner of it left many disappointed and disillusioned with both team and management but come on lads liven up.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/06/2014 11:34:25    1610256

Cavan_Slasher

Is Cavan the new "Sleepy Hollow"?
Not a post since after 5pm yesterday and a massive game on today.
Do I detect a sense of severe negativity around the Cavan team and supporters?
I know the Armagh defeat and the manner of it left many disappointed and disillusioned with both team and management but come on lads liven up.

I'll be honest with you slasher, but personally I've had the enthusiasm knocked out of me after the last two performances. One match where a trophy and a league title was at stake, the other was Ulster championship. Severely disappointed in both performances, it was like the bad old days all over again.

It's hard to get the motivation up for the qualifiers I think, just not the same as Ulster championship! Nonetheless, I'll be there supporting the team later, as I always do.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 28/06/2014 11:53:13    1610267

I can understand that Ned.
The manner of the defeats to Roscommon and especially Armagh were hard to take. I remember leaving both venues thinking that we are not making headway at all. This was a bit like the way I felt last year at half-time in Croke Park against Kerry. It is now certainly a test of the management and players today. No excuses.

Anyway, COME ON CAVAN.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/06/2014 12:23:31    1610278

HT and the team that hasn't won a game in 2014 lead by a point

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 28/06/2014 15:56:04    1610361

Full time and the team that play in Division 1 lost.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 28/06/2014 19:25:49    1610469