Cavan v Westmeath

Breffiniguide
* played

Happy? Convinced ?

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 28/06/2014 20:27:10    1610494

Decent display I thought. We should have put them away when 7 points up but we messed around in our own back line too much. Most of the trouble we got ourselves into was through individual errors, not a lack of ability or skill, so there's room there to improve. Westmeath are no push overs and we bounced back with a win.

The strength of the panel was also illustrated. Maloney Dernham, Lyng, Argue and Hayes came in and all did very well. I'd hoot to avoid Armagh and the Rossies now and get Kildare/Meath or Clare.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 28/06/2014 20:48:29    1610512

Wouldn't be overly confident with today's performance cause come this draw Monday going to be very tough the like of the rossies,Tyrone,Meath/kildare,armagh/monaghan, down ,Clare and Carlow and the chances of not getting the like of Tyrone and that are low so I'm expecting a very tough draw for us

Cavan_COYBIB (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 28/06/2014 21:11:01    1610528

Breffni guide were you at the same game i was at,, we were lucky to beat a very poor Westmeath side who hasnt won a game this year, our forward were playing as backs and our back was attacking as forwards.its worst its getting, I bet every other team is hoping to get us in the draw

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 28/06/2014 21:12:22    1610530

was glad with the win and hopefully get a good draw monday morning what did yis think of the monaghan armagh game

cavan.wanderer (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 28/06/2014 21:39:58    1610550

goonie
Breffni guide were you at the same game i was at,, we were lucky to beat a very poor Westmeath side who hasnt won a game this year, our forward were playing as backs and our back was attacking as forwards.its worst its getting, I bet every other team is hoping to get us in the draw

That "very poor" Westmeath team were a Division One team this year and will be in the same division as us next year. They haven't won a game this year but they haven't exactly had the easiest of opponents either. Our backs were attacking as forwards? We scored 1-15 and two points came from the half back line who you'd expect to chip in with a couple.

You were unhappy with the team selection before the game but the 4 lads who came in did very well. People forget we won 4 Ulster All Stars last year and not one of them started yesterday. 2 only came on for the last few minutes.

It was a qualifier and we got over the line. That's all you need to do. I'd be more worried if we had played fantastically and won by a point. We made plenty of errors that can be worked on but the bottom line is the result and that was a win. People in Cavan seem happy to be negative about our team. It annoys me. Look at Roscommon or Meath. They talk up their teams. It's about time we in Cavan did the same.

Well done to the lads yesterday and I look forward to the next round.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 29/06/2014 09:02:53    1610574

Great to get the win yesterday. The team is still learning and every win is valuable.

Was happy with Gilsenans overall performance. A great save and steady kickouts. 1 moment of madness in last few minutes which needs to be coached out of him quick! Not a free taker. Martin Reilly is well able to take long range frees.

Thought McLoughlin was the best of our full back line. But what happened with the goal?? Who didn't follow their man in?? This has happened before and simply cant keep happening.

Half back line was solid enough though McEnroe allowed the middle to open up too easily.

The overall comment I'd have about our backs is that we need an escape plan from those short kickouts. No point securing primary possession if its leaving a man isolated or under pressure.

Midfield did well. Argue to move there next day alongside Gearoid.

Lyng was impressive. Not all went his way but he busted a gut all day. And was the brain in the forward line.
McDermott had a great game and deserved his goal.

Givney is not a full forward but I thought he did well. I'd play him in the half forward line where Argue played yesterday.

Jack Brady had the best game I've seen him have for Cavan working off very little ball. He gets smothered further out the field and had a big more space in the corner yesterday.

Mackeys link play was sorely missed and hopefully he is fully fit ASAP. Himself and Keating had a good impact.

Need to kill off teams when on top! Another few "brains" required. Thought McKeever may have come in earlier for that.

Something still missing overall to take us to that next level but I think we're getting there. The big task was to respond to the Roscommon and Armagh setbacks and i thought for such a young group we did that well. Dont think anyone will fear is in the draw but maybe that's the best position to be in. Here's to another long summer!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 29/06/2014 09:28:50    1610589

BreffniGuide

goonie

That "very poor" Westmeath team were a Division One team this year and will be in the same division as us next year. They haven't won a game this year but they haven't exactly had the easiest of opponents either. Our backs were attacking as forwards? We scored 1-15 and two points came from the half back line who you'd expect to chip in with a couple.

You were unhappy with the team selection before the game but the 4 lads who came in did very well. People forget we won 4 Ulster All Stars last year and not one of them started yesterday. 2 only came on for the last few minutes.

It was a qualifier and we got over the line. That's all you need to do. I'd be more worried if we had played fantastically and won by a point. We made plenty of errors that can be worked on but the bottom line is the result and that was a win. People in Cavan seem happy to be negative about our team. It annoys me. Look at Roscommon or Meath. They talk up their teams. It's about time we in Cavan did the same.

Well done to the lads yesterday and I look forward to the next round.

Talk up the team? We are the worst offenders of talking ourselves up, we think we are better than we actually are. We are the equivalent to the English soccer team!

Jim_Shorts (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 29/06/2014 10:53:20    1610621

A win is a win, so well done to the lads and management for that. It was badly needed to stop the rot that had set in. Plenty of errors and concentration is an issue, but look, we're through and hopefully we'll improve.

First half I thought we picked up where we left off in Armagh, more of the same slow build up sideways football. Westmeath deserved their lead at half time. They were the better team in the first half.

Then for the first 15-20 minutes of the second half I thought we were excellent. We played as good of football as we have ever done. Scores were suddenly easy to come by and we were making it look simple. Why? Because the shackles were off and we attacked at pace and with purpose, I think we rattled off about 1-05 or so in that period and we were well on top.

We have a problem killing teams off however. It was reminiscent of the div3 final when we were 0-07 to 0-02 points up, cruising, and then let Roscommon back into it. We got punished that day, and we damn near got punished yesterday.

Thought for the second game in a row that McEnroe was excellent defensively, gives everything and is a good leader to have out there, deserves a shot at the captaincy! McLoughlin defended well also, and Hayes was good going forward, even kicked a score we badly needed at the time. Thought RMD did well too. Up front Jack Brady had a good second half, McDermott I thought had a good game, him and Gearoid were involved in a lot of the things when we had our good spell!

Much to work on and a lot to improve, but we showed glimpses yesterday of what we are capable of!

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 29/06/2014 11:49:27    1610651

Well we put the wheels back on the wagon yesterday evening and showed huge improvement from the Armagh game, fair play to the management they seem to have got the lads in and did the work. It was no star performance but good overall. Our midfield worked hard, defence looked solid throughout except for the goal , someone was asleep! Full backs specially Dunne and Mc Loughlin very solid , half back line worked hard and kept pressure on Westmeath the whole game and got forward to create scores. Half forward line were top notch I was very impressed with all 3 of them. David Givney is wasted in FF line and Martin Reilly is wasted playing as a sweeper, we need him up front to get scores. Can't understand the continued omission of some players and favouritism shown to others. Well done all, hope for the rub of the green now in next round and who knows?

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 29/06/2014 12:09:10    1610664

So, after debacle in Armagh, the fans were expecting free flowing attacking football from the team. Would the management take off the shackles & let them express themselves. Unfortunately the first half was the same sideways passing & slow build up play. We played for 15 minutes in 2nd half & won the game despite nearly coughing up a 7 point lead, luckily Hessian missed that relatively score-able free or we were looking at a draw. Right, we won. But Christ i thought we had no threat in the inside forward line what so ever. Jack Brady, yes he got 3 points i think, 2 of which when we were cruising. Got blocked down when we badly needed a score or even kill the ball which lead to a point at the other end. Inside line of Givney & Brady on numerous times just stood there & pointed left or right looking for the ball. No movement. Lyng did well at times & got some good scores. Good Inter county forwards must make 2 or maybe 3 runs to make space for a pass, even more so when there is a sweeper in front. McKiernan was quiet by his so call standards, didn't catch much ball. Jason McLoughlin played well, got a hand in whenever possible & was tight. Dunne didn't seem to be involved a whole pile but that isn't always a negative once his man is kept at bay. Why can we not let in long quick ball to the forwards, why can we not kick a 50 yard pass into a player who runs into space. Martin Reilly hit a peach of a long pass in the first half, we need more of that, he is wasted playing as a sweeper. Nobody bursts by a player with pace or power, we see an opposing player ahead of us & we shovel the ball off to somebody else. Take responsibility yourself & drive at them. Holy god what do we be doing in training since December. Lack of pace & penetration. Alot of errors to be cut out.

just_the_facts (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 29/06/2014 13:25:49    1610692

James McEnroe MOM one of the few to turn up against Armagh as well, great to see him in the centre!

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 29/06/2014 13:26:26    1610693

McEnroe is a very good footballer, he was very solid with the U21s in 2010 from Centre back.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 29/06/2014 14:01:15    1610716

Talk up the team? We are the worst offenders of talking ourselves up, we think we are better than we actually are. We are the equivalent to the English soccer team!

Well I never see much talking up on here. We beat a team that played in Division One team yesterday missing 5/6 starters from last year. All I heard after the game from people was how poor we were. The same on here yesterday. At least a few realists are posting now who realise the improvements from the last two years.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 29/06/2014 14:44:33    1610728

Its not negative talk BreffniGuide it called saying it as it is,the only negativity comes from the way our team are being asked to play.

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 29/06/2014 15:50:26    1610767

Cavan_COYBIB

Wouldn't be overly confident with today's performance cause come this draw Monday going to be very tough the like of the rossies,Tyrone,Meath/kildare,armagh/monaghan, down ,Clare and Carlow and the chances of not getting the like of Tyrone and that are low so I'm expecting a very tough draw for us

In tomorrows draw Cavan can only get Clare, Roscommon, Kildare or the losers of Armagh/Monaghan.
Clare would be the dream draw obviously, Roscommon id say would be a 50/50 clash, Kildare would more than likely beat us, and maybe we could be drawn against Armagh if they lose the replay against Monaghan.!
Cavan will be playing one of these teams on July 12th, so imagine the crack a rematch with Armagh would be on that date! There wont be a parade in a qualifier i think but the PSNI may be on standby with the water cannon!

qwert (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 29/06/2014 16:01:48    1610778

goonie

Its not negative talk BreffniGuide it called saying it as it is,the only negativity comes from the way our team are being asked to play.

Our team are playing to their strengths. We have no standout forwards bar Keating and Dunne who weren't on the pitch yesterday. We get to get behind the lads ahead of the next round. We were missing 6/7 starters and should have won by more. Westmeath may be on a bad run but they are no push overs.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 29/06/2014 18:55:57    1610899

A win is a win but we have to stop the tipping and tapping in the back line as it almost cost us yesterday. There are times for the hand pass and times to kick and clear our lines. I thought Martin Reilly played very well yesterday with some telling passes. Givney is not doing it for me. Young Argue will be a great player in time. The fullback line looked a bit dodgy at times but Westmeath have good forwards.
Hope we get Clare or Armagh/Monaghan.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/06/2014 19:22:27    1610912

Tell us what way Cavan should play Goonie? If you think Cavan should play like the Dubs then you are deluded.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 29/06/2014 19:29:25    1610918

Look, nobody is deluded Fools gold. Fans are entitled to an opinion, remember that is all it is, an opinion, if you're forking out your hard earned money in these times to support our county team, you deserve to have a view and not to be called deluded or anything else. We're all Cavan fans here, and we all want the same objective.

Nobody is asking that we play like Dublin. That is out of the question. Meath or Monaghan are more of a template we should adapt, IN MY OPINION :)

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 29/06/2014 20:01:32    1610955