Cavan v Westmeath

Time to get the ball rolling on this one I suppose....after the Armagh game, this has become a potentially significant game in the context of the development of this Cavan team. Could be a great chance to start a qualifier run, but if we lose to a team that has lost their last 11 matches, it would be a pretty bad thing. What's the feeling out there?

declando (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 16/06/2014 11:02:53    1604324

so you didn't notice the curiously titled Cavan v weathmeath thread which was already up and running then.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 16/06/2014 13:52:45    1604498

No I didn't, I'm massively sorry S Goldrick

declando (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 16/06/2014 14:48:55    1604541

rather disgraceful on the part of the county board to cancel the league fixtures over the weekend to accommadate whom i wonder??

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 16/06/2014 14:52:42    1604545

It wasnt the county board who wanted the games cancelled. The players had a meeting and decided they didnt wanna play. Tere da disgrace!

Dara10 (Cavan) - Posts: 404 - 17/06/2014 10:01:34    1604847

They must have had a meeting before the Armagh game and decided not to play that game either...???

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 17/06/2014 17:54:58    1605222

it seems dara mc veety wont be available, hes decided to head to boston for the rest of the summer

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 18/06/2014 11:00:37    1605419

3 weeks ago we were all picking our starting 15 with gusto, now all quiet. Hard to know where to start but:

Gilsenan

McLoughlin
Dunne
Hayes (full back line still picks itself)

D OReilly
Clarke
Maloney-Derham (with instructions to carry)

McEnroe (with instructions to sit)
Givney

Argue (with instructions to carry)
Mackey
GMac

M Reilly (playing deeper)

McDermott
Keating

Looks pretty strong to me. GMC not fit for midfield yet - I would throw McEnroe to toughen things up a bit

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 18/06/2014 17:09:16    1605664

Where are you going with instructions to carry? Did you not see how that worked running up the wing and gettin turned over against Armagh? Tinnely a better option on wing can give and get a pass Agree Mc Enroe could be the midfield option. What is wrong that players are leaving this team so easily to go to America have they no belief in what they signed up to, or are the Cavan management sittin back saying we have enough done sure we are guaranteed another year in place anyway. Veery depressing stuff . Fair play to the neighbours they have pushed on in every way, really looked like a team on an upward slant in Clones last weekend.

cfsm2012 (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 18/06/2014 17:48:09    1605686

Where are you going with instructions to carry?

Eh, put the right player on the ball in space and carrying works- is that not what Mackey did to great effect against Armagh last year?
You cannot go long every time- Our problem is not carrying per se, its the aimless running around that doesn't work!

Clarke, McLoughlin, McEnroe, and O'Reilly, Flanagan etc need to work the ball to strike runners (Mackey, Argue, Mal-Der) or kickers (McKiernan, Givney) much quicker. This 5 lateral passes between lads uncomfortable on the ball has to stop.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 18/06/2014 18:03:44    1605697

Personally I dont think the problem is the personnell, i really think the system has to be changed. Take a look at Monaghan how they played against Donegal in Croke Pk and against Tyrone 2 weeks ago.
Similar defensive system to ours but breaking forward towards goal, no lateral or sideways passing. They break forward quicker and always get the scorers like McManus or Hughes on a 0ne on one.
So we need to use Mackey, Mc Kiernan, D.Reilly going forward running at the defence and releasing the ball to Keating, Mc Dermott quicker.
You dident have to be a genius to know what Armagh were going to do !! And it was so dissapointing that we dident change our game plan.
I would go for a few changes for the Westmeath game. Moynagh in to centreback, Argue to midfield and O'Connor to full forward.
Hayes should come in at corner back - dont know why he was left off against Armagh.
With the right tactics I think this team will beat Westmeath.
By the way congrats to Eddie the exile and the Monaghan lads. Go on now and try and bring the Big one home.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 19/06/2014 13:54:37    1606015

I heard westmeath played armagh in challenge during the week
any report from it?

Mr.Benson (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 19/06/2014 18:11:29    1606196

think Armagh where beating Westmeath well, westmeath came back,but lost by 2,3 points, dont know if this is the full story, i can see Cavan beating Westmeath in Breffnni, wont be easy, but at home,and Cavan s young players should get over the line,

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 19/06/2014 21:51:23    1606267

Westmeath played Armagh in a challenge before the ulster championship tie about 3 weeks ago in Mullingar.
Armagh were winning by a big margin but made a lot of substitutions and ran out winners by a few points.
Surely they didn't play them again.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 20/06/2014 08:14:04    1606276

Has any time been announced for this game yet?

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 21/06/2014 14:06:30    1606754

No, or a date. Could be Saturday or Sunday..

SS1 (Cavan) - Posts: 196 - 21/06/2014 15:18:04    1606777

There has been a date it's on 28th next Saturday no time confirmed yet wonder will rte broadcast it only cavan v Westmeath and Tyrone v Louth are stand out fixtures in 1b

Cavan_COYBIB (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 21/06/2014 17:07:57    1606799

Any word of challenge games played.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 22/06/2014 09:41:03    1606983

Bookies have us odds on but I wouldn't be so sure.
Need to put in a commanding performance!

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 22/06/2014 09:44:41    1606984

Interesting game ahead on Saturday, it will answer a few questions 1. Has management learned there lesson from the last 2 games. 2. Will the correct players be selected 3. Will the style and tactic we play be changed to allow a more attacking faster play up front were players recieve the ball quicker and take on a shot or 4. will it be the same old style we seen in the last few matches defend and run up field with the ball till they get to the 40 line and play the ball across to each other until the defense has reformed. Westmeath has a good few who headed for America so that is a bonus. Hopefully the championship starts Saturday for us !

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 22/06/2014 19:17:45    1607285