FBD League final: Mayo cruise to back to back titles

January 28, 2012

NUIG's David Gavin and Gary Sweeney tackle Pat Harte of Mayo during the FBD FL final ©INPHO/James Crombie
Mayo will be jetting off to New York again after they defeated NUIG by 0-14 to 0-04.

In what turned out to be a one-sided contest, Mayo were in complete control, particular in the second half when they held the students to a single point at Castlebar. Mayo manager James Horan had stated before the game that playing under lights would be beneficial to them ahead of the NFL and he will be pleased by his side's performance.

Last year's vice captain Andy Moran returned to the starting line up for the first time since he recovered from a broken leg and he looked impressive, finishing the match with three points to his credit.

The students were the first to score when Leitrim's Shane Moran scored a point, but by the 12th minute Mayo were in front after Alan Freeman hit his second free of the evening and they were to retain the lead for the remainder of the match.

Freeman and Mayo native Neil Douglas exchanged points before the county team hit four unanswered points in the next few minutes. Andy Moran (2) and Conor Mortimer (2) tormenting NUIG's rearguard.

The visitors stopped the rot with a fine point from Fionn O' Deasmhunaigh but Moran hit his third just before the break to leave it 0-8 to 0-3 at half time.

NUIG hit the opening score of the second half through O'Deasmhunaigh, but this was to be their last score of the game as Mayo went into cruise control.

The impressive Mortimer, who top scored with 0-5, Barry Moran and Kevin McLoughlin all hit points to stretch their lead before Mortimer hit a further two scores to make it 0-13 to 0-4 at the 50th minute mark.

The final score of the match came from Lee Keegan as Horan's charges ran out convincing winners on the evening.

Mayo - D Clarke; K Higgins, G Cafferkey, L Keegan (0-1); P Gardiner, D Vaughan, R Feeney; B Moran (0-1), A O'Shea; K McLoughlin (0-1), A Dillon, P Harte; A Freeman (0-3), A Moran (0-3), C Mortimer (0-5). Subs - S O'Shea for O'Shea; C O'Connor for Moran; E O'Reilly for Cafferkey; C Boyle for R Feeney; E Regan for Freeman.

NUIG - D O'Sullivan; L Healy, D Gavin, K McDonald; J Moore, G Sweeney, R Kiely; S Guing, S Moran (0-1); F Deasmhunaigh (0-2), S Gilmartin, K Conroy; N Douglas (0-1), J Doherty, I Galvin. Subs - R Rochford for Gavin; C Griffin for Guing; K Conlon for Conroy; D Newcombe for Kiely; S McWeeney for Sweeney.

Most Read Stories