Westmeath SFC final: St Loman's triumph over Tyrrellspass in extra-time

September 27, 2020

St Lomans' John Heslin celebrates after scoring a late free. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

St Loman's 0-17

Tyrrellspass 2-9

(After extra-time)

St Loman's got their hands on the Flanagan Cup for the fifth time in eight years at TEG Cusack Park today when overcoming Tyrrellspass in a dramatic extra-time contest in the Westmeath SFC final.

A stoppage-time goal from substitute Evan Connell looked to have snatched Tyrrellspass an unlikely victory from the jaws of defeat but St Loman's refused to panic as John Heslin levelled matters in the dying seconds to force extra-time. Scorer of 0-8 on the day, Heslin's free left the scoreboard reading St Loman's 0-12, Tyrrellspass 2-6 at the end of the regulation period. Even at half-time the sides were inseparable at 0-6 to 1-3, Ger Egan supplied Tyrrellspass first major via the penalty spot on 18 minutes.

In extra-time, substitute Kevin Regan sent over the bar to edge St Loman's in front at the break and Heslin and Ronan O'Toole tagged on further points on the resumption to carry them over the line.

St Loman’s - J Daly; P Dowdall, D O’Keeffe, D Whelan; K Reilly (0-1), R Jones, C O’Donoghue; S Flanagan, F Ayorinde; C Reilly, R O’Toole (0-3), S McCartan (0-1); P Foy (0-2), J Heslin (0-8, 5f), F O’Hara (0-1). Subs: R Sheahan for C Reilly, K Regan (0-1) for R Jones, E Gaffney for F O’Hara, S Kelly for C O’Donoghue.

Tyrrellspass - D Quinn; J Corcoran, J Gonoud, S Quinn; V Sizychas, N Harte, C Slevin; D Lynam, Denis Glennon; A O’Brien (0-2), A Flanagan (0-1), D McNicholas (0-1); K Geraghty, David Glennon, G Egan (1-5, 1-0pen, 0-4f). Subs: B Slevin for V Sizychas, T Ryan for K Geraghty, C Rigney for C Slevin, E Connell (1-0) for David Glennon, C Dunne for C Rigney, M Geraghty for A O’Brien, P Sheridan for A Flanagan.

Referee - P Fox.

Most Read Stories