Lidl Teams of the 2021 Ladies National Football Leagues revealed

July 06, 2021

Dublin's Martha Byrne with Méabh Cahalane and Daire Kiely of Cork ©INPHO/Brian Reilly-Troy

The Lidl Teams of the 2021 Ladies National Football Leagues – selected by the Ladies Gaelic Football Association’s All Star committee – have been revealed.

Runners-up Cork lead the way on the Division 1 selection, with six players selected.

Champions Dublin have five players in the Team of the League, and there are four slots for semi-finalists Donegal.

In total, there are five survivors from the 2019 selection, with Cork trio Shauna Kelly, Melissa Duggan and Orla Finn included again in the 2021 team, along with Dublin’s Martha Byrne and Donegal’s Karen Guthrie.

Erika O’Shea, Ciara O’Sullivan and Sadhbh O’Leary are the other Cork players who earn spots on the team this time, while Byrne is joined by Dublin team-mates Abby Shiels, Olwen Carey, Jennifer Dunne and Hannah Tyrrell.

Along with Guthrie, Donegal are represented by Evelyn McGinley, Katy Herron and Geraldine McLaughlin on the 2021 Lidl Team of the League.

Champions Meath lead the way on the Division 2 selection, with eight players included.

Goalkeeper Monica McGuirk, Emma Troy (Division 2 Final Player of the Match), Aoibhín Cleary, Máire O’Shaughnessy, Vikki Wall, Niamh O’Sullivan, Stacey Grimes and Emma Duggan are all acknowledged for their efforts throughout the campaign.

Runners-up Kerry are represented by four players - Aislinn Desmond, Cáit Lynch, Niamh Carmody and Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh – while there are two players from semi-finalists Monaghan in the selected XV, namely Aoife McAnespie and Ellen McCarron. There’s also a place in the team for Cavan’s long-serving Sinéad Greene.

On the Division 3 team, Champions Laois have seven players named – including captain Laura Nerney and Amy Potts, Player of the Match from the Final victory over Kildare.

Runners-up Kildare follow closely behind with six players on the Division 3 team, while there is one player each from Sligo and Wicklow.

The Division 4 is made up of eight players from champions Louth, including Final Player of the Match Niamh Rice, four from Finalists Leitrim, two from Offaly and one from Limerick.

Lidl Teams of the 2021 Ladies National Football Leagues

Division 1

Abby Shiels – Dublin

Shauna Kelly – Cork

Evelyn McGinley – Donegal

Martha Byrne – Dublin

Erika O’Shea – Cork

Olwen Carey – Dublin

Melissa Duggan – Cork

Katy Herron – Donegal

Jennifer Dunne – Dublin

Hannah Tyrrell – Dublin

Ciara O’Sullivan – Cork

Orla Finn – Cork

Sadhbh O’Leary – Cork

Karen Guthrie – Donegal

Geraldine McLaughlin – Donegal

Division 2

Monica McGuirk – Meath

Emma Troy – Meath

Aislinn Desmond – Kerry

Aoife McAnespie – Monaghan

Sinéad Greene – Cavan

Aoibhín Cleary – Meath

Cáit Lynch – Kerry

Niamh Carmody – Kerry

Máire O’Shaughnessy – Meath

Vikki Wall – Meath

Ellen McCarron – Monaghan

Niamh O’Sullivan – Meath

Stacey Grimes – Meath

Emma Duggan – Meath

Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh – Kerry

Division 3

Eimear Barry – Laois

Claire Sullivan – Kildare

Amy Potts – Laois

Jacqui Mulligan – Sligo

Lauren Murtagh – Kildare

Ellen Healy – Laois

Laura Nerney – Laois

Gráinne Kenneally – Kildare

Jane Moore – Laois

Erone Fitzpatrick – Laois

Lara Curran – Kildare

Grace Clifford – Kildare

Mo Nerney – Laois

Neasa Dooley – Kildare

Marie Kealy – Wicklow

Division 4

Una Pearson – Louth

Mary Alice Maguire – Leitrim

Sinéad Tighe – Leitrim

Niamh McCarthy – Limerick

Michelle McMahon – Louth

Shannen McLaughlin – Louth

Ceire Nolan – Louth

Áine Breen – Louth

Amy Gavin Mangan – Offaly

Laura O’Dowd – Leitrim

Kate Flood – Louth

Niamh Rice – Louth

Lauren Boyle – Louth

Michelle Guckian – Leitrim

Gráinne Egan – Offaly

Most Read Stories