Ballygiblin and Easkey set for All-Ireland club JHC final date

December 18, 2022

Ballygiblin and Easkey will contest the 2023 All-Ireland club JHC final ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Ballygiblin (Cork) and Easkey (Sligo) will battle it out in next month’s All-Ireland club junior hurling championship final after coming through their respective semi-finals this afternoon.

Ballygiblin brought the current down on Wexford opponents Horsewood’s season with a 1-12 to 0-8 victory in Dungarvan.

Darragh Flynn’s goal after 19 minutes paved the path to victory for the Rebel County champions as they led by 1-5 to 0-5 at the halfway stage.

Joseph O’Sullivan (two frees) and Ryan Donegan stretched the lead after the restart and while Sean Nolan cancelled one of those scores out at the other end, it was Ballygiblin that comfortably advanced as Shane Beston, O’Sullivan, Flynn and Conor Foley rounded off their winning tally.

In Darver, it turned into a goal fest as Easkey defeated Kilburn Gaels of Britain on a 3-15 to 4-6 scoreline to punch their final ticket.

It was Kilburn that led by 3-4 to 1-6 at half-time, with a brace of goals from Mark O’Dwyer and one from Donal Reale looking to tear up the script on their opponents.

However, the men from the Yeats County got motoring in the second-half as Andy Kilcullen came to the fore for them, finishing with 2-9 (0-4 from frees) while Rory McHugh also converted a penalty for them 10 minutes into the resumption at the Louth venue.

The winners are now set to meet at Croke Park on Saturday, January 14th when All-Ireland honours will be on the line.

Most Read Stories