Connacht club SFC final: Corofin make it four-in-a-row

November 24, 2019

Corofin's Liam Silke fires in a goal against Padraig Pearses

Corofin (Galway) 1-10

Padraig Pearses (Roscommon) 0-7

Liam Silke scored the only goal as Corofin completed a four-in-a-row of Connacht club SFC titles at the expense of first-time Roscommon winners Padraig Pearses at Tuam Stadium.

Another All-Ireland semi-final beckons for Kevin O'Brien's all-conquering charges who rattled off 1-4 without reply after Pearses had drawn level in the 42nd minute to claim a 10th provincial crown. Silke's 43rd minute major couldn't have come at a better time for the back-to-back All-Ireland champions who had seen a three-point interval lead wiped out by the gutsy underdogs.

Jason Leonard and Ian Burke combined to set up Silke for the score which effectively decided the game. Michael Farragher, Leonard (two) and substitute Colin Brady followed up with points and Corofin were home and hosed.

Pearses, who had Shane and Niall Carty black-carded, finished the game with 14 men after All Star nominee Niall Daly picked up with a second yellow card with five minutes remaining.

With Leonard and Gary Sice in fine scoring form, Corofin took a 0-5 to 0-2 advantage into the break, but they knew they were in a game when three Paul Carey points drew Pat Flanagan's men level after the restart. But Corofin didn't panic and they never looked back after Silke raised the game's only green flag.

Corofin - B Power; L Silke (1-0), K Fitzgerald, C Silke; K Molloy, C Cunningham, D Wall (0-1); D Burke, R Steede (0-1); G Sice (0-2), Michael Farragher (0-2), J Leonard (0-3, 1f); M Lundy, Martin Farragher, I Burke. Subs: D McHugh for C Cunningham (BC), D Silke for M Lundy, C Brady (0-1) for C Silke, G Burke for D Wall, D Canney for R Steede, C McGrath for Martin Farragher, D Hynes for Michael Farragher.

Padraig Pearses - P Whelan; M Richardson, A Butler, S Carty; G Downey, D Murray, R Daly (0-1); N Carty, C Daly; L Daly, N Daly (0-1), P Carey (0-3, 2f); E Kelly (0-1'45), H Darcy (0-1f), C Payne. Subs: T Butler for N Carty (BC), S Fahy for E Kelly, A Duffy for S Carty (BC), S Mulvey for L Daly, J Kelly for C Payne.

Referee - E O’Grady.

Most Read Stories