McDonagh and Corbett scoop minor awards

September 28, 2019

Cork's Conor Corbett (Minor Footballer of the Year), Roscommon's Fergal O'Donnell (Special Merit Award winner) and Galway's Sean McDonagh (Minor Hurler of the Year) receive their awards.

Galway's Sean McDonagh and Conor Corbett of Cork have been named Electric Ireland Minor Hurler and Footballer of the Year respectively.

McDonagh scored 2-8 for Galway as they completed a three-in-a-row of All-Ireland MHC successes with victory over Kilkenny last month, while Corbett's haul of 1-7 helped Cork to a dramatic extra-time win over Galway in the All-Ireland MFC final. They were presented with their awards at a ceremony in Croke Park today, with the Hurling and Football Teams of the Year having been announced a few weeks ago.

“The 2019 Minor Championship season was a special one, and it is only right that the players’ commitment and hard work is recognised at today’s awards,” said Derek McGrath, Electric Ireland Minor Star Awards judge.

“The Minor Football and Hurling Teams of the Year are a showcase of the talent at this age grade, and Conor and Seán certainly highlight the elite skill level on display throughout the Championships.”

Former Roscommon player and manager Fergal O'Donnell, who led the Rossies to a famous All-Ireland MFC final replay victory over Kerry in 2006, was also honoured with the Electric Ireland Special Merit Award for his contribution to minor football.

Most Read Stories