All-Ireland club JFC: Na Gaeil and Rathgarogue-Cushinstown for final

January 11, 2020

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown's Tadhg Cody in possession.

The All-Ireland club JFC final will be a Kerry-Wexford affair after Na Gaeil and Rathgarogue-Cushinstown prevailed in today's semi-finals.

Na Gaeil needed extra-time to overcome Mayo's Kilmaine by 1-9 to 0-13 at Cusack Park in Ennis. Seeking to become the 10th Kerry winners of the competition, Na Gaeil were denied victory in normal-time by late Kilmaine points form Tomas Fahey and Adam Barrett. Scores from Dara Devine and Eoin Walsh had the Tralee men two points up in injury-time before Kilmaine drew level on 1-8 to 0-11 to force extra-time.

Michael Hession scored the game's only goal in the 12th minute, but the Munster champions weren't to be denied in extra-time as points from Dan Goggin and county star Diarmuid O'Connor got them across the line.

Rathgarogue-Cushinstown are also Croke Park-bound in a fortnight's time after edging out Monaghan's Blackhill by 1-7 to 1-6 in Newbridge after the sides had been level on 1-2 each at the break.

Tadhg Cody's 56th minute point proved to be the match winner for the Wexford Intermediate A champions.

Na Gaeil - T Culloty; R O'Neill, E Doody, D Burke; K Dineen, A Barry, F Barry; Diarmuid O'Connor (0-2), Dan O'Connor; K O'Donovan, E O'Neill, I McCarthy (0-1); D Herlihy (0-1), D Devine (0-4f), D Goggin (0-2). Subs: M Griffin (0-2) for F Barry, E Walsh (0-1) for K Dineen, J Barry for I McCarthy, D Reen for Dan O'Connor, J O'Connor for D Devine, J Lowham for D Herlihy, D Devine for M Griffin, I McCarthy for D Reen, D Herlihy for D Devine, Dan O'Connor for D Goggin.

Kilmaine - A Keady; D Mullin, D Hughes, P McDonagh; T Fahey (0-1), P Kelly, M McDonnell; M Keady, O Mullin; C Murphy (0-1), J Maloney A Barrett (0-4f); M Hession (1-1), J Mullin (0-1), C Hughes. Subs: M Mullin for M McDonnell, B Maloney for C Hughes, T McDonagh for M Hession, J McDonagh (0-1) for J Maloney, M Hession for C Murphy, B Sheridan for D Mullin, G Sheridan for P Kelly.

Referee - P Maguire.


Rathgarogue-Cushinstown - N Sinnott; P McGrath, P Cody, P Murphy; B O'Neill, E Porter, B Cody; D Martin Carroll (0-1), M Cody; B Furlong (1-0), D Bolger (0-4f), T Cody (0-1); E Cummins, R Murphy, J Dunne (0-1). Subs: A Ryan for E Cummins, O Bolger for P McGrath.

Blackhill - M Slevin; R Courtney, D Courtney, T Courtney (0-1); J Daly, S Courtney, A Courtney; H Byrne, E Daly (0-1f); P Donnelly (0-3f), G McArdle, T Geehan; J Finnegan (1-0), C Courtney, M Geehan. Subs: A Burns (0-1) for J Daly, P Finnegan for J Finnegan, J Daly (BC).

Referee - B Judge.


Most Read Stories