PFC Division 1 final: Goals central to Dunboyne title win

October 23, 2021

Dunboyne's Ronan Duggan with Ciaran McCarrick Dunshaughlin during the Meath Premier Division 1 final at Pairc Tailteann

Dunboyne claimed the Premier Football Division 1 title at Pairc Tailteann on Saturday afternoon when goals saw off a battling Dunshaughlin. Photos

Dunboyne ................ 3-10
Dunshaughlin ........... 2-10

Dunboyne strong start cushioned them against a spirited Dunshaughlin rally that trimmed the deficit to the minimum by the 38th minute.

Two Cian Gallogly points in quick succession left it 2-7 to 1-9 with Dunshaughlin backed by the wind.

An unfortunate error by Dunshaughlin 'keeper Andrew Smith allowed Paddy Conway poach his side's third goal.

Dunboyne led by 3-9 to 1-9 at the second water break as the contest seemed to be flatlining.

Conditions deteriorated in a final quarter that yielded just three scores. A Daragh Nolan point completed Dunboyne's tally in the 52nd minute.

Dunshaughlin were thrown a lifeline in the 58th minute when sub Conor Mooney was fouled and Aaron Murphy expertly netted the subsequent penalty.

A strong defence saw Dunboyne hold firm in the time remaining, including two minutes of added time.   

Dunboyne had the strong squally wind in the first-half and seemed set to dominate after Daragh Nolan and Luke Harte netted around the 11th minute.

It left the team in 'Kilkenny' jerseys 2-2 to 0-0 ahead. Aaron Murphy got Dunshaughlin off the mark and at the first water break it was 2-3 to 0-2.

Dunshaughlin outscored Dunboyne by 0-4 to 0-2 in the second quarter despite playing against the elements and trailed by 0-6 to 2-5 at half-time.

They might have been closer to the eventual winners at the break but Cathal Sheehan's 26th minute effort along the deck skimmed low and wide.

Having been eight points down after eight minutes, overhauling Dunboyne proved just beyond them.

Scorers: Dunboyne - Paddy Conway 1-3; Daragh Nolan 1-1; Luke Harte 1-0; Sean McGrath 0-2; Gavin Prior, Niall Carolan, Lorcan Conway, Ronan Duggan 0-1 each

Dunshaughlin - Aaron Murphy 1-2 (1-0; Cian Gallogly 0-3 (2fs); Danny Quinn 1-0; Wes Goodwin 0-3; Sean O'Neill, Andy Leneghan 0-1 each. 

Dunboyne - Mick O'Toole; Adam McCoy, David O'Keefe, Pauric Lavin; Niall Carolan, Dean Quinn (C), Lorcan Conway; Gavin Prior, John Finnerty; Daragh Nolan, Luke Harte, Ronan Duggan; Dan Howlin, Sean McGrath, Paddy Conway. Subs - Jack Cox for Harte (26), Killian Smith for Duggan (37), Sean O'Rourke for Conway (49).

Dunshaughlin - Andrew Smith; Jared Rushe, James Traynor, Aidan Fraher; Niall Byrne (C), Cian Gallogly, Ciaran McCarrick; Cathal Sheehan, Sean O'Neill; Andy Leneghan, Danny Quinn, Josh Wall; Wes Goodwin, Caoimhin King, Aaron Murphy. Subs - Jack Hetherington for Leneghan (37), Mark Devaney for Quinn (49), Conor Mooney for Fraher (52), Colm Keane for Sheehan (59).

Referee - Henri Clifford (Ballivor)

Most Read Stories