Graham Reilly

Replying To Barney123:  "Jesus RD you were the one that was telling us he was injured then. Make up your mind.

Nearly as bad as the time you claimed biggy was involved in 40% or 50% of every score Meath got in the championship and then couldn't back it up."
Can I ask why you have not wished a man well who has given so much to Meath football from minor to senior , Meath player of the year winner, nominated for young player of the year in country and a all star. It would be very classless of a so called Meath supporter to not wish someone who has done all that well in his departure. Yet not a squeak from yourself. Perhaps list your own achievements for Meath??
I'll give you one to start with.
1, insult players who have done more for county than you ever could dream of.
2???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/11/2019 23:22:41    2250258

Now that Graham Reilly is gone from that panel I hope we can be spared Royal Dunne's antics regarding him. Look he was supremely talented. Burst on the season in 2010. He had great games, he was a good Meath senior but always felt like he could be better. I guess unfairly he was put into the position as the player we relied on but he didn't deliver on it in our bigger games. Personally I never liked his attitude without the ball and he never seemed to be as fit as he should have been. And I don't think it's a coincidence that the first year without him as a nailed on starter was last year and our team took off. So fair play to him for giving 10 years of his life to the Meath seniors. Might become more rare these days. But I amn't sad that he is leaving the panel either if that makes sense

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1452 - 19/11/2019 07:26:31    2250269

Lets keep this discussion as a recognition of one of our best players of the current era. Graham, like others, was unfortunate in being around during a wane in Meath's fortunes and when Dublin were at new levels.
He has divided opinionbut he has has good days for Meath and, as I wrote in the opening post, I dont think we would be in Division 1 now were it not for his play against Kildare. I know you could say that about many players but, on the day, I felt that he made a crucial intervention.
Who is to know how Graham would have fared if he was around in 87/88 or 96/99. He may or may not have got on those teams. Likewise, there were players in those eras that may not have been any better than Graham in our current team.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 19/11/2019 08:18:03    2250271

Christ lads, the guy gives nearly 10 years of his life to the Meath team and all ye can do is gloat at another poster???
Biggy is still is a very good footballer on his day but, unfortunately, hasn't been in great form recently. I wish him all the best and I hope that the break he takes from intercounty football helps him regain his form and he comes back into the fray. He's played a huge amount of football over the last few years, especially in 2016-17 when he brought Cilles to the All Ireland final while also being made captain of the Meath team meaning he had nearly 2 straight years without an off season.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 19/11/2019 08:45:29    2250278

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can I ask why you have not wished a man well who has given so much to Meath football from minor to senior , Meath player of the year winner, nominated for young player of the year in country and a all star. It would be very classless of a so called Meath supporter to not wish someone who has done all that well in his departure. Yet not a squeak from yourself. Perhaps list your own achievements for Meath??
I'll give you one to start with.
1, insult players who have done more for county than you ever could dream of.
2???"
It's sad that certain so called meath supporters would rather score points on you royaldunne then wish one of our great servants of the last decade a happy retirement. Biggy played for meath during one of the worst eras of meath football but yet kept coming back year after year with another great servant Mickey burke, it's easy to give full commitment to a county that are winning silverware year after year but not so easy to a county that for a long time seemed to be drifting further away every year. Graham Reilly and Mickey burke will be remembered by the true meath supporters as the legends that they are, happy retirement lads.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 19/11/2019 09:22:36    2250283

This whole thread nicely derailed by a few posters trying to wind up royaldunne. It would be a very sad state of affairs if any of those comments are genuine. I assume they are in jest rather than against Graham.

Biggy has been one of the great servants to Meath football for the past 10 years, just unfortunate it coincided with a period of transition. His contribution has been recognised nationally and realistically that says it all about what he brought. The game he has tried to play was always going to have a lifespan and that has come to an end at intercounty. Wish him the best in retirement and I'm sure he will still pose major problems for teams in Meath for years to come.

I admire the fact that he has walked away without noise or a big fanfare, can't stand these player statements that are being released nearly now on a weekly basis. I suppose that is the generation we are now in where players need assurances that they were great. I don't remember the likes of Bray, Fay or McDermott doing it.

off_the_wall (Roscommon) - Posts: 63 - 19/11/2019 12:44:09    2250319

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "It's sad that certain so called meath supporters would rather score points on you royaldunne then wish one of our great servants of the last decade a happy retirement. Biggy played for meath during one of the worst eras of meath football but yet kept coming back year after year with another great servant Mickey burke, it's easy to give full commitment to a county that are winning silverware year after year but not so easy to a county that for a long time seemed to be drifting further away every year. Graham Reilly and Mickey burke will be remembered by the true meath supporters as the legends that they are, happy retirement lads."
I don't think we should be speculating that Mickey Burke has retired until that has been confirmed. By all accounts he was preparing for another season with the footballers after the end of last season and is fitter than ever. He may not be on the panel at the moment but he may just want a break for the early season and is gone in with the hurlers. Come championship you might see him back in the fold.

off_the_wall (Roscommon) - Posts: 63 - 19/11/2019 12:52:03    2250320

Neither Graham Reilly or Mickey Burke have retired.

At the moment neither are required on the football panel.

Mickey is now in with the hurlers and Reilly has been told the door is open to return in the future should he be going well enough at club level.

At the moment neither are in the plans of the management team but that could change as the year wears on.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 19/11/2019 13:10:36    2250323

Jesus rd u got some slating on here.
I nearly feel sorry for u.
Nearly.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1760 - 19/11/2019 13:56:33    2250327

Can we pin this thread to top of the page ?

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 415 - 19/11/2019 16:46:14    2250350

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Christ lads, the guy gives nearly 10 years of his life to the Meath team and all ye can do is gloat at another poster???
Biggy is still is a very good footballer on his day but, unfortunately, hasn't been in great form recently. I wish him all the best and I hope that the break he takes from intercounty football helps him regain his form and he comes back into the fray. He's played a huge amount of football over the last few years, especially in 2016-17 when he brought Cilles to the All Ireland final while also being made captain of the Meath team meaning he had nearly 2 straight years without an off season."
Yeah it's a bit pathetic Isn't it. As I say. Someone either has class or they do not.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/11/2019 18:08:03    2250365

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "It's sad that certain so called meath supporters would rather score points on you royaldunne then wish one of our great servants of the last decade a happy retirement. Biggy played for meath during one of the worst eras of meath football but yet kept coming back year after year with another great servant Mickey burke, it's easy to give full commitment to a county that are winning silverware year after year but not so easy to a county that for a long time seemed to be drifting further away every year. Graham Reilly and Mickey burke will be remembered by the true meath supporters as the legends that they are, happy retirement lads."
Well said sir

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/11/2019 18:08:42    2250366

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Jesus rd u got some slating on here.
I nearly feel sorry for u.
Nearly."
Funny thing is most of them are actually Kildare posters pretending to be from Meath. How sad is that?? :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/11/2019 18:10:26    2250368

Sad to see the end of Graham..I was critical of him at times but at the end of the day he gave many great years to the meath jersey we all love ! Huge respect and pride to say he was one of our own ! Still think its probably a little early for him to go ! Hope he continues to enjoy his club football ! Any true fan will thank him and wish him luck going forward ! Will miss the biggie debates lol ! Thanks for the memorys graham !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 19/11/2019 21:50:05    2250412

Graham is one of our best footballers, I cant slate anyone who has put in a 10 year shift for the county . . huge commitment . . How many games did he turn when the game was in the balance last year?
Hopefully he isnt finished and is open for a return to the panel

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 20/11/2019 08:56:38    2250443

Doesn't seem to be officially retired at least not publicly. Wouldn't be surprised if he's back at some stage next year. If himself and Mickey are gone does that mean there are more players outside Dublin with Leinster medals playing? If so it just highlights the dark days for this championship even more.

As others have said you won't get many players giving 10 years or more going forward. There's only so many hammerings from Dublin any player will take. I've a program at home from 2008 and Reilly is named as a sub. I think it was Wexford 2008. That's 12 seasons ago, some going.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/11/2019 18:38:46    2250564

Andy has deemed both Mickey and Graham surplus to requirements for the coming season. This is 100% correct and Stoney has indeed committed to Nick Weir's hurlers for 2020.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 20/11/2019 19:29:53    2250571

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Doesn't seem to be officially retired at least not publicly. Wouldn't be surprised if he's back at some stage next year. If himself and Mickey are gone does that mean there are more players outside Dublin with Leinster medals playing? If so it just highlights the dark days for this championship even more.

As others have said you won't get many players giving 10 years or more going forward. There's only so many hammerings from Dublin any player will take. I've a program at home from 2008 and Reilly is named as a sub. I think it was Wexford 2008. That's 12 seasons ago, some going."
All depends on , is it munnely? From Laois. He was only other player to be playing that had a Leinster medal. Sad state of affairs tbh.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/11/2019 19:34:59    2250573

Replying To royaldunne:  "All depends on , is it munnely? From Laois. He was only other player to be playing that had a Leinster medal. Sad state of affairs tbh."
I think you're right. If Munnely is still playing he has one from 2003.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/11/2019 16:01:19    2250714