Div 2 HL: O'Mahonys withstand late Drumree comeback

June 24, 2024

Sean Davis Navan O'Mahonys

Navan O’Mahony’s 0-18 Drumree 1-09

Navan O’Mahony’s withstood a late comeback from Drumree to claim the two points on offer in Round 6 of the Division 2 hurling league, played in Paddy O’Brien Park on Saturday afternoon.

Finn Malone was quick off the mark, scoring in the opening couple of minutes. Jack Walsh wasn’t far behind hitting a good point shorty afterwards. Drumree’s first score came in the fourth minute.

The sides exchanged points with Walsh scoring for the home side before Malone hit two in a row. Walsh added a third to leave four points between the sides. The visitors responded well and two points separated the sides half way through the half. 

In a five-minute period, Navan O’Mahony’s hit four points with three coming from Walsh and a well-taken point from Sean Davis. Just as O’Mahony’s were building momentum, Drumree looked to be through on goal only for an impressive save from netminder John Foley.

Both sides added a score on the cusp of half time and O’Mahony’s led by six at the interval.

Navan O’Mahony’s 0-12 Drumree 0-06

The Brews Hill outfit were determined to push on in the second half and Jack Flynn added two impressive scores in the opening five minutes. Again, a good save by Foley prevented what looked like a certain goal and Ben McEntegart cleared the breaking ball to safety. Walsh added another point. 

Drumree were thwarted for yet another goal opportunity when Eoghan Nugent put in a well-placed hook midway through the half. 

O’Mahony’s suffered a lull in the second half, struggling to add to their earlier tally with the game by no means settled at this stage. In a five-minute period, Drumree hit two points followed by a goal and reduced the deficit down to a single score.

The home side kicked into gear again in the final five minutes, adding three points from Walsh while keeping Drumree scoreless to see out the game.

Navan O’Mahony’s: John Foley, Michael Reavey, Ben McEntegert, Finn McNally, Evan Brady, Mark Usher, Dermot McKenna, Jack McConnell, Jack Flynn (0-02), Sean McDermott, Jack Walsh (0-10), Eoghan Nugent, Finn Malone (0-03), Shane McCarthy (0-01), Sean Davis (0-01)

Subs: Brian Dunne for Usher, Tom Condon for McCarthy, Diarmuid Collins (0-01) for Davis, McCarthy for Flynn, Peter McLoughlin for Reavey

Most Read Stories