Colleges: St Pats dominate North Leinster Juvenile final

January 16, 2018

St Mary's full back Mickey Dixon with Ciaran Caulfield St Pats during the North Leinster Juvenile Colleges final at Dunganny

St Pats, Navan 3-5
St Marys, Edenderry 0-4

St Patricks claimed the North Leinster Post Primary Schools Juvenile Football A title with a convincing ten point win over St.Marys Edenderry at a bitterly cold Dunganny Meath Centre of Excellence.

The opening half failed to get going and both sides were guilty of some very poor finishing. The Navan school dominated the possession stakes but failed to convert their chances. 

Conditions at the venue were poor and a heavy shower of snow during the opening 15 minutes didn't help matters.

Marys were first on the scoreboard through the impressive Daniel Farrell. Full forward Mark McCarthy doubled their lead soon after but the Ednederry boys failed to score again until the 55th minute.

Donal Commons put Pats on the scoreboard. Con Smith tied the game up and the teams went in at the break level 0-2 each despite the Meath school missing at least three goal opportunities.

St Pats continued to dominate the second half and within ten minutes had opened up a five point gap. Points from Tadgh Martin and Tommy Buchanan were followed by the game's opening goal courtesy of half forward Buchanan.

The St Ultan's/Cortown Gaels star put the game to bed with 15 minutes left finishing the ball to the Marys net and opening up a 2-4 to 0-2 lead.

Troy Campbell O'Brien extended the lead before substitute Michael Leddy put the issue beyond doubt with St Pats third goal. St Marys refused to give up and were rewarded with a brace of Farrell points before the final whistle.

After the game Damien Sheridan from Meath County Board presented the North Leinster Post Primary Schools Juvenile Football A Cup to St Pats joint captains Donal Commons and Ciaran Caulfield.

St Pats Navan: Cathal Darby (Seneschalstown), Eoghan McCague (Walterstown), Adam Nivan (Simonstown), Darragh Dooner  (Simonstown), Lorcan McEntee (Nobber), Louis Collins (Navan O'Mahonys), Sean O'Connell (Simonstown), Donal Commons 0-1 (Seneschalstown), Troy Campbell O'Brien 0-1 (Walterstown), Tadgh Martin 0-1 (Slane), Ciaran Caulfield (Trim), Tommy Buchanan 2-1 (St Ultan's/Cortown Gaels), Con Smith  0-1 (Bective), John Finnerty (Skryne), Kian Reddy (Skryne). Subs:  Matthew Cully (Bective), Michael Leddy 0-1 (Navan O'Mahonys),  Oisin Keogh (Skryne), Adam Bryne (Rathkenny), Peter McEntaggart (Navan O'Mahonys), Sean McCormack (St Marys). Remainder of squad: Finn Murray (Simonstown), Scott O'Sullivan (Bective), Eoin Donegan (Wolfe Tones), Hugh Condon (Simonstown), Jack Swan (Skryne), James Foley (Trim), Lorcan Hughes (St Ultan's/Cortown Gaels), Karolis Aukstakis (Simonstown), Tom Diver (Simonstown), John O'Regan (Skryne), David Johnson (Seneschalstown).

St  Mary's Edenderry: Eoin Sheehan, Aaron Murphy, Mickey Dixon, Josh O'Donoghue, Sean McKeon, Michael Dowling, Cian Murphy, Mark Coffey, Dan Dowling, David Hill, Dylan Brannigan, Luke O'Connor, Daniel Farrell 0-3, Mark McCarthy 0-1, Tadgh McBride.

Referee Brain Brady

Most Read Stories