Mayo hold off battling Sligo for Division 3A crown

March 31, 2024

Mayo's Cormac Phillips ©INPHO/Evan Logan

Mayo edged Sligo by 3-19 to 3-16 in Castlebar this afternoon to claim the Allianz Hurling League Division 3A title.

Ray Larkin and Brian Finn’s men came out on top of a thrilling contest that saw them leading by six points at the halfway stage thanks to goals from Eoghan Delaney and Cormac Phillips.

Thomas Cawley got a goal back for Sligo 10 minutes into the restart, but it’d be erased by Delaney’s second of the day as the home side moved 3-13 to 1-11 ahead come the 51st minute.

The Yeats men wouldn’t throw in the towel though and got majors through Conor Hannify and Conor Griffins to keep the heat on until the finish.

With Shane Boland and Liam Lavin leading the way, Mayo were able to see out the win which marks their sixth straight in the competition and clinch the silverware in the process.

Most Read Stories