Tooreen on top again in Mayo

October 09, 2022

Mayo's Eoin Delaney in action against Donegal. ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Tooreen have been crowned Mayo SHC champions for the fifth time in six years and a 32nd time overall after delivering a strong second-half performance to beat Ballyhaunis at Adrian Freeman Park this afternoon.

With the sides contesting the TJ Tyrrell Cup final for the third consecutive season, Tooreen ran out 1-14 to 2-5 winners in the end. Eoin Delaney's third minute goal was the launchpad for the reigning Connacht intermediate champions.

Full-forward Adrian Phillips netted a goal to bring Ballyhaunis to within a point at the break (1-5 to 1-4). They rattled the net again on 52 minutes, but the holders found scores that bit easier down the home stretch.


Most Read Stories