Longford go extra mile to end Leinster MFC wait

May 21, 2024

Longford's captain Mark Cooney celebrates with his team after the Leinster MFC final ©INPHO/James Crombie

Longford were crowned Leinster minor football champions for the first time since 2010 following a dramatic 0-15 to 1-10 extra-time victory over Dublin at Glenisk O'Connor Park last night.

Trailing by the minimum at the end of the first period of extra-time, the midlanders scored three unanswered points in the second period per Cian O'Neill (two) and Karl O'Hara to spark jubilant scenes in Tullamore.

Dublin led by 1-4 to 0-3 at half-time thanks to a fisted goal from Senan Bolger and three Riann Doherty frees. Longford resumed with points from James Hagan, Luke Donnelly and O'Hara to reduce the deficit to the minimum before Charlie Loughran replied for the Dubs.

When a Rian Doherty free pushed Dublin three points clear in the 47th minute, they looked set for victory but Longford rallied with scores from Hagan (free), Ben Blessington and Mark Cooney (free) to force extra-time and never looked back after that.

Most Read Stories