A look ahead to the All-Ireland Ladies MFC finals

August 03, 2022

In attendance at a photocall ahead of the 2022 ZuCar All-Ireland Minor Ladies Football Finals are, from left, Emer Hynes of Clare, Emily Rose O'Toole of Wicklow, Evie Twomey of Cork, Allyson McCarthy, Divisional Marketing Manager at Joe Duffy Group, Caoimhe Cleary of Galway, Caoimhe McCormack of Longford and Holly McQuaid of Monaghan at Croke Park

ZuCar All-Ireland Minor Final previews 

Compiled by Jackie Cahill 

THE 2022 All-Ireland Minor Champions will be crowned on Wednesday evening, August 3. 

The scene is set for the A, B and C Finals, and all three games will be available to view live and free of charge. 

The Spórt TG4 YouTube page will provide live coverage of the A Final between Cork and Galway from MacDonagh Park, Nenagh. The game can be accessed at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSUePvoqOTU 

The B Final between Monaghan and Longford, and the C Final featuring Clare and Wicklow, will both be available to view by accessing the LGFA’s live-streaming portal: https://page.inplayer.com/lgfaseason2022/other-fixtures.html 

ZuCar All Ireland Minor ‘A’ Championship Final (Result on the Day) 

Cork v Galway, 7.00pm, MacDonagh Park, Nenagh, Tipperary  

CORK and Galway boast rich recent histories in the A grade.  

As we look forward to the first ZuCar All-Ireland Minor Finals since 2019, Cork will start as holders.  

Three years ago, the Leesiders defeated Monaghan in the Final and barring Galway’s victories over them in the 2014 and 2018 deciders, Cork would be going for seven-in-a-row.  

This is Cork’s seventh successive Final appearance and whenever they’ve come across Galway at the business end of the competition, the football has been of the highest quality.  

A win for Cork in Nenagh would secure a 12th Minor A title, while Galway are aiming for a seventh.  

It’s set up for another potential classic and both sides come into this game high on confidence.  

Galway got the better of a highly-rated Kildare in their semi-final, as Cork defeated Cavan by two points, 3-13 to 3-11.  

Cork (v Galway): D Creed; S Callanan, L Heffernan, A Barrett; M Condon, S McGoldrick, A Corcoran; A Healy, E Twomey (capt.); R Leahy, A Ring, É Curran; E Hurley, O Cahalane, L Hallihan.  


Galway (v Cork): L O’Halloran; M Jordan, J Glynn, I Claffey; C Cleary (capt.), E Mitchell, A Ellian; M Banek, M Walsh; N Divilly, A Shaughnessy, M Glynn; S Duffy, L Freeney, M Mulryan.  


ZuCar All Ireland Minor ‘B’ Championship Final (Result on the Day) 

Monaghan v Longford, 7.00pm, Donaghmore Ashbourne, Meath 

Monaghan were All-Ireland Minor A Finalists in 2019 and now they aim for a B title.  

This will be a very first B Final for Monaghan, who have contested four A deciders, including successful ones in 1999, 1998 and 1994.  

Longford, meanwhile, will aim to retain the B title they won against Roscommon in 2019.  

Monaghan were impressive and had to show real resilience in their semi-final comeback victory over Kerry, as Longford showed excellent form in their win against Sligo.  

These are two excellent sides who will battle it out for the silverware – and a high-scoring encounter could be on the cards here.  


Longford (v Monaghan): L Tierney; L Shannon, G Kenny, R Fallon; F Talabi, C McCormack (capt.), E Duggan; E O’Reilly, S Gallagher; M Glennon, K McEntire, S Macken; K Shannon, E Lynn, A Hayden.  


Monaghan (v Longford): O Kelly; R Lennon, T Renaghan, T McArdle; A Carolan, H Haughey; K Walsh, L McGeown; H McQuaid (capt.), N Flanagan, S Tierney; S Murphy, E Sherry, Á McQuaid.  


ZuCar All Ireland Minor ‘C’ Championship Final (Result on the Day) 

Clare v Wicklow, 7.00pm, Kinnegad, Westmeath 

In their rich history, Clare have won the B title three times, and were A winners in 1989 and 1990.  

Wicklow, meanwhile, are back in an All-Ireland Minor Final for the first time since their one and only appearance back in 2011, when they lost out to Armagh in the B grade.  

Clare produced a strong display against Armagh in their recent semi-final, notching 5-7 against the Orchard County.  

Wicklow were impressive too as they registered 4-17 against Leitrim to book a place in the Final. 

Clare (v Wicklow): K McMahon; E O’Malley, C Cahill, S Blood; E Hynes (capt.), H Doyle, N Walsh; J Doohan, S Looney; A Downes, E McNamara, C Ryan; L Conway, G Burke, K Fitzgerald.  


Wicklow (v Clare): H Wright; Z Fennell, O Ní Ghallchobhair, A Carroll; L.J. Shannon, E.R. O’Toole (capt.), C O’Brien; L Bourke, E O’Sullivan; A Harmon, G Murphy, S Adams; P.R. Cullen Dunne, S Fisher, A Magee.  

Most Read Stories