Leinster Ladies Championships back with a bang

October 11, 2022

Emma Duggan and Dunboyne defeated Dunshaughlin Royals Gaels in the Meath SFC final at Ratoath

This coming weekend sees the welcome return of the Leinster Club Championships and what a few weekends we have in prospect across the province.

This Saturday, the preliminary round of the Junior Club Championship gets underway when Wicklow Junior champions Coolkenno host St Joseph’s of Westmeath from 2pm. Also at 2pm, Sarsfields of Laois make a welcome return to the Leinster Club Championships when their Junior team hosts Kilkenny champions, Muckalee in Mountmellick GAA Grounds. The final preliminary game of the round between home side Éire Óg of Carlow and St Martin’s of Wexford will get underway on Sunday at 5pm.

On Sunday then, attention turns to the Leinster Senior Club Championship quarter finals and the preliminary round of the Intermediate Championship. Reigning Leinster Senior champions, Dunboyne face a trip to the Capital and Dublin champions Kilmacud Crokes. The inspirational Emma Duggan hit 1-09 for Dunboyne in the Meath SFC final at the weekend and along with Shelly Melia and a host of experienced players, they will look forward to a tangle with Crokes who have now won a trio of titles in Dublin this year including their first ever Dublin Senior Club title. The action gets underway in Páirc de Búrca at 1:30pm. In Portlaoise, the home side and Laois champions will take on Kildare champions, Eadestown from 2pm while at 4pm, 8th time Wicklow champions Tinahely will host Westmeath’s Milltown.

In the Intermediate Championship, Tinahely’s Junior team will get the action underway there as they host Offaly champions Ballinamere Durrow at 1:30pm. At 2pm then, Killucan of Westmeath will host Carlow Senior champions, Old Leighlin while Park Ratheniska of Laois will go head to head with Wexford Senior champions Shelmalier.

All games are entry via ticket only – adults are €10, students and OAPs are €5 while children u16 are completely free. Please find the ticket links to all games at the links below.


Saturday 15th October, 2022

Coolkenno (Wicklow) v St. Joseph’s (Westmeath)

Venue:                 Shillelagh GAA Grounds (Wicklow)

Time:                    2pm

Referee:              Jonathan Murphy (Carlow)

Sarsfields (Laois) v Muckalee (Kilkenny)

Venue:                 Mountmellick GAA Grounds (Laois)

Time:                    2pm      

Referee:              Ciaran Groome (Offaly)

Sunday 16th October, 2022


Éire Óg (Carlow) v St. Martin’s (Wexford)

Venue:                 Éire Óg GAA Grounds (Carlow)

Time:                    5pm      

Referee:              Kelley Cunningham (Offaly)

Naomh Fionnbarra (Louth) v Offaly (w/d)


Tinahely (Wicklow) v Ballinamere/Durrow (Offaly)

Venue:                 Tinahely GAA Grounds (Wicklow)                            

Time:                    1.30pm

Referee:              Ray McBride (Dublin)

Killucan (Westmeath) v Old Leighlin (Carlow)

Venue:                 Killucan GAA Grounds (Westmeath)      

Time:                    2pm                      

Referee:              Gary Carty (Dublin)        

Park Ratheniska (Laois) v Shelmalier (Wexford)

Venue:                 Park Ratheniska GAA Grounds (Laois)   

Time:                    2pm      

Referee:              Marion Hayden (Carlow)


Kilmacud Crokes (Dublin) v Dunboyne (Meath)

Venue:                 Páirc de Búrca, Kilmacud Crokes GAA Grounds (Dublin)

Time:                    1.30pm

Referee:              John Bermingham (Wicklow)

Portlaoise (Laois) v Eadestown (Kildare)

Venue:                 Portlaoise GAA Grounds (Laois)

Time:                    2pm

Referee:              Finbarr Shanahan (Dublin)

Tinahely (Wicklow) v Miltown (Westmeath)

Venue:                 Tinahely GAA Grounds (Wicklow)

Time:                    4pm

Referee:              Barry Redmond (Wexford)

Most Read Stories