Double delight for Laois as county stars collect Golden Glove and Golden Boot awards

September 14, 2022

Laois stars Mo Nerney, left, and goalkeeper Eimear Barry. Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile

Laois were celebrating on the double as county stars Eimear Barry and Mo Nerney collected their 2022 ZuCar Golden Glove and Golden Boot awards at Croke Park.  

Goalkeeper Eimear has been confirmed as the winner of the Golden Glove award, introduced in 2021 to acknowledge goalkeeping excellence during the TG4 All-Ireland Championships. 

Eimear’s crucial second half save against Wexford went a long way towards securing the TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate title for the O’Moore County at Croke Park on Sunday July 31.  

And Eimear’s crucial intervention to deny Wexford forward Aisling Murphy won the popular vote on the Ladies Gaelic Football Association website, with four other goalkeepers also nominated.  

Eimear was one of five nominees for the prestigious individual honour, along with Armagh’s Anna Carr, Nicole Hanley from Carlow, Mayo netminder Aisling Tarpey, and Meath’s TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship winner Monica McGuirk.  

Following the conclusion of the TG4 All-Ireland Championships, Mo Nerney was the leading scorer across the Junior, Intermediate and Senior grades.  

Mo’s tally of 5-31 (46 points) was good enough to hold off the challenge of Fermanagh sharpshooter Eimear Smyth, who finished with 5-27 (42 points). 

Most Read Stories