Carlow's Clíodhna Ní Shé collects Ladies top scorer award as top ten revealed

September 06, 2021

The 2018 Allianz Football League's top scorer race went right down to the wire.
©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Carlow forward Clíodhna Ní Shé is the inaugural winner of the ZuCar Golden Boot award, the prize for finishing as the leading scorer in the 2021 TG4 All-Ireland Championships.  

Ní Shé, 21, from the Bennekerry/Tinryland club, finished the campaign on top of the pile after collecting 9-19 during Carlow’s Championship season.  

Carlow may have exited the TG4 All-Ireland Junior Championship at the semi-final stage, after extra-time against Antrim, but Ní Shé was in brilliant form and scorer of 3-5 in that game.  

Earlier in the campaign, Ní Shé also collected a hat-trick of goals (3-2) in defeat to Wicklow, who would go on to be crowned Junior champions.  

Ní Shé’s total was six points clear of Armagh’s Aimee Mackin, and eight points ahead of TG4 All-Ireland winners Sarah Dillon (Westmeath) and Marie Kealy (Wicklow).  

Dillon and Kealy were still in with outside chances of catching Ní Shé prior to yesterday’s TG4 All-Ireland Finals.  

Cliodhna Ni Shé of Carlow with her Golden Boot award

Dillon scored 1-6 in Westmeath’s comprehensive victory over Wexford in the Intermediate decider to move her on to 5-23 (38 points), as Kealy scored three points in Wicklow’s Junior Final win against Antrim, to finish the campaign on 0-38.  

Clíodhna was presented with her award at Croke Park on Sunday by Allyson McCarthy, Divisional Marketing Manager at ZuCar.  

Commenting on the award, Clíodhna said: “It’s such a huge honour for me. Carlow haven’t had the chance to play at Croke Park yet and unfortunately we didn’t make it this year but it’s still recognition from a Junior team across the three grades.  

“It was great to be at Croke Park on such a big day and also to witness such a great match between Dublin and Meath." 

ZuCar Golden Boot 2021 – Top 10  

1. Clíodhna Ní She (Carlow) 9-19 (46 points) 

2. Aimee Mackin (Armagh) 4-28 (40) 

3. Sarah Dillon (Westmeath) 5-23 (38) 

4. Marie Kealy (Wicklow) 0-38  

5. Niamh O’Neill (Tyrone) 1-33 (36) 

6. Anna Jones (Westmeath) 3-24 (33) 

7. Gráinne McLaughlin (Antrim) 3-23 (32) 

8. Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Kerry) 3-20 (29) 

9. Geraldine McLaughlin (Donegal) 2-22 (28) 

10. Emma Duggan (Meath) 3-19 (28) 

Most Read Stories