Watch: Crokes goals down Kildare champions

November 06, 2022

Kilmacud Crokes' Craig Dias celebrates after scoring a goal against Naas. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

The concession of three goals left Naas with too much to do against Kilmacud Crokes, who repeated last year's Leinster club SFC final victory over the Kildare champions to set up a last four date with Portarlington in two weeks' time.

Goals from Dara Mullin, Craig Dias and Hugh Kenny ensured a comfortable enough 3-14 to 0-14 victory for the holders at Parnell Park today.

A real turning point came in the seventh minute when Naas defender Cathal Daly was penalised for overcarrying and Mullin netted the resultant free, with goalkeeper Luke Mullins caught off his line.

Galway All-Star Shane Walsh tagged on two brilliant points (one from play and a free) to leave Crokes 1-4 to 0-2 infront, but Naas responded impressively, hitting the next four scores to narrow the gap to one, with Alex Beirne (2) and Eamonn Callaghan on target.

However, Joe Murphy's men were undone yet again on 23 minutes as Craig Dias blasted home an unstoppable goal that sent Crokes towards a 2-7 to 0-7 half-time lead.

Then the third goal arrived with 37 minutes gone on the clock, Kenny drilled the ball low past Mullins after receiving a pass from Andrew McGowan.

It was a memorable day for Kilmacud Crokes as they claimed their first ever Leinster club SFC ladies crown by beating Tinahely of Wicklow 4-15 to 0-8 in Bray.


Most Read Stories