Seventh heaven for Limerick as hurling All Stars named

October 29, 2022

Claire Fitzgerald, Kyle Hayes, Aaron Gillane, Roisin Ambrose, Sean Finn, Karen Kinnerk, Declan Hannon and Louise Cantillon at the 2022 All Star Awards ©INPHO/Tom Maher

Magnificent All-Ireland champions Limerick are the undisputed benchmark in hurling right  now and dominate the high-quality list of the final 15 announced. 

All seven of the Limerick players named pick up their second or third individual awards to  illustrate their influence in recent seasons. 

Kilkenny’s four-man contingent are led by the great TJ Reid who now becomes a six-time  hurling All-Star and is joined by first-timers Mikey Butler and Huw Lawlor in defence and his  Ballyhale Shamrocks clubmate Adrian Mullen in midfield – who forms a novel pairing with  Clare’s David Fitzgerald. 

Banner genius Tony Kelly collects his fourth All-Star of his career and is joined in the attack  by Shane O’Donnell who wins his first PwC All-Star following a brilliant comeback season  after he had taken time out last year to recover from concussion. 

Galway’s sole representative is defensive star Pádraic Mannion, who collects the third  award of his great career. 

GAA President Larry McCarthy said: “The PwC All-Stars stand the test  of time in reflecting the outstanding displays that define our Gaelic games season. 

“Another magnificent hurling season has produced an All-Star team brimming with iconic  talent, and they are ambassadors for all of our players and the clubs and volunteers who  they proudly represent. 

“I congratulate all of our winners and also salute our players of the year David and Diarmaid  and young players Jack and Mikey for their deserving additional awards and thank PwC for  their continuing support of this great GAA tradition.” 

The All-Stars scheme was first held in 1971 and the teams are selected by a panel of GAA  journalists from across print, radio, digital, and broadcast media, chaired by Uachtarán CLG. 

PwC All-Stars Hurling 2022 


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin, Limerick) (Previous winner in 2020) 


2. Mikey Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels, Kilkenny) 

3. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels, Kilkenny) 

4. Barry Nash (South Liberties, Limerick) (Previous winner 2021) 

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick) (Previous winner 2020, 2021)

6. Declan Hannon (Adare, Limerick) (Previous winner 2018, 2021) 

7. Pádraic Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh, Galway) (Previous winner 2017, 2018)


8. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona, Clare) 

9. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks, Kilkenny) 


10. Gearóid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s, Limerick) (Previous winner 2020, 2021)

11. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry, Limerick) (Previous winner 2020, 2021)

12. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg, Clare) 

13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell, Limerick) (Previous winner 2019, 2020)

14. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks, Kilkenny) (Previous winner 2012, 2014, 2015, 2019,  2020) 

15. Tony Kelly (Ballyea, Clare) (Previous winner 2013, 2020, 2021)

Most Read Stories