Club Championship 2025

Replying To oceanofnoise:  "I see a lot of posters talking up Clann na nGael's chances in the Junior championship.
I'm sure the Vincent's are loving that! Narrowly beaten finalists last year, and played in/stayed up in Division 2 this year. Surely it's theirs to lose???"
Neither Vincent's or Clann na nGael near convincing enough yet despite both winning each of their first two matches albeit against weak opposition. Ballinlough look strongest at the moment. Dunderry perhaps have greatest scope for improvement.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 21/08/2025 09:52:08    2632913

Replying To Faithfulmeath:  "Tones currently favourites for the last two weeks to win the whole thing so not sure what you mean by " can't rule them out " but fair point just not sure if anyone did exactly rule them out

Also you copied the ChatGPT section at the end might edit that part out next time"
Think you're the big man do you?

RegionalsGuru (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 21/08/2025 11:07:21    2632931

Replying To winatallcost:  "Neither Vincent's or Clann na nGael near convincing enough yet despite both winning each of their first two matches albeit against weak opposition. Ballinlough look strongest at the moment. Dunderry perhaps have greatest scope for improvement."
Haven't seen any JFC games yet, but on paper I agree with you: Ballinlough seem to be motoring well, and Dunderry will be difficult opponents for whoever they face .

oceanofnoise (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 21/08/2025 14:00:21    2632985

Replying To RegionalsGuru:  "Think you're the big man do you?"
Come on regionalsGuru let's not make this a big deal , in-fact we should try to keep this like a "pub banter tone"

Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 21/08/2025 16:36:33    2633029

Replying To Faithfulmeath:  "Come on regionalsGuru let's not make this a big deal , in-fact we should try to keep this like a "pub banter tone""
Don't mind him RegionalsGuru in fact i'd say he is a 'big' man, he's no avid forum user like the pair of us. Haven't seen this account all year once we get into the club championship season he thinks he's Buff Egan. Faithful Meath do everyone a favour and keep them smart comments to yourself or ill have ye reported to the forum police.

Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 22/08/2025 09:02:19    2633078

What do you of team of the week? Any surprises.

Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 24/08/2025 20:48:49    2633400

What do you all think about team of week? Any surprises.
(Now thats makes a bit of sense, two many Sunday pints)

Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 24/08/2025 21:14:13    2633405

It's that time of the week again folks, Meathboyos86 predictions are here for Round 3 of the SFC.
Group A.
Skryne vs Summerhill.
The Hill of Tara men vs the men from the Hill, Skryne already through to the quarters unless they take an absolute hiding here. Summerhill were decent vs St. Peregrines Dunboyne the last day and if they win this they'll top the group which looked very unlikely after the first day. Skryne would love to knock them out though so i can see this being tight again. These teams could meet later on in the championship but i think Park Celtic Summerhill will win this by 4.

Dunboyne vs Kells.
This Dunboyne team have really underachieved since winning the Keegan Cup in 2018. They've had very good teams but have been too inconsistent, like in 2021 and last year they were very close to winning championships but then in 22 and 23 it was group stage exits and it looks like its going to be the same again this year. They've had bad injuries to big players this year and the wides they kicked the last day will haunt them. I think there will be a big push to win this game to finish their year on a good note or put up a big score in the little hope they sneak into a quarter final. Kells on the other hand were impressive the first day out and very flat vs Skreen. Getting out of the group isn't in their hands anymore after taking a good beating vs the Ross Cross 99's based outfit. I think St. Peter will appear and will help Dunboyne land victory by 5 here.

Group B
Ratoath vs St Colmcilles
The Paul Galvin managed side were the word the rhymes with white for most of the game vs Seneschalstown but in the last 10/15 they showed their quality by coming back to get a draw. St. Colmcilles look like absolute certs to be contesting the intermediate championship next year, I would actually would go as far to say if St. Colmcille himself came to play for them he would make no difference. They are getting a good few young lads back from the States and that's what they need but it still looks like its printing money if you back them for the drop. Ratoath still have a bit of class and the return of Jack Flynn will help but they'll need to improve a good bit if they want to go deep in the championship. Ratoath by 13.

Ballinabrackey vs Seneschalstown.
The Bracks vs Sench has the ring to it of a relegation final, the last few years anyway. This is a massive chance for either side, it been a good few years since the yellow furze were there and I haven't a notion about the last time the Offaly(border) men were there. Both sides dealt with the Cilles with relative ease but it was Joe Sheridan's old team who put it up to the Ratoath men better. I think this game will be very tight and will have the feel of a knockout championship game to it but i think the men who were reared on bogs (the Bracks) will grind out a one point win.

Group C
Rathkenny vs Meath Hill
Rathkenny are having a very good championship so far, had a great win the first round and were so unlucky vs Trim Castle the last day to not get a draw in what was a great game. They showed the last day that they don't solely rely on Keith Curtis for scores as Trim kept him quiet enough. Meath Hill were commendable the last day out vs county champions and put up 2-9 on the board without their main man, Gary Breslin. I think this will be their closest game so far but still see it going only one way and that's not up the mountain. Rathkenny by 4.

Dunshaughlin vs Trim
Dunshaughlin are yet to get going in this championship yet, they were disappointing the first day out and weren't that impressive against the mountain men. Trim are having a great year so far after winning div. 2 and their first 2 championship games and will believe they can turn over the Royal Gaels. I feel like this could be a cracker of a match and will feel like KO game but i think the quality of champions will shine through and win this by 3.

I think Rathkenny and Dunsh will win so that means it will go to points difference between the 3 of them. But its not points difference in the group its point difference in the games against each other. So before this round its Rathkenny +2, Trim +1, and Dunshaughlin -3, but i think it will end Rathkenny +2, Trim -2, and Dunshaughlin 0. So that means Trim will be unlucky and are gone after loosing 1 game all year.

Group D
NaFianna vs Wolfe Tones
You could look at this and say both teams are unbeaten and you can also look at this and say Tones have 2 wins and Naf have none. Wolfe Tones are currently faves to land the Keegan cup but I just can't see it, they need big Call back if they want to win it. If other teams get through to the quarters they'll be more set I think. Naf will be looking to stay in this game as long as possible and if they do that and keep out the goals, they'll have a chance of progressing if the other game is a draw but if Sean Rafferty is out they have a massive challenge ahead of them. Tones have won both games comfortably so far and haven't been tested yet and I can't see it changing here. I think they'll be partying in the Gaeltacht, Tones by 8.

Simonstown vs Ashbourne
Two teams who were well bet by the Tones and drew with Nafianna, another sort of preliminary QF. This will be another tight game with the looser looking into a relegation playoff and the winner looking at a quarter final. Ashbourne seem to be lacking a leader in Menton around the middle while this Simonstown team are aging but they can still produce some good stuff but they need Colm back in charge. I think the Moors will have too much for them however and win this by 5 but i think the lads that are playing this game are more worried about how much of EP they'll miss rather than the result.

Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 25/08/2025 15:20:56    2633543

Replying To Holymoly#6:  "What do you of team of the week? Any surprises."
What team of the week would you be looking at ? Do hoganstand still do theirs ever round ?

Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 25/08/2025 23:43:48    2633594

Group A.
Kells vs Dunboyne
Not sure I have ever seen a worse shooting performance in HQ than dunboyne produced the last day.
To the game now , Kells have a lot to play for with a 1/4 place still very much in hope, while Dunboyne will be hoping to avoided the relegation playoffs. I think Dunboyne to make a stand and avoid the embarrassment of relegation semifinal. Dunboyne by 4

Summerhill vs Skryne
The battle between Adam Flanagan and harry Rooney in the middle can only be compared to when the Big show took on Mark Henry. A lot of interesting match ups here with the two Ryan's taking up finnerty and campion. I think Skryne's full back line is a real concern, and whichever two corner backs end up alongside the two Fraynes could be in for a rough day. Summerhill by 3

Group B.
Ballinabrackey vs Seneschalstown
The boarder men were comprehensive winners against the under achiever's the last day while the Devenish men threw away a massive lead against the Village of ratoath.
Seneschalstown deserve a lot of credit for performing as well as they are without their two best players. The bracks are a good side with no glaring weaknesses, Sean coffee probably the most underrated player on the Meath team constantly performing 7/8 out of 10. I believe the victory will be heading towards the faithful county , bracks by 2

Ratoath vs St. Colmcille
Probably the worst game in rd3 as two Dublin/meath clubs battle it out here, for me Cilllies and Meath hill look the two worst teams in senior. Ratoath aren't the same team that they were 3/4 years ago , Flynn back from injury is a huge boost and will add a lot to the middle. Ratoath by 6

Group C
Trim vs Dunshaughlin
Trim undefeated with two good wins so far but unfortunately for them rathkenny's win in the first round means they either have to lose by 2 or better to qualify for next round ( if I understand the rules right) Dunshaughlin's full back line seems to be their weak point with McCarrick and rushe seemingly gone for the year. Lynch is the heartbeat of this trim side and I'm worried the champions don't have anyone to really pick him up. I Wasn't overly impressed with Dunshaughlins against Meath hill but their fire power up top is undeniable with Ruairi kinsella a joy to watch at club level. Dunshaughlin to win by 1 but trim to go through

Rathkenny vs Meath Hill
If I understand the rules properly then the score difference for this game won't matter if rathkenny win which takes a bit of excitement away from it. Rathkenny proved the last day that their win over the champions was no fluke. Rathkenny by 5 (

Group D
Wolfe Tones vs Na Fianna
The battle of the two undefeated teams in group D , the "rasher" town outfit vs the Kilberry men. Na Fianna seem to have robbed the north town blues out of a victory the last round thanks to what can only be described as a terrible refereeing decision.

Tones dispatched a dogged Ashbourne side the last round and I believe they will do the same here especially if Sean Rafferty is injured. Tones by 5

Donaghmore/ Ashbourne v the north town blues
This is absolutely Ashbourne heritage, heading into this final round with zero wins yet probably my favourites to come second in this group. By all means the navan outfit can count them selves very unlucky not to get a win the last day with all reports sounding like they got robbed which is unfortunate since I had them in my acca.

Ashbourne don't have any excellent footballers bar "MENTO" but on the other scale they have no terrible players , this makes them hard to beat. Simonstown have absolutely zero place near a 1/4 in my opinion. I think this game will be a reminder of the old rules with neither team having any real interest in playing actual football. Ashbourne by 3

Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 26/08/2025 09:40:38    2633611

Plenty to play for this weekend in the football champ. Looking forward to hearing everyone's predictions.

Trim vs Dunsh
Huge game and a lot at stake. The unbeaten Trim Castle men could knock the holders out and end the party in South Meath. A big performance required by the Cookie and Mahey to keep the dreams of retaining the Keegan Cup alive. Based on form and momentum, I think Trim will nick this one. Trim by 2.

Skyrne vs Shill
An interesting one. Skyrne have taken the first two rounds by storm by beating Kells and Dunboyne. They will be very confident going up against a Shill team who need a result. Rumour has it that Shill's sharpshooter Mr McCabe is applying for planning permission right on the 2-pt arc as he feels so at home there! Another tight one but tipping Shill.

Dunboyne vs Kells

Dunboyne look down and out and it's upsetting to see for the likes of Lenihan who has given his all for the club and county. Kells have it all to play for, so I'm expecting them to be arriving to Trim with blinkers on both themselves and their horses. Kells by 3.

NAF vs Tones
A big factor in this one will be the extent of Raff's injury and if he will be playing or not. Word is it may not be as bad as expected. NAF will be all guns blazing following their snatch-and-grab v the North Navan men in R2. Tones will be all out to win this one and top the group, but it should be their hardest match so far. Cal to appear for the final 15 and see out the game much like Endo for Liverpool. Tones by 4.

Simonstown vs Ashbourne
A win for either team will likely see them through, so all to play for in Skyrne. The Northside Blues will be looking to channel the frustration of their clash with NAF and get the result here. Ashbourne are without Menton, which is a huge loss, but Nando's Tormey is still a threat. Edging Stown by 2.

Rathkenny vs Meath Hill
Two teams who were competing in the Intermediate in the not-too-distant past. The Mountain Men will love the hostility that this fixture will bring and will have the full parish in HQ for this one. Rathkenny are the better team on paper, but you never know what version of the Mountain Men will show up. I think the memories of beating Navan in the final last year will see them through this one, but it will be tight. The Hill by 15.

Ballinabrackey vs Seneschalstown
Interesting one, and a win for either team will likely see them through. Two of the perceived weaker teams in the top tier will battle it out in Dunganny 6. The Panda Waste men will be looking to sneak a quarter for the first time in a few years, but the Bracks will be dreaming of singing the Offaly Rover in the Village Inn. Bracks by 4.

Ratoath vs St Colmcille's
Ratoath will be out to prove a point following the shock draw result vs the Devenish men in R2. No doubt the Ranelagh resident Galvin will have the lads looking and feeling their best going into this one. Cilles have struck out in both games so far and are staring down the barrel of the Intermediate black hole. I can see nothing else other than a Ratoath W here. Fairyhouse Racecourse men by 10+.

Intermediate Overview
Just an update on the game of note of the weekend - Injury concerns for the Mahneys leading up to R3. Castletown will also be without Kevin Ross, so both teams losing key men. I see this being a close one - Castletown by 9.

RegionalsGuru (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 26/08/2025 10:11:47    2633613

Skyrne vs Summerhill - Probably game of the round, exciting midfield battle, on paper Summerhill should have a better balance but Skryne's form has been excellent. The key battle for me will be McCabe and O Regan I think whoever comes out on top here will set the platform for their team. Skryne by 2

Dunboyne vs Kells - Kells should have enough for a poor Dunboyne side. Kells by 5

Bracks vs Seneschalstown - Hickey's availability will be key to Seneschalstown if he's fit then Senech by 4

Ratoath vs Cilles - Ratoath by 10+

Trim vs Dunshaughlin - Trim have been excellent in their two matches to date but this will be a different animal and like wise, Dunshaughlin will have learned a lot from playing against Curtis to know how to mark Lynch. Dunshaughlin by 1

Meath Hill vs Rathkenny - Rathkenny by 10+

Tones vs Na Fianna - Raffery is almost certainly out. Tones know how to control matches and don't really give up leads when they get them. Tones by 7

Ashbourne vs Simonstown - Simonstown will defend the way they did against Na Fianna. Ashbourne have too many passengers and aren't mobile enough. Simonstown by 2

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 444 - 26/08/2025 12:05:28    2633632

Replying To Faithfulmeath:  "What team of the week would you be looking at ? Do hoganstand still do theirs ever round ?"
I had to go back and have a gander incase i was wrong. But no it is on the Meath Gaa and the We are meath insta.... they do one are each match.

Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 26/08/2025 21:49:14    2633715

Ratoath v Colmcilles: Ratoath haven't impressed so far, but Colmcille's might be in massive relegation trouble based on what we've seen. Comfortable Ratoath win by 10

Seneschalstown v Brack: Both have probably done better than most expected, Seneschalstown really threw it away against Ratoath and the Bracks were impressive winners. Winner takes all here and I think the Bracks get it done by 2

Wolfe Tones v Na Fianna: Tones have been probably the standout team at senior so far, Na Fianna on the other hand were held to back to back draws. I'd expect Tones will take this one, Tones by 4

D/Ashbourne v Simonstown: Both teams have been poor, Ashbourne really missing the likes of Brian Mention and just don't seem to have any kind of firepower up front. Simonstown have maybe shown a bit more form and the winner here likely goes through. Simonstown by 1

Dunshaughlin v Trim: The champions find themselves in a hole, a win may not be enough. They haven't been impressive at all, and will need to really step it up here. Trim have been ticking along but will want to make a statement here. I think Dunshaughlin find a way to get what they need and go through. Dunshaughlin by 5

Meath Hill v Rathkenny: interesting one, I don't think Meath Hill have been as bad as the scorelines have suggested, Gary Breslin being fit is key. Rathkenny are a good team, with a lot of capable players. I think Rathkenny just get it done but wouldn't be surprised either way. Rathkenny by 1

Gaeil Colmcille v Dunboyne: Dunboyne have been so disappointing, I know they're missing a lot of players but still no excuses for their terrible shooting. Kells will doom them to a relegation playoff here I feel. Kells by 3

Skyrne v Summerhill: If this were the final, you wouldn't be shocked, Skyrne don't do anything fancy but they are a very solid team. I just feel like Summerhill are starting to move through the gears and might just edge this one. Likely to be a 3 way tie at the top here so score difference is key. Summerhill by 2

Intermediate

Longwood v Oldcastle: Oldcastle by 7
Drumbaragh v Curraha Drumbaragh by 1

NOM v Castletown: Probably the tie of the round at this stage and a repeat of last year's semi. A lot of permutations in this group. Castletown were so impressive against Duleek, if they go close to that level again they will win. Injury concerns for both sides, but Casteltown to get it done by 2

St Michael's v D/Bellewstown: Both can still make it, looks difficult for Michael's but I'd expect Duleek who need to win will brush them aside. Duleek by 8

Kilbride v Bective: Kilbride by 12
Blackhall Gaels v Dunsany: Dunsany by 5

Walterstown v Ballivor: Ballivor by 2
Moynalvey v St Pat's: Both already true, winner here is probably favs to win it outright, and two really good teams. Moynalvey to continue their form and win by 2

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 27/08/2025 11:28:30    2633764

Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  "Ratoath v Colmcilles: Ratoath haven't impressed so far, but Colmcille's might be in massive relegation trouble based on what we've seen. Comfortable Ratoath win by 10

Seneschalstown v Brack: Both have probably done better than most expected, Seneschalstown really threw it away against Ratoath and the Bracks were impressive winners. Winner takes all here and I think the Bracks get it done by 2

Wolfe Tones v Na Fianna: Tones have been probably the standout team at senior so far, Na Fianna on the other hand were held to back to back draws. I'd expect Tones will take this one, Tones by 4

D/Ashbourne v Simonstown: Both teams have been poor, Ashbourne really missing the likes of Brian Mention and just don't seem to have any kind of firepower up front. Simonstown have maybe shown a bit more form and the winner here likely goes through. Simonstown by 1

Dunshaughlin v Trim: The champions find themselves in a hole, a win may not be enough. They haven't been impressive at all, and will need to really step it up here. Trim have been ticking along but will want to make a statement here. I think Dunshaughlin find a way to get what they need and go through. Dunshaughlin by 5

Meath Hill v Rathkenny: interesting one, I don't think Meath Hill have been as bad as the scorelines have suggested, Gary Breslin being fit is key. Rathkenny are a good team, with a lot of capable players. I think Rathkenny just get it done but wouldn't be surprised either way. Rathkenny by 1

Gaeil Colmcille v Dunboyne: Dunboyne have been so disappointing, I know they're missing a lot of players but still no excuses for their terrible shooting. Kells will doom them to a relegation playoff here I feel. Kells by 3

Skyrne v Summerhill: If this were the final, you wouldn't be shocked, Skyrne don't do anything fancy but they are a very solid team. I just feel like Summerhill are starting to move through the gears and might just edge this one. Likely to be a 3 way tie at the top here so score difference is key. Summerhill by 2

Intermediate

NOM v Castletown: Probably the tie of the round at this stage and a repeat of last year's semi. A lot of permutations in this group. Castletown were so impressive against Duleek, if they go close to that level again they will win. Injury concerns for both sides, but Casteltown to get it done by 2

St Michael's v D/Bellewstown: Both can still make it, looks difficult for Michael's but I'd expect Duleek who need to win will brush them aside. Duleek by 8

Moynalvey v St Pat's: Both already true, winner here is probably favs to win it outright, and two really good teams. Moynalvey to continue their form and win by 2"
Agree with you on all bit maybe the Pats V Moynalvey....who ever wins this will need to beat the other side twice, so will be interesting to see if either side shows their full hand or hold something back for their next meeting.

Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 29/08/2025 11:13:26    2634059

Replying To Holymoly#6:  "
Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  "Ratoath v Colmcilles: Ratoath haven't impressed so far, but Colmcille's might be in massive relegation trouble based on what we've seen. Comfortable Ratoath win by 10

Intermediate

Moynalvey v St Pat's: Both already true, winner here is probably favs to win it outright, and two really good teams. Moynalvey to continue their form and win by 2"
Agree with you on all bit maybe the Pats V Moynalvey....who ever wins this will need to beat the other side twice, so will be interesting to see if either side shows their full hand or hold something back for their next meeting."
Ratoath v Colmcilles: Ratoath will be rightly favorites. They have a bit of an aging side and have struggled to bring through the same quality as the group that were so successful but will still be one of a handful of teams with real aspirations of winning it. Cilles have good footballers, this we know. Their ability to make a team out of the talent they produce is questionable. They wont go down but will be in relegation. Ratoath by 6

Seneschalstown v Bracks: Sens run so far has been amazing given their league form particularly when you factor in the absences of Hickey and Cathal Finnegan. Bracks were so comfortable against Cilles and are equipped with their usual grit and doggedness coupled with good footballers who play for each other. I think Bracks by 4

Wolfe Tones v Na Fianna: Tones are red hot and have been made favorites based on their form and the lesser form of others. I think they are slightly over-hyped by some at this stage but they will be in the mix. NAF are more reliant on a couple to carry the can for me and Tones greater depth will see them win this by 3.

D/Ashbourne v Simonstown: Ashbourne are a curious case, every year people tip them and every year they underwhelm. They are solid but lacking a marque forward at this moment. Simonstown have firepower in Tobin and McKeever but they are aging and will need youth to step up. I'm going for a draw here I think there's little between them.

Dunshaughlin v Trim: Dunshaughlin wont have it their own way here. Trim so unlucky to not be through already and will have a point to prove. Similar teams in some ways and I think Trims running from deep with Quigley and Caulfield in particular can cause big problems. Ultimately Dunshaughlin as champions might have too much firepower though! Dunshaughlin by 2.

Meath Hill v Rathkenny: Breslin is the main man in Meath Hill and even with him Rathkenny have some excellent defenders who could do a job on him. If he doesn't play it's hard to see them win this. I'm not fully convinced by Rathkenny either but they have done very well to this point and should win by 7.

Gaeil Colmcille v Dunboyne: Dunboyne will be so disappointed to be in the position they're in albeit in a tough group. Injuries to Kinlough, McEntee, and Jones would hamper any club team in Ireland and this is part of their undoing but none of those lads are scoring forwards which is maybe what they are really missing bar Lenihan. Kells will always give you everything they have and you will know about playing them. I still think Dunboyne win this by 1.

Skyrne v Summerhill: Skryne again defying pre championship predictions with 2 wins. Summerhill are perennial contenders and bounced back well the last day. Something tells me they have a bit more than skryne and win by 4.

Intermediate

NOM v Castletown: Huge game in a fascinating group. Navan were one of the early favorites but now are hanging in there. What Castletown did to D/B should be illegal and sent shockwaves. Another performance like that would see them through but I will say Navan will show up here and just do enough to win by 1.

St Michael's v D/Bellewstown: D/B jekyll and Hyde. Great against Navan and the wheels fall off against Castletown. I can see them beating St Michaels but based on this group so far you can't rely and anyone. Duleek by 5

Kilbride v Bective: Kilbride are through and Bective gone barring miracles. Kilbride have some firepower. I don't see them as contenders but I see them winning this by 8.
Blackhall Gaels v Dunsany: Dunsany come straight up and doing themselves justice. They were a bit blessed with this group in comparison to other groups and I think they will get over Blackhall by 2.

Walterstown v Ballivor: Wooden Spoon match in this group. Ballivor are hardy, Walterstown are young and I think experience will see Ballivor through by 3.
Moynalvey v St Pat's: Pats hampered by injuries to key players throughout the league have started to peak at the right time. Moynalvey are rightly favorites for the whole thing. I see this being a draw.

TigerKing (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 29/08/2025 14:32:27    2634101

Ratoath could be the next favourite to falter. A goal saved the draw last time. They might fancy back to back hurling titles and the selections look like management wants an early exit from competition.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 580 - 29/08/2025 21:01:20    2634159

Omahonys in relegation my God .. doubt they be relegated but it's a bit surreal

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 363 - 29/08/2025 22:36:14    2634169

Replying To TigerKing:  "
Replying To Holymoly#6:  "[quote=Cabbagepatch1667:  "Ratoath v Colmcilles: Ratoath haven't impressed so far, but Colmcille's might be in massive relegation trouble based on what we've seen. Comfortable Ratoath win by 10

Intermediate

Agree with you on all bit maybe the Pats V Moynalvey....who ever wins this will need to beat the other side twice, so will be interesting to see if either side shows their full hand or hold something back for their next meeting."
Ratoath v Colmcilles: Ratoath will be rightly favorites. They have a bit of an aging side and have struggled to bring through the same quality as the group that were so successful but will still be one of a handful of teams with real aspirations of winning it. Cilles have good footballers, this we know. Their ability to make a team out of the talent they produce is questionable. They wont go down but will be in relegation. Ratoath by 6

Seneschalstown v Bracks: Sens run so far has been amazing given their league form particularly when you factor in the absences of Hickey and Cathal Finnegan. Bracks were so comfortable against Cilles and are equipped with their usual grit and doggedness coupled with good footballers who play for each other. I think Bracks by 4

Wolfe Tones v Na Fianna: Tones are red hot and have been made favorites based on their form and the lesser form of others. I think they are slightly over-hyped by some at this stage but they will be in the mix. NAF are more reliant on a couple to carry the can for me and Tones greater depth will see them win this by 3.

D/Ashbourne v Simonstown: Ashbourne are a curious case, every year people tip them and every year they underwhelm. They are solid but lacking a marque forward at this moment. Simonstown have firepower in Tobin and McKeever but they are aging and will need youth to step up. I'm going for a draw here I think there's little between them.

Dunshaughlin v Trim: Dunshaughlin wont have it their own way here. Trim so unlucky to not be through already and will have a point to prove. Similar teams in some ways and I think Trims running from deep with Quigley and Caulfield in particular can cause big problems. Ultimately Dunshaughlin as champions might have too much firepower though! Dunshaughlin by 2.

Meath Hill v Rathkenny: Breslin is the main man in Meath Hill and even with him Rathkenny have some excellent defenders who could do a job on him. If he doesn't play it's hard to see them win this. I'm not fully convinced by Rathkenny either but they have done very well to this point and should win by 7.

Gaeil Colmcille v Dunboyne: Dunboyne will be so disappointed to be in the position they're in albeit in a tough group. Injuries to Kinlough, McEntee, and Jones would hamper any club team in Ireland and this is part of their undoing but none of those lads are scoring forwards which is maybe what they are really missing bar Lenihan. Kells will always give you everything they have and you will know about playing them. I still think Dunboyne win this by 1.

Skyrne v Summerhill: Skryne again defying pre championship predictions with 2 wins. Summerhill are perennial contenders and bounced back well the last day. Something tells me they have a bit more than skryne and win by 4.

Intermediate

NOM v Castletown: Huge game in a fascinating group. Navan were one of the early favorites but now are hanging in there. What Castletown did to D/B should be illegal and sent shockwaves. Another performance like that would see them through but I will say Navan will show up here and just do enough to win by 1.

St Michael's v D/Bellewstown: D/B jekyll and Hyde. Great against Navan and the wheels fall off against Castletown. I can see them beating St Michaels but based on this group so far you can't rely and anyone. Duleek by 5

Kilbride v Bective: Kilbride are through and Bective gone barring miracles. Kilbride have some firepower. I don't see them as contenders but I see them winning this by 8.
Blackhall Gaels v Dunsany: Dunsany come straight up and doing themselves justice. They were a bit blessed with this group in comparison to other groups and I think they will get over Blackhall by 2.

Walterstown v Ballivor: Wooden Spoon match in this group. Ballivor are hardy, Walterstown are young and I think experience will see Ballivor through by 3.
Moynalvey v St Pat's: Pats hampered by injuries to key players throughout the league have started to peak at the right time. Moynalvey are rightly favorites for the whole thing. I see this being a draw."]Well is this weekend going to be repeat of the madness from round 1. Duleek/Bel gone....NOM gone...let the madness commence.

Holymoly#6 (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 29/08/2025 22:52:27    2634170

Wow intermediate football continuing to be the mine field that it is known for!!!

North Meath men truly reign supreme in group C.
Watched the Castletown game , Rian McConnell and Killian Smyth impressive for the winners !! Two nice players , arguably a top 2 team in intermediate

Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 29/08/2025 23:01:47    2634173