Regional Championship

Replying To MartryMorrisey:  "Hi all,
wat is the name of the cup/shield/trophy for the Bradys Skoda Regional Championship?"
Its the Dick (or Richard) Barry cup I'm told.

MartryMorrisey (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 21/10/2024 16:36:30    2576212

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "For the week thats in it ive put together a poem to get us all excited for what is bound to be a mouth watering Regionals Champ

**The Battle for Meath: A Regional Championship Poem**

In Meath's green fields, where legends are born,
Eight teams assemble, where pride is sworn.
Blackwater flows with fierce intent,
From Carnaross to Moynalty sent.

The North stands tall, in crimson hue,
Drumconrath to Nobber, they fight anew.
Ardbraccan's might, with Dunsany's roar,
From O'Mahony's past to Ultan's lore.

Brú na Bóinne's call is clear,
With St Patrick's strength, they show no fear.
Boyne Valley rises, where rivers run,
From Syddan's fight to Slane's brave sons.

Loughcrew's heart beats proud and strong,
From Ballinlough, their swords belong.
Moyfenragh rides with Boardmill's flame,
Longwood's dreams, they'll stake their claim.

And Tara, noble, high, and bright,
From Kilbride's hills to Moynalvey's fight.
Each clash, a test of heart and skill,
For county pride, they'll climb the hill.

The Meath panel waits, its doors ajar,
For heroes proven in fields of war.
In this arena, they rise or fall-
Only the best will heed the call."
Fair play that is excellent

Northroyal55 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 21/10/2024 16:37:18    2576213

Id like to hear everyone's predictions for the regionals with this weeks fixtures fast approaching. Will the De La Salle men have a big say for Ardbraccan? How will the trialing of the new rules impact the Norths style of play? All of these things and more are racing through my mind on what is for me one of the most exciting weeks in the Meath GAA calendar. Happy Regionals Championship Eve Eve Eve Eve Eve folks!

NorthMeathRising (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 22/10/2024 10:50:12    2576317

Bit of a joke having county footballers on these teams. Is the whole idea not to try find new players that might add to the county setup?

Tobefair80 (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 24/10/2024 10:10:03    2576661

Replying To Tobefair80:  "Bit of a joke having county footballers on these teams. Is the whole idea not to try find new players that might add to the county setup?"
No that is not the whole idea and never has been. The games are not trial games for the County team but if the management come across a player they weren't aware of and he ends up playing for Meath that's a bonus.

The point of the regionals is to get as many players as possible playing a higher standard of football with and against a better standard of player . So for example a talented junior B footballer gets the chance to train in an environment with County footballers and top intermediate footballers which will help his development and then test himself against other County footballers and also the best intermediate footballers in the county. An opportunity most Junior B and Junior A players won't get with their clubs very often or in some cases at all.

The hope would be that this will improve the overall standard of meath football long term by exposing as many player's as possible to a higher standard of football.

I also expect in the next few years that the CB will try and incorporate the regions into a competition with the Senior clubs. Whether that's the senior championship or possibly the feis Cup to start with but I expect the idea to be explored over the next few years with the view to against exposing as many players as possible to senior standard games.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 986 - 24/10/2024 10:55:43    2576672

Are Curraha going in with an tuaisceart?

overtheendline (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 24/10/2024 11:16:10    2576679

Replying To Blackspot09:  "No that is not the whole idea and never has been. The games are not trial games for the County team but if the management come across a player they weren't aware of and he ends up playing for Meath that's a bonus.

The point of the regionals is to get as many players as possible playing a higher standard of football with and against a better standard of player . So for example a talented junior B footballer gets the chance to train in an environment with County footballers and top intermediate footballers which will help his development and then test himself against other County footballers and also the best intermediate footballers in the county. An opportunity most Junior B and Junior A players won't get with their clubs very often or in some cases at all.

The hope would be that this will improve the overall standard of meath football long term by exposing as many player's as possible to a higher standard of football.

I also expect in the next few years that the CB will try and incorporate the regions into a competition with the Senior clubs. Whether that's the senior championship or possibly the feis Cup to start with but I expect the idea to be explored over the next few years with the view to against exposing as many players as possible to senior standard games."
Ok that's fine but again why are players from the Meath team and panel playing these games, they are already playing a higher standard of football. Surly it would be more beneficial to have lesser known club players playing these games or as many of last years club (or county) u20's as possible mixed in to see how they cope at a higher standard.

Tobefair80 (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 24/10/2024 14:32:29    2576721

Replying To Tobefair80:  "Ok that's fine but again why are players from the Meath team and panel playing these games, they are already playing a higher standard of football. Surly it would be more beneficial to have lesser known club players playing these games or as many of last years club (or county) u20's as possible mixed in to see how they cope at a higher standard."
Better to see players who were, previously, county standard, playing consistently at that higher level. And better to see how emerging talent play against players of that standard to try and impress Robbie Brennan and selectors.No point in watching players impressing in a standard below county, getting picked in a county squad only to be shown as not up to it. No player should be complacent enough to know they're guaranteed to be in a Meath squad and can put their feet up for regional championship.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7618 - 24/10/2024 15:06:14    2576726

Replying To Tobefair80:  "Ok that's fine but again why are players from the Meath team and panel playing these games, they are already playing a higher standard of football. Surly it would be more beneficial to have lesser known club players playing these games or as many of last years club (or county) u20's as possible mixed in to see how they cope at a higher standard."
Seriously ??

You seem to be completely missing my point and the overall aim of the regionals.

I'd say 90% of the regional teams are made up of "lesser known players" and as I explained the aim is to get them playing as high a standard of football as possible. How to get to play as high a standard as possible?? By the best players available playing in these games as well. So we can see how a "lesser known" player from a Moynalty or ST Ultans does up against an inter County player like a Cillian O'Sullivan or a Harry O'Higgins or whoever

Playing with and against our inter County players will be good for the "lesser known player"

There are 8 regions with each probably having a squad of 30 so 240 players give or take and how many current Meath players will be involved ?? 4 or 5 probably so it's a very small number of current meath players involved anyway.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 986 - 24/10/2024 15:25:26    2576733

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Seriously ??

You seem to be completely missing my point and the overall aim of the regionals.

I'd say 90% of the regional teams are made up of "lesser known players" and as I explained the aim is to get them playing as high a standard of football as possible. How to get to play as high a standard as possible?? By the best players available playing in these games as well. So we can see how a "lesser known" player from a Moynalty or ST Ultans does up against an inter County player like a Cillian O'Sullivan or a Harry O'Higgins or whoever

Playing with and against our inter County players will be good for the "lesser known player"

There are 8 regions with each probably having a squad of 30 so 240 players give or take and how many current Meath players will be involved ?? 4 or 5 probably so it's a very small number of current meath players involved anyway."
TBF is right Clifford should only play for fossa... we must keep the standard of the regional as average as possible

my big worry is how it would effect a potential stars ability to utilise periodisation

potential scenario of a mahonys or vinnys player there going from a season with their club into this into pre season with meath into a league and then championship... very few breaks and then adding a lot more work that a player would coming from junior or dinter to match the demands of intercounty football with no break is a recipe for disaster

good to see bradys on as sponsor... wonder if that will mean we see some of the namesakes involved with the bracs

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 24/10/2024 15:59:23    2576735

Replying To overtheendline:  "Are Curraha going in with an tuaisceart?"
I believe so

KingofTara (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 24/10/2024 16:23:10    2576739

Oh lads the excitement another regional championship upon on us what a way to for it to begin than a strong Lough Crew side facing the champions the home of the meath regional football boyne valley and it's absolutely brilliant to have the panels out
[url=]https://x.com/meathgaa/status/1849563997177004262?s=46

I wonder will either manager use the smoke screen effect of a dunmy team announcement

I know it goes against all form but you must fancy the lake men to get their campaign off to a flyer its wonderful to see mick flood at the anchor of the defence

I'm hearing bank holiday plans and an injury crisis may prove costly for one of the central regions on saturday
best of luck to the ref with 7 new rules

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 24/10/2024 22:51:38    2576786

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Seriously ??

There are 8 regions with each probably having a squad of 30 so 240 players give or take and how many current Meath players will be involved ?? 4 or 5 probably so it's a very small number of current meath players involved anyway."
I'm very sorry for having an opinion, how rude of me.

Still don't agree with you. As if county players need any more games..

Tobefair80 (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 25/10/2024 10:07:15    2576818

Replying To Tobefair80:  "I'm very sorry for having an opinion, how rude of me.

Still don't agree with you. As if county players need any more games.."
Who said you couldn't have an opinion lol... just because we don't agree doesn't mean you can't have an opinion. I am merely pointing out the aim and objective of the regionals is quite different to what you seem to think the aim and objective of the regionals is.

Any county who is playing has made themselves available. None of them are being forced to play so it's up to them individually to decide if they've played enough games this year.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 986 - 25/10/2024 11:15:46    2576832

Jes isnt it fantastic to see big Joe involved in d'regionals in a coaching capacity. He will be a marvelous asset to the players bringing a wealth of knowledge on how to get the most out of the new rules. Joe knows a thing or two about how to be large and in charge adin the square with balls being lumped adin on top of him,

D'regionals is such a marvelous idea when you think of the best players of the past decade coming from smaller clubs. D likes of donal keogan and mickey burke who were both wonderful servants to the county can be found though this clash of the regions. Im getting excited just thinking of the talent that Robbie will have at his disposal this year from the likes of Eastern Gaels. I cant wait for the game this evening adin Ballinlough. Im taking a half day from work to get ready for it. Hard to see anything but a Boyne Valley win but who knows how these new rules will change things. Hope to see a lot of long balls being lumped in on top of the 3 men inside. Thats the real beauty of the game.

NorthMeathRising (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 25/10/2024 11:16:52    2576833